APPENDIX JJ

Family and Medical Leave Guidelines

The State of North Dakota and the Office of Secretary of State are subject to the Federal Family
and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and the North Dakota Family Leave Act (N.D.C.C §54-52.4).
These acts require employers to provide eligible employees having certain qualifying reasons
up to 12 workweeks of unpaid leave during a 12-month period. Because this policy is not an
exhaustive description of state and federal law on Family and Medical Leave, employees are
encouraged to consult with the designated personnel officer and review state and federal laws
in specific requirements, right, and obligations.

1. Following are the essential requirements and benefits:

a) Eligibility: Employees are eligible if they have worked for the State of North Dakota for at
least 12 months (need not be consecutive) and have worked at least 1,250 hours for the
State in the previous 12 months before the date leave is to commence.

b) Leave will be provided for any of the following reasons:

e For the birth of the employee’s newborn and to care for the employee’s newborn if
leave ends within 12 months after birth of the child;

* For the placement of or precondition to a newly adopted or foster child and to care
for a newly placed adopted or foster child:;

* To care for the employee’s spouse, son, daughter, or parent who has a serious
health condition (the definition stated in law of a son or a daughter is a biological,
adopted, or foster child, a stepchild, a legal ward, or a child of a person standing in
loco parentis, who is either under age 18, or age 18 or older and incapable of self-
care because of a mental or physical disability); or

e For a serious health condition that makes the employee unable to work or perform
any one of the essential functions of the employee’s job.

¢) Notwithstanding any other opinions of the condition, the Secretary of State will decide
whether a condition qualifies as a serious health condition as defined in the Family and
Medical Leave Act.

* An employee may be required to supply a physician’s verification of the condition,
that the condition is serious and that the employee will be unable to perform one or
more essential functions of their job as a result of that condition. The verification
may be required on U.S. Department of Labor’s form entitled Certification of Health
Care Provider (Optional Form WH-380) or a similar form.

* An employee may be required to submit to an examination by a physician selected,
and paid for, by the Secretary of State.

d) Length of leave allowed:

* An employee may take up to 12 workweeks of leave for any of the reasons specified
in (b).

* If an employee and his/her spouse work for the State of North Dakota and qualify for
family leave, the combined total leave for purposes stated in (b) above, except for an
employee’s own serious health condition, may not exceed 12 workweeks.

e) Designation of paid leave: The Office of the Secretary of State will require an employee
to use accrued paid leave during an authorized FMLA leave of absence. Employees will



first use any accrued sick leave and then use any accrued annual leave in conjunction
with an authorized Family and Medical Leave taken. Employees who have exhausted
the applicable types of paid leave will be provided unpaid leave to fulfill the remaining
authorized period of Family and Medical Leave.

Note: Under N.D.C.C §54-52.4-03 an employee may use up to 40 hours of accrued sick
leave in a 12-month period for the care of a child, spouse, or parent. For any leave to be
granted for this reason beyond 40 hours, Family Medical Leave must be requested by
the employee or invoked by the Deputy Secretary of State.

f) Job benefits and protection for non-key employee (see note below): Employees who are
using the required paid leave will continue to receive or accrue benefits as normally
provided employees on paid leave. Employees who are provided with unpaid leave
during any authorized Family and Medical Leave period will continue to have health
insurance benefits paid by the Office of the Secretary of State during the leave period.
Employees in an unpaid leave status will not accrue annual or sick leave during the
period of unpaid leave. Upon return from leave an employee who is not designated, as
a “key employee” will be restored to their original or an equivalent position with
equivalent pay, benefits, and any other employment rights that existed at
commencement of the leave or that may have accrued during the leave period. An
employee designated as a “key employee” may not be provided restoration rights upon
return from leave.

Note: Individuals designated as “key employees” under FMLA §825.217 will be notified
of such designation at or before the time FMLA leave commences. If the restoration of a
‘key employee” causes “substantial and grievous economic injury” to the employing
agency then reinstatement upon returning from leave may not occur.

2. Employees taking FMLA leave in either a paid or unpaid status may not perform work for
another employer during the leave period without prior notification and approval of the
Division Director. Working for another employer other than under the conditions approved
may be considered as negating the requirement to be absent from work for the Office of the
Secretary of State and may cause immediate cancellation of FMLA leave status or
disciplinary action up to and including termination of employment.

The Office of the Secretary of State will continue to pay the employer's share of health plan
coverage during the period of paid and unpaid family and medical leave. An employee may
be responsible to reimburse the Office of the Secretary of State for heaith insurance
premiums paid during any unpaid portion of the Family and Medical Leave period when:

* An employee performs work for an employer without the approval of the employee’s
Division Director, or

» The employee chooses not to return to work upon completion of the Family and
Medical Leave period, unless the employee does not return to work due to
continuation, recurrence, or onset of a serious health condition of the employee or
employee’s immediate family member. (See Federal Regulation 825, section
825.213)

4. Authorized leave under this section may be taken in intermittent or reduced work schedules
but in no less than one-hour increments. An employee taking intermittent leave or reduced
work schedules may be temporarily reassigned to an alternative position with equivalent pay
and benefits which better accommodates the recurring leave than does the employee’s
regular position.

5. An employee may be required to furnish periodic verbal or written reports to their Division
Director reporting the status of their condition, and the employee’s intent to return to work.



10.

1.

The employee’s Division Director, Deputy, and Secretary of State must approve all leave
under this section prior to commencement of the leave. The approving authority is
responsible to determine eligibility for leave based on eligibility of the employee and
reason(s) given for the leave.

The entitlement period, which is the 12-month period during which the maximum allowable
weeks of leave may be taken, will be determined by the “rolling” 12-month period looking
backward method. This means the period will be measured backward by 12 months from
the date an employee uses any leave under this section. Any FMLA leave used during this
12-month period will be deducted for the total allowable under this section.

An employee must apply for leave under this section in writing by completing the form
entitled Employee Request for Family Medical Leave or preparing his or her own request,
which must contain the same information. The application must be submitted 30 days in
advance of the requested leave starting date unless compelling circumstances substantiate
a shorter notification as determined by the Division Director.

The employer may invoke Family and Medical Leave for qualifying situations even if an
employee has not applied for FMLA.

The approving authorities will provide a response in writing to an employee’s application for
leave by completing the form entitled Response To Family Medical Leave Request or
preparing their own response, which must contain the same information. When leave is
approved, the approving authorities will provide a statement that leave is designated as
Family and Medical Leave, whether the employee is required to use accrued paid leave
during the authorized family and medical leave of absence, a clear record of the start date,
and the last date of eligibility when family and medical leave designation must end.

If a dispute arises as to the eligibility for leave under this section, or as concerns the
designation of paid leave as qualifying under this section, or to determine appropriateness of
notice requirement of less than 30 days, an employee may submit additional information to
their Division Director for further consideration.
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