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Table 1 - 2008 State Legislator Compensation and Living Expense Allowances During Session

Base Salary (annual

State . Session Per Diem Rate
or daily rate)
$3850/month adjusted annually to reflect any increase in the cost of
living as indicated by U.S. Dept of Labor Consumer Price Index plus
Alabama $10/day (C) $50/§az;sfor three dazs during l;ach week th:t ti:i: legislature actu;)lly
meets during any session (U).
$163 or $218 /day (depending on the time of year) tied to federal
Alaska $24,012/year rate. Legislators who reside in the Capitol area receive 75% of the
federal rate.
$35/day for the 1st 120 days of regular session and for special
session and $10/day thereafter. Members residing outside Maricopa
Arizona $24,000/year County receive an additional $25/day for the 1st 120 days of reg.
session and for special session and an additional $10/day thereafter
(V). Set by statute.
Arkansas $15,060/year $136/day (V) plus mileage tied to federal rate.
California $116,208/year $170.00 per day for each day they are in session.
45 for members living in the Denver ea. $150/day for
Colorado $30,000/year ielgll)ae};s living outside De%lver V). S::\tlebyntl}?gfe;slatire. ooy
Connecticut $28,000/year [No per diem is paid.
Delaware $42,750/year $7,334 expense allowance annually.
$126/day for House and $133 for Senate (V) tied to federal rate.
Florida $31,932/year Earmed based on the number of days in session. Travel vouchers are
filed to substantiate.
Georgia $17,342/year $173/day (U) set by the Legislative Services Committee.
.. ay for members living outsid : d member
Hawaii $36,700/year ﬁii?édoz Oh e b e legislaetuor:.h S e
$122/day for members establishing second residence in Boise;
Idaho $16,116/year $49/day if no second residence is established and up to $25/day
travel (V) set by Compensation Commission.
[linois $65,353/year $129/per session day
Indiana $11,600/year $141/day (U) tied to federal rate.
124/da . $93.00/day for Polk County legisl set by the
lowa $25,000/year ?egisl/atu}rle( Iti) ciigncide wi};h federal g:e. Si,ategrr?i?et:; (rlajt)es app}Iy.
Kansas $86.50(C) $109/day (U) tied to federal rate.
Kentucky $184.88day (C) $108.90/day (U) tied to federal rate (110% Federal per diem rate).
e $143/day (U) tied to federal rate (26 U.S.C. Section
Louisiana $16,800/year 162(h)(1)(B)(ii)).
$12,'71%/year fon it $38/day housing, or mileage and tolls in lieu of housing (at rate of
Maine session; $9,316/year $0.40/mile up to $38/day) plus $32/day for meals. Per diem limits
for second regular
session. are set by statute.
Maryland Szgg(l)‘g/g;:gors " [Lodging $123/day; meals $41/day maximum.
Massachusetts $58,237.15/year From $10/day-$ IQO/day, depending on distance from State House
(V) set by the legislature.
Michigan $79,650/year $12,000 yearly expense allowance for session and interim (V) set by

compensation commission.
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Base Salary (annual |

State . Session Per Diem Rate
or daily rate)
. Senators receive $96/day and Representatives receive $77/legislative
Minnesota $31,140.90/year day (U) set by the legislature/Rules Committee.
Mississippi $10,000/year $109/day (U) tied to federal rate.
Missouri $31351/year ;S;:l’ll.ZO/day (U) tied to federal rate. Verification of per diem is by roll
Montana $82.67/day (L) $98.75/day (U).
$109/day outside 50-mile radius from Capitol; $39/day if member
Nebraska $12,000/year resides within 50 miles of Capitol (V) tied to federal rate.
$130/day maximum
of 60 days of session Federal rate for Capitol area (U). Legislators who live more than 50
for holdover . S . . - . .
[Nevada Sl miles from the capitol, if require lodging, will be paid Hud single-
$137.90/day for all room rate for Carson City area for each month of session.
other legislators.
[New oo R A
Hampshire $200/two-year term  [No per diem is paid.
New Jersey $49,000/year [No per diem is paid.
INew Mexico None $144/day (V) tied to federal rate & the constitution.
INew York $79,500/year Varies (V) tied to federal rate.
(North Carolina $13,951/year $104/day (U) set by statute. $559.00/month expense allowance.
‘ $130/day during
North Dakota legislative sessions  |Lodging reimbursement up to $900/month (V).
)
Ohio $60,584/year No per diem is paid.
Oklahoma $38,400/year $130/day (U) tied to federal rate.
Oregon $19,884/year $109/day (U) tied to federal rate.
Pennsylvania $76,163/year $152 High/Low Method $133 GSA Method.
Rhode Island $13,089.44/year INo per diem is paid.
South Carolina $10,400/year $131/day for meals and housing for each statewide session day and

committee meeting tied to federal rate.

South Dakota $12,000/two-yr term [$110/legislative day (U) set by the legislature.
Tennessee $18,123/year $161/legislative day (U) tied to federal rate.
Texas $7,200/year $151/day (U) set by Ethics Commission.
107/day (U) lodging allotment for each calendar day, tied to federal
Utah $130/day (C) fate, $54y/c§ay) meagls (gU). ¢
$614.30/week during
session $118 per day [Federal per diem rate for Montpelier is $83/day for lodging and
Vermont for special sessions or[$54/day for meals for non-commuters; commuters receive $54/day
interim committee  [for meals plus mileage.
meetings.
Virginia $18,000/year Senate, [House - $135/day (U) tied to federal rate. Senate $169 (U) tied to
$17,640/year House [federal rate.
'Washington $41,280/year $100/day - House $90/day - Senate




State

Base Salary (annual
or daily rate)

Session Per Diem Rate

West Virginia

$15,000/year

$115/day during session (U) set by compensation commission.

‘Wisconsin

$47,413/year

$88/day maximum (U) set by Compensation Commission (90% of
federal rate). Per diem authorized under 13.123 (1), Wis. Statutes,
and Leg. Joint Rule 85. 20.916(8) State Statutes and Joint Committee;
on Employment Relations (JCOER) establishes the max. amount,
according to the recommendations of the Director of the Office of
State Employment Relations. The leadership of each house then
determines, within that maximum, what amount to authorize for the
session.

'Wyoming

$150/day (L)

$85/day (V) set by the legislature, includes travel days for those

outside of Cheyenne.

