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ONE-CALL EXCAVATION NOTICE SYSTEM - CIVIL PENALTY - 
BACKGROUND MEMORANDUM 

 
House Concurrent Resolution No. 3026 (attached 

as Appendix A) directs the Legislative Council to study 
the feasibility and desirability of establishing 
legislation for the enforcement and assessment of civil 
penalties for violation of the one-call excavation notice 
system.  The Legislative Council assigned this study 
to the Natural Resources Committee. 

Proponents of House Concurrent Resolution 
No. 3026 noted that the provisions of the North 
Dakota one-call excavation notice system do not 
include a civil process for the enforcement of the one-
call excavation notice system or for any civil penalty 
assessed with the violation of the system.  Proponents 
of the study noted that stakeholders had been working 
on a bill to provide for a civil process for enforcement 
and provisions for the assessment of a civil penalty to 
present to the 60th Legislative Assembly.  However, 
complications arose from not being able to determine 
how to carry out a penalty phase and what entity 
would be responsible for administering a penalty 
provision.  Representatives of North Dakota One Call 
testified that it has been studying penalties and 
enforcement provisions specific to the one-call 
excavation notice system because the Public Service 
Commission has encouraged North Dakota One Call 
to initiate enforcement legislation and the Public 
Service Commission suffers federal grant fund 
reductions due to the absence of state one-call 
enforcement provisions; Northern Border Pipeline and 
Alliance Pipeline have requested such legislation in 
response to "near miss" excavations adjacent to their 
buried facilities; and recently enacted federal 
legislation includes language encouraging state one-
call systems to provide enforcement of their statutes 
to protect pipelines and other utilities. 

 
NORTH DAKOTA ONE-CALL 

EXCAVATION NOTICE SYSTEM 
The North Dakota one-call excavation notice 

system is governed by North Dakota Century Code 
(NDCC) Chapter 49-23.  The notification center is 
governed by a nonprofit corporation.  Section 
49-23-04 provides that except in an emergency, an 
excavator must contact the notification center and 
provide an excavation or location notice at least 
48 hours before beginning any excavation, excluding 
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, unless otherwise 
agreed to between the excavator and operator.  The 
notification center is required to provide a toll-free 
telephone number and assign an inquiry identification 
number to each excavation notice and retain a record 
of all excavation notices received for at least 
six years.  The notification center is required to 
immediately transmit the information contained in an 
excavation notice to every operator that has an 

underground facility in the area of the proposed 
excavation.  The notification center is required to 
inform persons giving notice of an intent to engage in 
an excavation activity the names of participating 
operators of underground facilities to whom the notice 
will be given and to establish procedures for assuring 
positive response from the affected operator and all 
emergency excavation notices.  An operator, within 
48 hours, or any extension of that period, after 
receiving excavation notice from the center, excluding 
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, unless otherwise 
agreed to between the excavator and operator, is 
required to locate and mark or otherwise provide the 
approximate horizontal location of the underground 
facilities of the operator. 

As used in NDCC Chapter 49-23 "excavator" 
means a person who conducts excavation and 
"operator" means a person who owns or operates an 
underground facility, including a master meter 
operator with underground facilities, or a state or local 
governmental entity.  An underground facility is 
defined to mean an underground line, facility, system, 
and its appurtenances used to produce, store, convey, 
transmit, or distribute communications, data, 
electricity, power, television signals, heat, gas, oil, 
petroleum products, water, steam, sewage, hazardous 
liquids, and other similar substances.  Privately owned 
and operated underground facilities that do not extend 
beyond the boundary of the private property are 
excluded from the definition of underground facility. 

North Dakota Century Code Section 49-23-06 
contains a penalty for damage to facilities.  This 
section provides that if any damage occurs to an 
underground facility or its protective covering, the 
excavator shall notify the operator as soon as 
reasonably possible.  When the operator receives a 
damage notice, the operator is required to dispatch, 
as soon as reasonably possible, personnel to the 
damage area to investigate.  If the damage endangers 
life, health, or property, the excavator responsible for 
the work must take immediate action to protect the 
public and property and to minimize the hazard until 
arrival of the operator's personnel or until emergency 
responders have arrived and taken charge of the 
damaged area.  This section requires the excavator to 
delay backfilling in the immediate area of the 
damaged underground facilities until the damage has 
been investigated by the operator, unless the operator 
authorizes otherwise.  Repair of damage must be 
performed by the operator or by qualified personnel 
authorized by the operator.  An excavator who 
knowingly damages an underground facility and who 
does not notify the operator as soon as reasonably 
possible or who backfills in violation of this section is 
guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.  If an excavator fails 
to comply with NDCC Chapter 49-23 or damages an 
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underground facility, the excavator is liable for all 
damages caused by the failure to comply with the 
chapter and for all damages to the facilities and must 
reimburse the operator for the cost of repair and 
restoration, loss of product, and interruption of service 
occurring because of the damage or injury to the 
facilities, together with reasonable costs and 
expenses of suit, including reasonable attorney's fees.  
Reimbursement to the operator is not required if the 
damage to the underground facility was caused by the 
sole negligence of the operator or the operator failed 
to comply with the relevant provisions of Chapter 
49-23. 

