APPENDIX AA

report on the expiration of the leave granted may be terminated.

An employee granted leave without pay will, upon return, be assigned duties of like seniority,
status and pay.

Leave without pay may be granted for other purposes (education, family leave, extended iliness,
etc.). If due to illness, a written statement from a physician stating the reason for the leave may
be required.

Employees using leave without pay do not earn annual and sick leave or other benefits
available to regular employees.

Granting a leave without pay request will depend on whether the absence of the employee will
unduly disrupt the agency's operations or services.

Granting a leave without pay request will depend on whether the terms and conditions
concerning the leave have been agreed to in writing by the employee and the Department.

9-10 Family and Medical Leave ~ ] ?Q

The Commissioner will provide leave for eligible employees for specified family and medical
reasons. The following does not provide a complete description of state and federal law on
family medical leave or state and federal laws and regulations. The Deputy Insurance
Commissioner should be consulted concerning extended family or medical leave requests.
1. General definitions:
a. “Department” means the North Dakota Department of Insurance.

b. “Employee” means an individual who is payrolled through the state payroll-
personnel system.

“State” means the State of North Dakota.
d. “FMLA” means the Family Medical Leave Act of 1993.

e. “FMLA leave” means Qualified Leave under the Family Medical Leave Act of
1993 or the North Dakota Family Medical Leave Act (N.D. Cent. Code Chapter
54-52.4)

2. Eligibility for family or medical leave of absence (regardless of full-time, part-time,
temporary, or hourly status), all employees must have been:
a. Employed by the state for at least 12 months;
b. Employed for at least 1,250 hours during the 12-month period immediately
preceding the leave date.
3. Qualifying reasons for family or medical leave:
a. For the birth of the employee’s child.

b. For the placement with the employee of a son or daughter for adoption or foster
care, and to care for the child.

c. For the care of the employee’s spouse, child, or parent, if the spouse, child or
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parent has a serious health condition.

d. For a serious health condition of the employee that makes the employee unable
to perform one or more of the essential functions of the job.

. A serious health condition is an illness, injury, impairment, physical or mental
condition that involves inpatient care, continuing treatment by a health care provider,
chronic conditions, or conditions which require multiple treatments. Short-term
conditions requiring only brief treatment and recovery and routine treatments are
generally not considered serious health conditions.

Length of family or medical leave

a. An employee may generally take up to 12 weeks of medical leave out of a 12-
consecutive month period for an employee’s own serious health condition. The
12-consecutive month period must be based on the date an employee’s FMLA
leave begins.

b. An employee may generally take up to four months of family or medical leave for
the other authorized reasons.

c. An employee’s eligibility to take FMLA leave for the birth of a child or the
placement of a child for adoption or foster care expires 12 months after the birth
or placement of the child.

Employee notification of leave as family or medical leave

a. If the need for FMLA leave is foreseeable, an employee must provide at least 30
days advance notice before FMLA leave is to begin.

b. If 30 days notice is not practicable, such as in a medical emergency, notice must
be given as soon as practicable. Verbal notice is sufficient.

c. If planning FMLA leave, the employee must consult with the Deputy Insurance
Commissioner and make a reasonable effort to schedule the leave so as not to
disrupt unduly the Department’s operations. If the employee fails to consult with
the Department, the Department will initiate discussions with the employee and
attempt to work out a schedule which meets the employee’s needs.

d. If an employee fails to give 30 days advance notice for foreseeable leave, the
Department may delay the taking of FMLA leave until at least 30 days after the
date the employee provides notice.

. An employee may take FMLA leave on an intermittent or reduced leave schedule
when it is medically necessary for a serious health condition of the employee, the
employee’s spouse, the employee’s parent, or the employee’s child. If an employee
requests intermittent or reduced FMLA leave, the Department may require the
employee to transfer temporarily to an alternative position with equivalent pay and
benefits to accommodate recurring periods of absence or a part-time schedule.

Designation of family or medical leave

a. An employee requesting leave must explain the reasons for the leave so as to
allow the Department to determine whether the leave qualifies under the FMLA
or the request may be denied. An employee giving notice of the need for FMLA
leave does not need to expressly assert rights under the FMLA or even mention
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the FMLA to meet his or her obligation to provide notice, although the employee
needs to state a qualifying reason for the FMLA leave.

If the requested leave qualifies as FMLA leave, the Department will notify the
employee that it has designated the leave as FMLA leave.

The Department may designate an employee’s paid leave, annual leave, sick
leave, or donated leave, as FMLA leave. The Department will notify the
employee that paid leave is being designated as being substituted for otherwise
unpaid FMLA leave.

9. Department notification

a.

If the Department grants a request for FMLA leave, the Deputy Insurance
Commissioner will provide an employee with written notice detailing the specific
expectations and obligations of the employee and explaining any consequences
of a failure to meet these obligations within a reasonable time (generally one or
two business days of the request for leave).

The office will notify the employee that the leave will be counted against the
employee’s annual FMLA leave and:

o Of any requirements for the employee to furnish medical certification and the
consequences of failing to do so;

o Ofthe rights to substitute paid leave by either the office and the employee;

o Of insurance premium payment requirements and arrangements for making
payments and consequences of failing to make payments;

o Of the requirement to present a fitness-for-duty certificate for return to work;

o Of the employee’s right to restoration of the same or equivalent job upon
return from leave;

o Of the employee’s liability for payment of insurance premiums paid by the
employer if the employee fails to return to work; and

o Of the employee’s status as a “key employee” and the effect that restoration
to the employee’s previous position may be denied.

10. Benefits during family medical leave:

a.

Family or medical leave is generally unpaid.

b. The Department will maintain the employee’s coverage under the state’s group

health plan on the same conditions as coverage would have been provided if the
employee had been continuously at work during the entire leave period. In
addition, the Department will pay the basic life insurance premiums during the
FMLA leave period.

Employees do not receive paid holidays nor accrue annual leave or sick leave
while on unpaid family medical leave.

11. Medical certification of leave:

a. The Department may require an employee to provide a certification from a health

care provider to substantiate the serious health condition of the employee or
family member.
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