L = Legislative day
C = Calendar day
(V) Vouchered

(U) Unvouchered

N/R = No Response

Source: National Conference of State Legislators 2008



Table 2A - 2008 State Legislator Compensation- Additional Compensation for House/Assembly Leaders

State [Presiding Officer Majority Leaders Minority Leaders jOther House/Assembly
$2/day plus '
Alabama $1,500/month expense [None None [None
allowance
Alaska $500/year [None None None
Arizona [None None [None [None
Arkansas None None None None
The speaker of the . s %
California  [255embly and Pro Tem They get They get EZZZZESI:::g\Zg;\IAZIEO;Jg 00
of the Senate each get  1$124,923.00 year. [$133,639.00 year. &t T
paid $133,639.00 year. Y
All leaders receive All leaders receive |All leaders receive
© . $99/day salary $99/day salary All leaders receive $99/day
$99/day salary during s e, g oA e :
L . during interim during interim when |salary during interim when in
Colorado interim when in . . .
. when in attendance |in attendance at attendance at committee or
attendance at committee . . .
or leadership matters at commgtee or comm1tt§e or leadership matters.
" lleadership matters. [leadership matters.
| Dep. Spkr., Dep. Maj. and
. ) Min, Ldrs., $6,446/yr.; Asst.
Connecticut [$10,689 $8,835 $8,835 Maj. and Min. Ldrs.; Maj and
| Min. Whips $4,241/yr.
Delaware $19,893 $12,376 $12,376 Maj. and Min. Whips, $7,794
Florida $12,348 None {None [None
Governors Flr. Ldr.,
. $200/month; Asst Flr. Ldr.,
Georgia $6,812/month $200/month $200/month $100/month; Spkr, Pro Tem,
18400/month
Salary differential for
Hawaii presiding officer is [None None None
$7,500/year.
Idaho $4,000 (see #1 above) [None None [None
Dpty. Maj. and Min., $19,066;
.k Asst. Maj. and Asst. Min.,
[llinois $26,471 $22,379 $26,471 Maj. & Min. Conference
Chair, $17,405
ISpeaker Pro Tem, $5,000;
Maj. Caucus Chair, $5,000;
Min. Caucus Chair, $4,500;
Indiana $6,500 $5,000 $5,500 Asst. Min. Flr. Ldr., $3,500;
Asst. Maj. Flr. Ldr, $1,000;
Maj. Whip, $3,500; Min.
(Whip, $1,500
lowa $11,593 $11,593 $11,593 Speaker Pro Tem, $1,243
Asst Maj. and Min. Ldrs.,
Kansas $13,696.80/year $12,356.76/year  1$12,356.76/year Spkr. Pro Tem, $6,990.62/yr
Maj. and Min. Caucus Chairs
Kentucky $46.51/day $36.73/day $36.73/day |& Whips, $28.15/day
Louisiana $32,000* None INone Spkr. Pro Tem, $24,500*
0, 0 y
Maine 150% of base salary 125% of base 112.5% of base None
salary salary




State Presiding Officer Majority Leaders [Minority Leaders [Other House/Assembly
Maryland $13,000/year [None [None [None ‘
Asst. Maj. and Min. Ldr. (and
Massachusetts|$35,000 $22,500 522,500 ehichand Srdl@ssgianc
Speaker Pro Tem., each
$15,000
Position does not Spkr. Pro tem, $5,513; min.
Michigan $27,000 exist $22,000 Flr. Ldr., $10,000; Maj. Flr.
Ldr., $12,000,
. 0, 4
Minnesota  [140% of base salary :;C;r/;’, of base 140% of base salary [None
. . .. [Speaker of the House: :
Mississippi $60,000 total salary; [None [None Speaker Pro Tem: $15,000
Missouri $208.34.month $125/month $125/month [None
Montana $5/day during session  [None iINone [None
[Nebraska [None [None (None None
[Nevada $900 $900 $900 Spkr. Pro Tem, $900
[New
Hampshire $50/two-year term None None [None
New Jersey |1/3 above annual salary [None [None None
[New Mexico [None INone [None [None
31 leaders with compensation
New York  {$41,500 $34,500 $34,500 ranging from $9,000 to
$25,000
North $38,151 and $16,956 [0} w048 and $17,048 and $7,992 [>Peaker Pro Tem, $21,739
) $7,992 expense and $10,032 expense
Carolina expense allowance expense allowance
allowance allowance
$10/day during $10/day during
. legislative sessions,[legislative sessions, .
INorth Dakota 3 IQ/day durmg. $260 per month  [$260 per month Asgt. Lfirs., $5{day during
legislative sessions . . legislative sessions.
during term of during term of
office. office.
Spkr Pro Tem _
$86,165; Maj Flr Minority Leader
T eader $81,163; g .
Asst Maj Fir $86,165;Asst Min Compensation for committee
Ohio Speaker $94,437 J Ldr 78,668;Min pens
Ieader $76,169; : 3 leadership
. . [Whip, 71,173;Asst
Maj Whip $71,173y 12 Whip, 63,381
Asst Maj Whip P, 57,
$66,175
Oklahoma  {$17,932 $12,364 $12,364 Speaker Pro Tem, $12,364
Speaker receives
Oregon additional $19,884/year [None None [None
in salary
Maj. and Min. Whips,
$25,945 Maj. and Min,
Caucus Chairs, $16,177; Maj.
Pennsylvania [$42,732/year $34,187/year $34,187year and Min. Cavcus Secretaries

$10,683; Maj. and Min.
Policy Chairs, $10,683; Maj.
and Min. Caucus Admin.,
1$10,683




State Presiding Officer Majority Leaders [Minority Leaders |Other House/Assembly
Speaker of the House
Rhode Island [receives double annual [None None None
rate for Reps.
South
. $11,000/year [None [None Speaker Pro Tem, $3,600/year
Carolina
South Dakota [None [None [None [None
Tennessee $54,369 [None None [None
Texas [None [None [None None
Utah $3,000 $2,000 $2,000 Whips and Asst. Whips,
$2,000
$680.00/week during
session plus an
vermont |, iditional $10,281.50 in |01 None None
salary :
Virginia $18,681 [None INone [None
$49,280($8,000 $45,280($4,000
Washington [additional to base None additional to base  [None
salary) salary)
Up to four add’l people named
by Presiding Officer receive
$150 for a maximum of 30
days. The Chairman of
o . ) $25/day during $25/day during Finance & Judiciary may
West Virginia [$50/day during session session session receive $150/day up to 30
days. Speaker may receive
$150/day up to 80 days when
not in session or interim
committees not meeting.
Wisconsin  [$25/month [None iNone [None
'Wyoming $3/day None None None

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures 2008



Table 2B - 2008 State Legislator Compensation- Additional Compensation for Senate Leaders