 
ONE-CALL EXCAVATION NOTICE 

SYSTEMS IN SURROUNDING STATES 
South Dakota 

The South Dakota Statewide One-Call Notification 
Board is an agency of state government administered 
by the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission and 
funded solely by revenue generated by the one-call 
notification center.  Sections 49-7A-18 and 49-7A-19 
of the South Dakota Codified Laws contain penalties 
for violating the relevant provisions of the South 
Dakota one-call excavation notice system.  Section 
49-7A-18 provides that except for penalties for 
intentional violations under Section 49-7A-19 and in 
addition to all other penalties provided by law, a 
person who violates or who procures, aids, or abets in 
the violation of the relevant sections of the South 
Dakota one-call excavation notice system or any rules 
adopted pursuant to these sections may be assessed 
a penalty of up to $1,000 for the first violation and up 
to $5,000 for a subsequent violation that occurs within 
12 months of the initial violation.  Section 49-7A-19 
contains a penalty of up to $5,000 for the first violation 
and up to $10,000 for each subsequent violation that 
occurs within 12 months of the initial violation for 
intentional violations.  Section 49-7A-28 provides that 
if the penalty is not paid to the One-Call Notification 
Board the Public Utilities Commission, at the request 
of the board, is required to bring an action in the name 
of the state to recover the penalty. 

 
Minnesota 

The Minnesota one-call excavation notice system 
is governed by Minnesota Statutes Chapter 216D.  
The Minnesota Notification Center is governed by a 
nonprofit corporation approved in writing by the 
Commission of Public Safety.  Section 216D.08 
provides a civil penalty for violation of the chapter.  
This section provides that a person who is engaged in 
excavation for remuneration or an operator who 
violates the relevant sections of Chapter 216D is 
subject to a civil penalty to be imposed by the 
Commissioner of Public Safety not to exceed $1,000 
for each violation per day of violation.  The 
commissioner may negotiate a compromise 
settlement of a civil penalty.  In determining the 
amount of the penalty, or the amount of the 

compromise settlement, the commissioner is required 
to consider the appropriateness of the penalty to the 
size of the business of the person charged, the gravity 
of the violation, and the good faith of the person 
charged in attempting to achieve compliance after 
notification of a violation.  The penalty is subject to 
judicial review.  Penalties collected are deposited in 
the state treasury and credited to the pipeline safety 
account to be applied to the reduction of expenses or 
costs assessed by the commissioner against persons 
regulated under the system.  Penalties collected are 
annually appropriated to the Commissioner of Public 
Safety. 

The Commissioner of Public Safety is authorized to 
adopt rules establishing reasonable guidelines for 
imposing penalties.  The rules must provide for notice 
that a penalty is assessed and may exempt activities 
from penalties unless the excavator or operator has 
evidenced a course of action in disregard of the 
chapter.  State district courts have jurisdiction to 
restrain violations of Chapter 216D on petition by the 
Attorney General on behalf of the state of Minnesota. 

The Commissioner of Public Safety has adopted 
rules for the assessment of civil penalties and 
maximum penalties.  Subpart 3 of Section 7560.0800 
of the Minnesota Code of Agency Rules provides that 
in assessing a civil penalty the Office of Pipeline 
Safety of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety 
must consider the nature, circumstances, and gravity 
of the violation; the degree of the person's culpability; 
the person's history of previous offenses; the person's 
ability to pay; good faith on the part of the person in 
attempting to remedy the cause of the violation; the 
effect of the penalty on the person's ability to continue 
in business; and past reports of damage to an 
underground facility by a person.  Concerning 
maximum penalties, penalties imposed against 
excavators may not exceed $1,000 for each violation 
per day of violation.  However, penalties imposed 
against an operator who engages in the transportation 
of gas or hazardous liquids or who owns or operates a 
gas or hazardous liquid pipeline facility may not 
exceed $10,000 for each violation for each day that 
the violation persists, except that the maximum civil 
penalty may not exceed $500,000 for a related series 
of violations. 

 
Montana 

Excavations near underground facilities in 
Montana are governed by Section 69-4-501 et seq. of 
the Montana Code Annotated.  Section 69-4-505 
provides that if an underground facility is damaged by 
an excavator who has failed to obtain information as 
to its location, the excavator is liable to the owner of 
the underground facility for the entire cost of the repair 
of the facility.  This section provides further that the 
excavator is also liable to the underground facility 
owner that is a member of a one-call notification 
center for a damage fee.  This section provides that 
the damage fee is 25 percent of the total cost of 
repairing the underground facility not to exceed $125 
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for the first incident; 50 percent of the total cost of 
repairing the underground facility not to exceed $500 
for the second incident; and $1,000 for the third and 
any subsequent incident.  An underground facility 
owner may levy only one fee for each incident.  If 
there is more than one underground facility affected 
by an incident, then each underground facility owner 
that is a member of a one-call notification center may 
levy one damage fee for that incident.  The 
underground facility owner may enforce collection in a 
court of competent jurisdiction.  Section 69-4-512 
provides that an excavator subject to repair charges 
and damage fees may have those costs reviewed by 
a court of competent jurisdiction. 

POSSIBLE STUDY APPROACH 
In conducting its study of the feasibility and 

desirability of establishing legislation for the 
enforcement and assessment of civil penalties for a 
violation of the one-call excavation notice system, the 
committee could solicit testimony from a number of 
sources.  These include North Dakota One Call, the 
Public Service Commission, and the stakeholders 
utilizing the one-call excavation notice system. 
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