State Presiding Officers [Majority Leaders [Minority Leaders Other Senate Leaders
AL $2/day plus
$1,500/month INone None [None
expense allowance
AK $500/year None [None [None
AZ Generally approved [Generally approved |Generally approved for
for additional interim |for additional additional interim per None
per diem. interim per diem.  |diem.
AR [None INone [None None
CA The Assembly The Senate and
Speaker and Senate  |Assembly majority [The Senate and Assembly
Pro Tem get the leaders get the same [minority leaders getthe  [None
same. $133,639.00 |- $124,923.00 per [same per year.
per year. year.
CO All leaders receive  [All leaders receive
$99/day salary during $99/day salary 1y 10 qer receive $99/day |All leaders receive $99/day
interim when in during interim when lary during interim when lsalarv during interim when i
attendance at 1 attendance at salary during interim when |salary during interim when in
ommittee or ommittee or in attendanf:e at committee attendange at committee or
leadershi " leadershio meetings |°F leac!ershlp mgetmgs and leaderghlp meetl'ngs and
p meetings [leadership g
. . committee meetings. committee meetings..
and committee and committee
meetings.. meetings..
CT Deputy min. and maj. Idrs.,
$10,689 $8,835 $8,835 $6,446iyear; asst. maj. and
min. 1drs. and maj and min.
'whips $4,241/year.
DE $19,983 $12,376 $12,376 Maj. and min. whips $7,794
FL $12,348 None [None INone
GA President pro tem,
1$400/month; admin. flr. 1dr.,
none $200/month $200/month $200/month; asst. admin. flr.
" [ldr., $100/month
HI Salary differential for
| presiding officeris  [None [None None
$7,500/year.
D $4,000 None [None [None
1L Asst. maj. and min, 1dr.,
$26,471 $19,893 $26,471 $19,893; maj and min. caucus
chair, $19,893
IN Asst. Pres. Pro Tem. $3,000;
Maj. Cauc. Chairman $5,500;
Asst. Maj. Cauc. Chair $1,500;
. . [Maj. Whip $4,000; Asst. Maj.
) Maj. Floor Ldr, - Floor Ldr. $6,000; o0 '¢) 600; Min. Cauc.
President Pro . . [Min. Asst. Floor Ldr. h ’ )
Tempore $7,000 $5,500; Asst. Maj. $5,000:Min. Ldr. Pro Tem. Cha¥r $5,000; Asst. Min. Cauc.
’ Floor Ldr. $3,500; En,leri t1’1s $1.500- Chair $1,000; Mem. $2,000;
T Tax & Fiscal Policy Ranking
Min. Mem.$2,000; Min. Whip
$3,000; Asst. Min. Whip
$1,000;
1A $11,593 $11,593 1$11,593 [Pres Pro Tem $1,243




$42,732/year

$34,187/year

$34,187/year

State Presiding Officers |Majority Leaders [Minority Leaders Other Senate Leaders
KS $13,696.80/yr $12,356.76/yr $12,356.76/yr SZSS‘ ‘;‘2359‘5‘,‘;‘2' /ﬁr_s" Vice
KY  le46.51/day $36.73/day. $36.73/day g}?fpsn;l;SCf;/?;sy f’ha“s and
LA $32,000 [None [None President Pro Tem, $24,500
ME 150% of base salary |125% of base salary [112.5% of base salary [None
MD $13,000/year None [None [None
MA . JAsst. Maj. and Min. Ldr. (and
$35,000 $22,500 $22,500 2nd and 3rd asst.), and Pres.
Pro Tem., each $15,000
MI Maj. flr. 1dr., $12,000; min. flr.
$5,513 $26,000 $22,000 1 drf’ $10,000
MN INone $43,596* $43,596* Majority Whip, $35,291
MS Lt.Gov.: $60,000
total salary; Pres. Pro [None INone None
Tem: $15,000
MO INone [None [None None
MT $5/day during session{None [None [None
INE [None INone [None [None
NV - 1$900 $900 $900 Pres. pro tem, $900
INH $50/two-year term [None !None [None
INJ 1/3 above annual None None None
salary
INM INone [None [None [None
INY 22 other leaders with
$41,500 None $34,500 compensation ranging from
$13,000 to $34,000
INC $38,151 and $16,956 [$17,048 and $7,992 [$17,048 and $7,992 Deputy pro tem, $21,739 and
expense allowance |expense allowance |expense allowance $10,032 expense allowance
IND $10/day during
legislative session: 10/day during legislative .
INone $2g60 per month0 > fession};, $260gpelg month iAss‘t. Lfirs., $5/'day during
during term of during term of office egislative sessions.
office.
OH President Pro Tem
$80,016; Maj Fir
Leader $75,371; Compensation for committee
President $87,698  |Asst Maj Fir Leader [Minority Leader $80,106 jleadership. (See Committee
$70,733; Maj Whip Chair Table).
$66,094; Asst Maj
Whip $61,452
OK $17,932 $12,364 1$12,364 [None
OR President receives '
additional
$19,884/year in INone [None iNone
salary.
PA Maj. and Min. Whips, $25,945

Maj. and Min. Caucus Chairs,
$16,177; Maj. and Min.
Caucus Secretaries $10,683;




State Presiding Officers |Majority Leaders [Minority Leaders Other Senate Leaders
Maj. and Min. Policy Chairs,
$10,683; Maj. and Min.
Caucus Admin., $10,683

RI Senate President

m;,f :a(:eo‘;::e the INone [None [None
Senators

sC L. gov. holds this None None President pro tem, $11,000

position

SD [None INone [None [None

TN $54,369 None [None [None

TX None INone [None [None

UT Maj. whip, Asst. Maj Whip,

$3,000 $2,000 $2,000 Min. whip and Asst. Min.
: Whip, $2,000
VT Presiding officer is
Lt.' Governor who is None None None
paid an annual salary
$63,701.

VA None $20.0/day for interim $209/day for interim ?res.' Pro-tqmp. $200/day for

business business interim business

WA Lt gov. holds this [P 10:280(88,000 g5 520 ($4.000 additional

>, additional to base [None
jposition salary) to base salary)

\\A% Up to four add’l people named

50/day durin: 25/day durin . . by Presiding Officer receive
Sessiony ¢ fessiony ® $25/day during session $)l,50 for a Iiaximum of 30
days.

W1 None [None [None [None

WY $3/day [None [None [None

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures 2008




Table 3 - 2008 Legislator Compensation- Additional Compensation For Committee Chairs

Additional Compensation For Committee Chairs

State

/Alabama $150/mo. each for House Ways and Means and Senate Finance and Taxation Chairs.

Alaska None

Arizona None ,

Arkansas 3600/year for committee chairs; $1800yr sub committee chairs.

California [None

Colorado [None

Connecticut ($4,241 for all committee chairs

Delaware $11,459 for Joint Fingnce Com_mittee Chair; $4,578 Capital Improvement Chair and Vice Chair;
$4,578 Sunset Committee Chair

Florida None

Georgia None

Hawaii INone

Idaho None

Tllinois $9,948 for all committee chairs and minority spokespersons
Appropriations Comm. Chair $5,500; Tax & Fiscal Policy Chair. $5,500; Ag. & Sm. Business
Comm. Chair $1,000; Commerce, Public Policy & Interstate Chair $1,000; Corrections, Criminal, & |

Indiana Civil Matters Chair $1,000; Energy & Environmerital Affairs Chair $1,000; Pensions & Labor
Comm. Chair $1,000; Health & Provider Services Comm. Chair $1,000; Insurance & Financial
Institutions Chair $1,000; Nat. Resource Comm. Chair $1,000

Towa [None

K ansas $11,014.64/year for Senate Ways and Means and House Appropriations Committee

K entucky $18.38/day for standing committees only

Louisiana $28,000/year for chairman and vice chairman of Joint Budget Committee

Maine INone

Maryland None

Massachusetts|$7,500-$15,000/year for committee chalrs

Michigan $7,000 for Appropriation Committee chairs

Minnesota  [$35,292 for the Senate Tax Committee and Committee on Finance

Mississippi  [None

Missouri [None

Montana [None

Nebraska [None

[Nevada $900/flat amount for all standing committee chairs

[New

Hampshire ione

[New Jersey [None

[New Mexico [None

INew York  [$9,000 to $34,000 for each committee chair set by statute (see NY Legislative Law §5-a)

INorth '

Carolina None

INorth Dakota [$5/day for all substantive standing committees

‘lohio $6,500 for all comittee <_:hairs except Finance 'Ck.lair, who receives $10,000. Vice chairman receive

$5,000 with the Vice Chairman of Finance receiving $5,500.

Oklahoma  [$12,364 for Appropriations and Budget Committee Chairs

Oregon

[None




State

Additional Compensation For Committee Chairs

Pennsylvania [None

Rhode Island [None

South. $600/interim expense allowance for committee chairs of the House and Senate
Carolina

South Dakota [None

Tennessee None

Texas [None

Utah $2,000 for Executive Appropriations Chair (Co-chair)
Vermont [None

Virginia [None

‘Washington [None

West Virginia[$150/day (max. 30 days) for Finance and Judiciary chairmen
Wisconsin  [None

'Wyoming iNone

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures 2008




Table 4 - 2008 Legislator Compensation- How Legislative Salaries Are Determined

How Legislative Salaries Are Determined (Constitution, Statutes, Compensation

Stite Commission, Etc).

Alabama Constitutional Amendment 57

Alaska Alaska Stat. §24.10.100 , §24.10.101

. Art. V, §12; AR.S. §41-1901 thru 41-1904. Commission recommendations are put on the ballot

Anizons for a vote of the people. :

Arkansas Amendment 70, Ark. Stat, Ann. §10-2-212 et seq.

California Art. IV, §4 ; Proposition 112; Cal. Gov. Code §8901 et seq.

Colorado Colorado Stat. 2-2-301(1)

. Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §2-9a ;The General Assembly takes independent action pursuant to
Connegticut recommendations of a Compensation Commission.
D Del. Code Ann. Title 29, §710 et seq.; §§3301-3304, are implemented automatically if not
claware . .

rejected by resolution.

Florida §11.13(1), Florida Statutes; Statute provides members same percentage increase as state
employees

Georgia Ga. Code Ann. §45-7-4 and §28-1-8
Art. IIT, §9; Commission recommendations take effect unless rejected by concurrent resolution

iHawaii or the governor. Any change in salary that becomes effective does not apply to the legislature to
which the recommendation was submitted.

Tdaho Idaho Code 67-406a and 406b

[llinois 25 II_,CS 120, Salaries set b_y Compensation Review Board. 25 ILCS 115;Tied to employment
cost index, wages and salaries for state and local government workers.

Indiana Ind. Code Ann. §2-3-1-1

Towa Towa Code Ann. §2.10; Iowa Code Ann. §2A.1 thru 2A.5

Kansas Kan. Stat. Ann. §46-137a et seq.; §75-3212

K entucky Ky. Rev. Sta’f. Ann. §6:226-229; the Kentucky committee has not met since 1995. The most
recent pay raise was initiated and passed by the General Assembly.

Louisiana La. Rev. Stat. 24:31 & 31.1
Maine Constitution Article IV, Part Third, §7 and 3 MRSA, §2 and 2-A; Increase in

Maine compensation is presented to the legislature as legislation, the legislature must enact and the
Governor must sign into law; takes effect only for subsequent legislatures.

. Art. IT1, §15 ; Commission meets before each four-year term of office and presents

Maryland recommendations to the General Assembly for action. Recommendations may be reduced or
rejected.
Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 3, §§9,10 ; In 1998, the voters passed a legislative referendum that

Massachusetts starting with the 2001. session, mem'bers will receive an automatic increase or decr.ease
according to the median household income for the commonwealth for the proceeding 2-year
period.
Art. IV §12; Compensation Commission recommends, legislature by majority vote must

Michigan approve or reduce for change to be effective the session immediately following the next general
election.

. Minn. Stat. Ann §3.099 et seq. ; §15A.082 ; By May 1 in odd numbered years the Council

Minnesota submits salary recommendations to the presiding officers.

Mississippi  {Miss. Code Ann. 5-1-41

Missouri Art, ITI, §§16, 34 ; Mo. Ann. Stat. §21.140; recommendations are adjusted by legislature or
governor if necessary.

Montana Mont. Laws 5-2-301; Tied to executive broadband pay plan.

Nebraska Neb. Const. Art. 111, §7; Neb. Rev. Stat. 50-123.01




St How Legislative Salaries Are Determined (Constitution, Statutes, Compensation
ate . '
Commission, Etc).

[Nevada §218.210-§218.225

[New

Hampshire Art. XV, part second

New Jersey [Art. IV, Sec IV 7 & 8; NJSA 52:10A-1; NJSA 52:14-15.111 to 52:14 15.114

New Mexico [Art. IV. §10; 2-1-8 NMSA

[New York  |Art. 3, §6 ; Consolidated Laws of NY Ann. 32-2-5a

o NCGS. 1203

North Dakota [Statutes 54-03-10 and 54-03-20; Legislative Compensation Commission 54-03-19.1

Ohio Art. 11, §31; Ohio Rev. Code Ann. title 1 ch. 101.27 thru 101.272

Oklahoma Okla. Stat. Ann title 74, §291 et seq.; Art V, §21; Title 74, §291.2 et seq.; Legislative
Compensation Board.

Oregon Or. Rev. Stat. §171.072

Pennsylvania Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. 46 PS §5; 65 PS §366.1 et seq. Leg1s1ators receive annual cost of hvmg
increase that is tied to the Consumer Price Index.

Rhode Island |Art. VI, §3

zouth. S.C. Code Ann. 2-3-20 and the annual General Appropriations Act.

arolina :

South Dakota jArt. III, §6 and Art. XXI, §2 ; $.D. Codified Laws Ann. §20402 et seq.

Tennessee Art. I1, §23; Tenn. Code Ann. §3-1-106 et seq.
Art. IT1, §24; In 1991 a constitutional amendment was approved by voters to allow Ethics

Texas Commission to recommend the salaries of members. Any recommendations must be approved
by voters to be effective. The provision has yet to be used. :

Utah Art. VI, §9; Utah Code Ann. §36-2-2, et seq.

Vermont Vt. Stat. Ann. tit 32,§1051 and §1052

Virginia Art. IV, §5; Va. Code Ann, §30-19.11 thru §30-19.14;

Washington Art: 11, §23; §43.03.060; Wash.. Rev. Code Ann. §43.03.028; S.alary Comm}sﬁon sets salaries of]
legislature and other state officials based on market study and input from citizens.
Art. 6, §33; W. Va. Code §4-2A-1 et seq.; Submits by resolution and must be concurred by at

West Virginia |least four members of the commission. The Legislature must enact the resolution into law and
may reduce, but shall not increase, any item established in such resolution.
Sections 20.923 and 230.12, Wis. Statutes, created by Chapter 90, Laws of 1973, and amended
by 1983 Wis. Act 27 and Wis. Act 33, provide the current procedure for setting salaries of

Wisconsin  [elected state officials. Generally, compensation is determined as part of the state compensation
plan for non-represented employees and is approved by vote of the joint committee on
employment relations.

'Wyoming Wyo. Stat. §28-5-101 thru §28-5-105

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures 2008



Table 5 - 2008 State Legislator Compensation- Mileage, Phone, and Credit Card Allowances

additional amount for 11 largest

State Mileage Allowance {Phone Allowance Credit Card Allowance
10¢/mile for a single roundtrip |
Alabama per session; 50.5¢/mile for [Yes - official state business only {No
interim committee attendance
Alaska 50.5¢/mile for travel approved |Yes - legislative business only  INo
Arizona M4.5¢/mile on actual miles Phon.e ca‘rds. are allowed for. {No
_ certain districts.
[Arkansas 50.5.¢/mile No No
m rovided a .
California x;jcllgsri;iiapg: is not Yes - official state business only. g &z pificiplstate
reimbursed. uSingss ondy.
Colorado 46¢ or 48.¢ if 4“.,d vehicle. Yes - official state business only jNo
Actual miles paid.
Yes. Official business only;
Connecticut {48.5¢/mile charges for personal calls are [No
reimbursed by legislator
Delaware 40¢/mile Yes - official business only No
Florida 44.5¢/mile for business travel [Yes - official business only No
48.5¢/mile Ga. Code Ann. §50-
19-7 sets rate of reimbursement
Georgia at the same mileage rate No- No
established by the US General
Services Administration
Hawaii [None 'Yes - official business only [No
Idaho gltlee rounidtrip;per week at state Yes - during session only No
Illinois 48.5¢/mile; tied to federal rate [No No
Indiana 50.5/mile Yes No
Towa 39¢/mile [No [No
Kansas 47¢/r.ni.1e; set by Department of [Yes - if month]'y l.:oill e)fceeds ls\:[aatz Ir):(;:e:;;::f tfe:: z;rd;
Administration $200, leadership is notified only
Kentucky 5Q.5¢/mi1e based on federal No No
mileage rate
Louisiana  [50.5¢/mile tied to federal rate | LS - district office line with one
extension
Pre-paid phone cards are issued to
Maine 40¢/mile. Members of the Senate and the  [No
(House.
50.5¢/mile. $500 allowance for
Maryland in district travel as taxable ‘ No No
income, members may decline
the allowance
Between $10-$100, determined
Massachusetts1by distarrllfe grc?m St,ate House ‘No No
Michigan 50¢/mile Official business only [No
[House: range of $100-$850 for
Minnesota  |in district mileage, plus $125/month; (V) No




State Mileage Allowance Phone Allowance Credit Card Allowance
districts. Senate: a reasonable
allowance. Both bodies:
mileage reimbursement to
Capitol as needed.
48.5¢/mile; determined by
Mississippi  {Federal Register and Yes [No
Legislature
Yes, phone cards issued but . .
Missouri 45.5¢/mile expenditures deducted from , Yels, official business
monthly expense allowance oty
50.5¢/mile; Rate is based on
IRS rate. Reimbursement for
Montana actual mileage traveled in Yes - leadership positions only  [No
connection with legislative
business
[Nebraska 50.5¢/mile; tied to federal rate [Yes - official business only [No
[Nevada Federal rate, currently $2,800 allowance [No
50.5¢/mile
Round trip home to State House
@ 38¢/mile for first 45 miles
New and 19¢/mile thereafter; or
H hi members will be reimbursed for [No No
ampshire .
actual expenses and mileage
will be paid at the maximum
IRS mileage rate
Gas cards if they are
[New Jersey [None None for Assembly :f;;%:ﬁ:g?:gg; ;
None for Senate.
[New Mexico |50.5¢/mile; tied to federal rate [No [No
[New York  |50.5¢/mile Limited to official business No
29¢/mile, 1 round trip/week
[North during session; 1 round trip for |Allowance of $2,275 for postage, No
Carolina attendance at interim cmte. stationery and telephone
mtgs.
. . Only Legislative Council
North Dakota 45¢./ mile; one rundtrip/weel men};bers or chairmen of interim [No
during session
cmtes.
40¢/mile; one round trip/week
Ohio f;;:&&ﬁ?&:?é?;ﬁgr State-related phone calls only [No
County only
Senate Members receive phone
Oklahoma  [50.5¢/mile; tied to federal rate |credit card for state-related [No
business use away from Capitol.
State-provided office and district
Oregon 48.5¢/mile office phone for legislative No
business only
Pennsylvania 33.65¢/m11e, rate tied to federal No No
Rhode Island |[40.5¢/mile to and from session [No [No




State Mileage Allowance Phone Allowance Credit Card Allowance
zouth' 34.5¢/mile Official business only o}
arolina
32¢/mile for one round trip
ﬁ'onll(P1(eirrgto 1:§m§ ea;ch d Telephone allowance: $600/6
South Dakota | e ora- LN UID 18 780 PAIC ) o hth for legislators and $900/6 [No
at S¢/mile. During the interim, ths for leadershi
32¢/mile for scheduled ot P
committee meetings.
Tennessee  [35¢/mile gihs(t):rfcg?gisl;; r in-state long No.
50.5¢/mile set by General
Appropriations bill; an’ Members are eligible for
Texas allowance for single, twinand |No Master Card cards for
turbo engines at $1.07/mile is official use.
also given
Utah 48.5¢/mile, round trip from INo; All members are issued No
home to capitol Blackberry phones
Federal mileage rate, now about
Vermont 48.5¢/mile, state employee Leaders for legislative business [No
reimbursement rate
Virginia 50.5¢/mile Yes No
‘Washington [50.5¢/mile For business calls only INo
... |48.5¢/mile based on Dept of
West Virginia Adm. travel Regs. Yes [No
Members office expenses,
including phone expense, are
46.5¢/mile for in-district limited to the amount of each
Wisconsin  |business mileage plus one round{Senator's/Representative's office [No
trip/week to Capitol budget, as established by the
committee on senate and
Assembly organizations.
Telephone credit card for official
'Wyoming 35¢/mile business only with a $2,000 limit [No

during 2 yrs.

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures 2008



Table 6 - 2008

State Legislator Compensation- Forms of Transportation Offered To State Legislators

State Transportation Offered To State Legislators
Alabama [None
Alaska [No
Arizona Access to motor pool for legislative trips only
Arkansas [None
California Members are provided a vehicle, which they pay a portion of the payment.
Colorado [No
Connecticut  [None
Delaware [No
Florida Rental cars for official business
Georgia No
iNeighbor Island members are allowed 1 round trip from their home island every week--
Hawaii during session and during the interim. Additional trips are allowed when authorized by the |
Speaker. ;
Idaho [No
[llinois [No
Indiana [No
Towa No
K ansas INo
K entucky [Yes
Louisiana None
Maine INone
Maryland None
Massachusetts [No
Michigan [None
. Car rental is available with prior approval. Mileage reimbursement is available when using
MingEset personal vehicles.
Mississippi  |None
Missouri [No
Montana No
[Nebraska [No
[Nevada Motor pool or private; legislative police shuttle to/from Reno airport.
[New
Hampshire No
Automobiles for Speaker, Majority Leader and Minority Leader in the Assembly. None for
[New Jersey
Senate.
[New Mexico [No
[New York Top leadership has access to vehicles.
[North CarolinaNo
[North Dakota [None
Ohio No
|Oklahoma  {None
Oregon [No .
. [Business mileage reimbursement or use fleet lease vehicle from Department of General
Pennsylvania .
Services.
Rhode Island [No




State Transportation Offered To State Legislators

South Carolina [None

South Dakota |[None
In lieu of mileage, members residing greater than 100 miles from the seat of government

Tennessee may be reimbursed for coach class airline fare for attendance at session or committee
meetings. Limited to one round trip per week during session.

Texas INo

Utah (None

Vermont None

Virginia No

(Washington {No

[West Virginia [No

[Wisconsin INo

'Wyoming INone

Source: National Conference of State Legislators 2008




Table 7 - 2008 Legislator Compensation- Legislator Compensation for Office Supplies, District Offices and

Staffing

State Office Supplies, District Offices and Staffing.

Alabama INone, although annual appropriation to certain positions may be so allocated.
Senators receive $10,000/year and Representatives receive $8,000/year for postage, stationery and

Alaska other legislative expenses. Staffing allowance determined by rules and pres1d1ng officers, depending
on time of year.

Arizona INone.
Legislators may receive reimbursement of up to $14,400 annually for legislative expenses incurred.
Standing subcommittee chairs and committee chairs may receive an additional annual expense

Arkansas reimbursements of up to $1,800 and $3,600, respectively. Legislators who formally decline to receive
per diem and mileage reimbursements may receive additional annual expensive reimbursements of
up to $10,200.

California Based on the size of their districts.

Colorado [None.

Connecticut  [Senators receive $5,500 and Representatives receive $4,500 in unvouchered expense allowance.

Delaware Reimbursement provided for office expenses.

Florida Senate $2,921/month for district. office expenses. House $2,324/month for district office expenses.
Speaker $3,246 and Senate President $3,567
$7,000/year reimbursable expense account. If the member requests and provides receipts, the

Georgia member is reimbursed for personal services, office equipment, rent, supplies, transportation,
telecommunications, etc.
There is no set dollar amount for office supplies. All supplies are provided by the House Supply
Room. Any item not carried in the Supply Room may be purchased with statutory legislative
allowance funds which is currently $7,500/year. House members do not have district offices. With

Hawaii the exception of the Speaker's Office and Majority and Minority Leadership offices, the House
Finance, Judiciary and Consumer Protection offices, each House Majority and Minority member is
allowed 1 permanent full-time Office Manager. During the session each Majority member receives
$6,000/month for temporary staff salaries, and each Minority member receives $5,500/month.

Idaho $1,700/year for unvouchered constituent expense. No staffing allowance.

. Senators receive $83,063/year and Representatives $69,409/year for office expenses, including

linois district offices and staffing.

Indiana 40% of per diem for district offices during interim only. No staffing allowance.

fowa $300/month to cover district constituency postage, travel, telephone and other expenses. No staffing
allowance.

Kansas $6,910/y.ear which is taxabl.e income to Fhe leg§slators. Sta}fﬁng a.llowanc.es vary for leadership who
have their own budget. Legislators provided with secretaries during session only.

Kentucky $1,756.75 for district expenses during interim.
$500/month. Senators and Representatives receive an additional $,1500 supplemental allowance for

Louisiana vouchered office expenses, rent, travel mileage in district. Senators and Representatives staff
allowance $2,000/month starting salary up to $3,000 with annual increases.

Maine [None. However, supplies for staff offices are provided and paid for out of general legislative account.
Members, $18,265/year for normal office expenses with limits on postage, telephone and

Maryland publications, and an additional $1,4‘OO to $2,QOQ for certain leadersh'ip ];_)ositions. Members‘must
document expenses. Members receive an additional allowance for district office staff salaries.
Senators receive one administrative assistant.

Massachusetts |$7,200/yearly for office expenses..

Michigan $61,359 per majority Senator for office budget $61 359 for minority Senator for office budget.

Minnesota  |[None.

Mississippi

A total of $1,500 month out of session.




State

Office Supplies, District Offices and Staffing.

Missouri $800/month to cover all reasonable and necessary business expenses.

Montana iNone.

Nebraska No allowance; however, each member is provided with two full-time capitol staff year-round.

[Nevada [None.

[New

Hampshire None.
$750 for supplies, 12 cartons of copy paper, equipment and furnishings supplied through a district

New Jersey ofﬁce program. $110,000/year for district office personnel. State provides stationery for each
legislator. 12,500 postage stamps for Assembly Members; 10,000 postage stamps for Senate
Members.

[New Mexico [None.
Staff allowance set by majority leader for majority members and by minority leader for minority

[New York  imembers. Staff allowance covers both district and capitol; geographic location; seniority and
leadership responsibilities will cause variations.

[North - [Non-leaders receive $6,708/year for any legislative expenses not otherwise provided. Full-time

Carolina secretarial assistance is provided during session.

INorth Dakota [None.

Ohio None.

Oklahoma $350/year for unvouchered office supplies plus five rolls of stamps.
Session office supplies, $15.50 day Interim office allowance. none Interim district office expense

Oregon allowance $450-750 month depending on geographic size of district. Session staffing allowance,
$4,292 month; Interim staffing allowance, $3,454 per month '

Pennsylvania [Staffing is determined by leadership.

Rhode Island [None. :

South Senate $3,400/year. for postage, stationary apd telephone. House $1,890/year. for telephoge and

Carolina $6QO/year. for postage. Legislators also receive $1,000/month for in district expenses that is treated
as income.

South Dakota |None.

Tennessee $1,000/month for expenses in district (U).

Texas Approved allowance for staff salaries, supplies, stationery, postage, district office rental, telephone
expense, etc.

Utah INone.

Vermont None.

Virginia Leg@slators rece?ve $1,250/month; leadership receives $1,750/morgh ofﬁpe expense allowance.
Legislators receive a staffing allowance of $37,871/year; leadership receives $56,804/year.

. $1,950/quarter for legislative expenses, for which the legislator has not been otherwise entitled to

Washington .
reimbursement. No staffing allowance.

'West Virginia [None.

Wisconsin $12,000 for 2 year session in the Assembly. N/A staffing, DO. $45,000 for two year period for office

expenses. In Senate, $54,063 office budget for 2 year session and $198,417 staff salary budget.

'Wyoming

Up to $750 quarter through the constituent service allowance.




Table 8A - 2008 State Legislator Compensation - Health, Dental, and Optical Benefits

State |Health Dental Optical

AL Sa“.‘e as state e;mployees, Same as state employees, optional at .
optional at legislator’s leoi R Not available

egislator’s expense
expense

AK  [State pays portion, State pays portion, legislator pays |Optional at legislator's expense;
legislator pays portion  [portion unless included in Health Ins.

AZ ISataFe pays portion, . Stat; pays portion, legislator pays Optional at legisla for expense

egislator pays portion  jportion.

AR |Same as available to other Optional at legislator's expense Optional at legislator's expense
state employees.

CA . State pays full amount for basic State pays full amount for basic
State pays portion, dental Memb plan and the member pays extra
legislator pays portion ental coverage. ember pays ext.ra for the enhanced plan if they want

for an enhanced plan if they want it. it

o StaFe pays portion, State pays portion, legisiator pays
legislator pays portion; ) : . .

5 2 |portion, amount differs according to [Not available
amount differs according
plan selected.
to plan selected

CT State pays portion, State pays portion, legislator pays [Some health insurance plans
legislator pays portion  [portion include discounts on eyewear.

DE State pays portion,
legisiator pays portion,

After three months the  |Optional at legislator’s expense Optional at legislator's expense
state pays entire amount
for basic plan.

FL State pays full amount State pays full amount Optional at legislator's expense

GA  [Same as state employee  [Legislator pays. This is an optional {Legislator pays. This is an optional
plan. State pays portion, {benefit offered once a year during  [benefit offered once a year during
legislator pays portion.  |open enrollment. open enrollment.

HI State pays portion, State pays portion, legislator pays [State pays portion, legislator pays
legislator pays portion  |portion portion

1D Sta_te pays portion, _ Stat@ pays portion, legislator pays Not available
legislator pays portion  [portion

IL State pays portion, State pays portion, legislator pays |State pays portion, legislator pays
legislator pays portion  |portion portion

IN State pays portion; Stat(? pays portion legislator pays

: ; State pays full amount portion. Dependent coverage is at
legislator pays portion ;
legislator expense

1A Sta'te pays portion, : Stat«; pays portion, legislator pays Not available
[legislator pays portion  [portion

KS Sta.te pays portion, : State pays for legislator, legislator Optional at legislator's expense
legislator pays portion  [pays dependent coverage

KY  [State pays singie portion,
legislator pays dependent [Optional at legislator’s expense Optional at legislator’s expense
portion

LA  [State pays S0%, legislator [State pays 50%, legislator pays 50% 7 ‘
pays 50% Senators pay 100% Legislator pays 100%

ME  HMO Plan is same as Dental Plan is same as provided to Visi . ;

: 1o ision care insurance is offered,
provided to state state employees. State pays 100% of], . o . :
. but is 100% legislator-paid.
employees. State pays legislator coverage only.




State

Health

Dental

Optical

100% of legislator
coverage and 50% of
dependent coverage.

MD  [Same as state employee
plan; state subsidizes 80%
o .
0.85% deper}dxng ouithe Optional; Same as state employee .
plan selected; : i N Covered under medical plan
legislator/employee pays plan; state subsidizes 50%
20% for PPO; 17% for
POS or 15% for HMO.
MA (S;sse}::]ys zI;) g;tl)orlle islator State pays portion, legislator pays [State pays portion, legislator pays
y oU70), leg portion portion
ipays portion
M1 Health, vision, life,
cancer, prescription, Included in cafeteria plan Included in cafeteria plan
-joffered via cafeteria plan |
MN o The same optional coverage as
ssi?t?ep:g:elrgof f%rg 59 State pays 90% for single coverage |[state employees. STD, LTD,
of fga mil cov%:r ar; ® land 50% for family coverage. Optional Life (Member, Spouse, &
y coverage. Child), AD&D, & Long term care.
MS lse t;t:l:; }ll_soilll}ll :ﬁxlfrg: Optional at legislator’s expense [Not available
MO ISet 2;:1:; );sz;rst;):;tion Optional at iegislator’s expense Optional at legislator's expense
IMT  |State pays full amount State pays full amount They have an option to purchase.
NE gg;xsl:l at legislator’s Optional at legislator's expense Optional at legislator's expense
NV gf;:;l;:l at legislator’s Optional at legislator’s expense Optional at legislator’s expense
Rls gg‘;z:l atlegislators Optional at legislator’s expense Not available
INJ Same as state employees; Same as state employees; minor
choice between a PPO Same as state employees; state pays reimbursement for eye exam and
and 2 HMOs and costis  jportion, legislator pays portion lens purchase once every two
1.5% of salary years
INM  [Not available INot available [Not available
NY  [State pays portion, State pays portion, legislator pays [No cost if participating provider
legislator pays portion portion used :
NC  [State pays full amount for
ieog\i Zi:tg(:;??:goi:f; t(t;e;frsnly Optional at legislator’s expense Optional at legislator's expense
expense '
IND . [State pays health
;2;?:; Itlcc):spgﬁ?ol:iﬁlgfge Optional at legislator’s expense Optional at legislator’s expense
state health plan.
0o/ . 3
OH S:;tse f ;3/'08 85%; legislator State pays full amount State pays full amount
OK  [$262.19 allowance per  [Same as state employees benefit Same as state employees benefit
month for all benefits. plan. plan.
OR  [Same as all other state Same as all other State employees in[Same as all other state employees




State

Health

Dental

Optical

employees in all branches.

all branches.

in all branches

PA  [Medical/hospital, dental, .
" [vision, Rx. Employee Employee pays 1% of salary for Employee pays 1% of salary for
" Ipays 1% of salary for health benefits. health benefits.
health benefits.
RI Legislators recetve the Legislators receive the same dental [Legislators receive same optical
same health insurance as |, .
insurance as state employees insurance as state employees
state employees.
SC Sta.te pays portion, ‘ State‘: pays portion, legislator pays Not available
legislator pays portion [portion
SD INot available Not available [Not available
TN State pays 80%, legislator . . , .
bays 20% Optional at legislator’s expense [Not available
TX  [State pays full amount Optional at legislator’s expense Included in health coverage
UT State pays portion, State pays portion, legislator pays [State pays portion, legislator pays
legislator pays portion  [portion portion
VT  Optional at legislator’s [Not available [Not available
expense
VA [State pays portion, State pays portion, legislator pays {State pays portion, legislator pays
legislator pays portion [portion portion
WA Sta'te pays portion, State pays full amount Included in medical
legislator pays portion
WV [Optional at legislator’s Optional at legislator’s expense Optional at legislator’s expense
expense
(WI State pays portion,
legislator pays portion.
Benefits are the same as  [Some HMOs cover Optional at legislator's expense
those offered to general
state employees.
WY  [Not available [Not available [Not available

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures 2008




Table 8B - 2008 Legislator Compensation - Disability Insurance Offered To State Legislators

State Disability Insurance

Alabama [Not available

Alaska Optional; if selected is included in health insurance

Arizona State pays portion, legislator pays portion through the retirement system.

Arkansas Optional at legislator's expense

California |State pays full amount

Colorado [Not available

Connecticut  |Optional at legislator's expense

Delaware Not available

Florida State pays full amount.

Georgia Long Term and Short Term. This is an optional benefit offered once a year during open
enrollment.

Hawaii State pays portion, legislator pays portion

Idaho State pays portion, legislator pays portion

Ilinois State pays full amount

Indiana [Not available

Towa State pays full amount

K ansas State pays full amount

K entucky Optional at legislator’s expense

Louisiana Optional at legislator's expense

Maine Not available

Maryland [Not available

Massachusetts [Optional at legislator's expense

Michigan INot available

Minnesota Optional at legislator’s expense

Mississippi None

Missouri State pays full amount

Montana Not available

[Nebraska Optional at legislator’s expense

Nevada Optional at legislator's expense

gzxpshire Not available

[New Jersey  [Not available

[INew Mexico |[Not available

New York State pays full amount

[North Carolina |Optional at legislator's expense

[North Dakota |Optional at legislator’s expense

Ohio INot available

Oklahoma Same as state employees benefit plan

Oregon Available as an option legislator paid

Pennsylvania  [Employee pays 1% of salary for health benefits.

Rhode Island  |Optional at legislator's expense

South Carolina [State pays portion, legislator pays portion

South Dakota [State pays full amt for accidental death/dismemberment ins only

Tennessee INot available




State Disability Insurance

Texas Optional at legislator’s expense

Utah State pays full amount

[Vermont Not available

Virginia State pays full amount. Only permanent disability retirement through retirement system

Washington  [State pays portion, legislator pays portion

West Virginia [Not available

'Wisconsin Optional at legislator’s expense

'Wyoming ot available

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures 2008



Table 8C - 2008 Legislator Compensation - State Legislator Life Insurance Benefits

State [Life Insurance Benefits
Alabama [Not available
Alaska Small policy available; additional is optional at legislator’s expense.
Arizona State pays 15K policy; additional amount is paid by legislator.
Arkansas State provides $10,000 coverage with option to purchase greater amount.
California State pays full amount
Colorado State pays full amount for $12,000 policy; additional is optional at legislator's expense.
Connecticut  |{Optional at legislator's expense.
Delaware Optional at legislator’s expense.
Florida State pays full amount.
Georgia legislator pays. This is an optional benefit offered once a year during open enrollment. -
Hawaii State pays portion/legislator pays portion.
Idaho State pays portion, legislator pays portion.
Tllinois State pays portion; legislator pays portion.
Indiana State pays portion; legislator pays portion.
lowa State pays first $20,000, additional at legislator expense.
K ansas 150% of annual salary if part of KPERS. Additional insurance is optional at legislator's
expense. ‘
K entucky State pays for $20,000; extra available at legislator’s expense.
Louisiana State pays half; legislator pays half.
Maine Op?ional coverage in amount equal to legislator salary is available to legislators but is 100%
legislator paid.
Maryland Term insurance; optional at legislator’s expense.
Massachusetts [$5,000 policy provided; Additional up to 8 times salary at Legislator's expense.
Michigan Offered at different levels as part of cafeteria plan. :
Minnesota State pays premium for benefit of $35,000.
Mississippi  [State pays half/legislator pays half.
Missouri State pays full amount. Additional amounts are optional at legislator’s expense.
Montana State pays $14,000 term policy. Additional at legislator's expense.
INebraska Optional at legislator’s expense.
Nevada Optional at legislator’s expense.
ggxpshire Not available
State pays 1 1/2 times salary. Also available additional coverage of 1 1/2 times salary which
New Jersey | . . .
is optional at legislator's expense.
[New Mexico [Not available
[New York Optional at member’s expense.
[North Carolina|Optional at legislators expense.
[North Dakota [State pays for $1,300 term life policy.
. Amount equal to salary; premium paid by state. Member may purchase a supplemental
Ohio policy, which is also offered to state employees.
[Oklahoma Same as state employees benefit plan.
Oregon Available as an option, legislator paid.
Pennsylvania [Equal to salary to maximum of $150,000.
Rhode Island |Optional at legislator’s expense.

South Carolina

State pays portion, legislator pays portion.




State

Life Insurance Benefits

South Dakota

[Not available

Tennessee

State pays $15,000; Legislator pays $7,000.

Texas Optional at legislator’s expense.

Utah State pays full amount.

Vermont [Not available

Virginia State pays portion, legislator pays portion.
Washington  [State pays portion, iegislator pays portion.
West Virginia [Optional at legislator’s expense.
Wisconsin Optional at legislator’s expense.
(Wyoming [Not available

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures 2008






