
APPENDIX

Tab1e 1 - State Legis1ator Compensation and Living Expense A110wances
during Session (2010)

.__... .JServices Committee.

Idaho

I Base Sa1ary

J I.J. (annua1 or
State dai1y rate) Session Per Diem Rate

Alabama

I

$10/day (C) $3, 958/month plus $50/day for three
days during each week that the
legislature actually meets during any
session (U) •

Alaska

j
$50,400/year J$189 or $234 /day (depending on the

time of year) tied to federal rate.
Legislators who reside in the Capitol
area receive 75% of the federal rate.

Arizona $24,000/year $35/day for the 1st 120 days of
regular session and for special
session and $10/day thereafter.
Members residing outside Maricopa
County receive an additional $25/day
for the 1st 120 days of reg. session

I
and for special session and an
additional $10/day thereafter (V) •

Set by statute.

Arkansas
1

$15,362/year
I

$136/day (V) plus mileage tied to
Ifederal rate.

California
J_~~~~_~_~/year___.._J :~~;~~~i~~~.

day for each day they arj
----------------_.

Colorado

I

$30,OOO/year $45/day for members living in the
Denver metro area. $99/day for members
living outside Denver (V) • Set by the
legislature.

Connecticut I $28,OOO/year I No per diem is paid. I
Delaware I $41,680/year I $7,334 expense allowance annually. I
Florida $29,697/year $133/day for House and $133 for

Senate (V) tied to federal rate.
Earned based on the number of days in
session. Travel vouchers are filed to
substantiate.,

Georgia $17,342/year $173/day (U) set by the Legislative

1. . J-----------------'

"

Hawaii I' $48,708/year $150/day for members living outside
Oahu during session; $120/day for

I members living outside Oahu during
II interim while conducting legislative

business; $lO/day for members living on

I

Oahu during the interim while
conducting official legislative
business.-_.._._-------- -_._--_.._-_ ...__.....--_.__.__....._._, -_...__._--_....._._-_.__._.._---------------

I $16,116/year $122/day for members establishing
I second residence in Boise; $49/day if

I

II ~ __n...:o--=s_e:....c_o_n_d__r_e_s_i_d_e_n_c:.:.....e_i_s_e_s_t_a_b_l_i_s_h_e_d__--'and up to $25/day travel (V) set by
Compensation Commission.



Illinois I $67,836/year I $139/per session day I
Indiana ---.-J $22,616.46/~~ $138/day (U) tied to federal rate. I---_.._-_.
Iowa

I

$25,OOO/year $137/day (U) . $102.75/day for Polk
County legislators (U) set by the
legislature to coincide with federal
rate. State mileage rates apply.

Kansas I $88.66(C) I $116/day (U) tied to federal rate. I
Kentucky

I
$186.73day~ $119.90/day (U) tied to federal rate

I(110% Federal per diem rate) .

LOUiSian~ $16'800/Y~ $159/day (U) tied to federal rate (26
additional U.S.C. Section 162 (h) (1) (B) (ii)) .
$6,000/yr (U)
expense
allowance.-----_.

Maine $13,526/year $38/day housing, or mileage and tolls
for first in lieu of housing (at rate of
regular $0.44/mile up to $38/day) plus $32/day
session; for meals. Per diem limits are set by
$9,661/year for statute.
second regular
session.

Maryland

I
$43,500/year Lodging $96/day; meals $32/day (V) tied

to federal rate and compensation
commission. $225/day for out of state
travel. Includes meals and lodging.

Massachuset $58,237.15 From $10/day-$100/day, depending on
ts /year distance from State House (V) set by

the legislature.

Michigan

I
$79, 650/year $12,000 yearly expense allowance for

session and interim (V) set by
compensation commission.

I Minnesota J ;31,140.90/yeJ
Senators receive $96/day and
Representatives receive
$77/legislative day (U) set by the
legislature/Rules Committee.

Mississippi $10,000/year $116/day (U) tied to federal rate.

Missouri $35,915/year $103.20/day (U) tied to federal rate.
Verification of per diem is by roll
call.

Montana $82.64/day (L) 103.69/day (U).

Nebraska $12,OOO/year $109/day outside 50-mile radius from
Capitol; $39/day if member resides
within 50 miles of Capitol (V) tied
to federal rate.

Federal rate for Capitol area (U).
Legislators who live more than 50
miles from the capitol, if require
lodging, will be paid Hud single-room
rate for Carson City area for each
month of session.

Nevada

1--N-e-w----------'--.;.$_2_0_0....;/_t_w_o_-.=..y_e_a_r__1 No per diem is paid.

$146.90/day
maximum of 60
days of session
for holdover

i Senators,

I
$146.29/day for
all other
legislators.



$19,009

$7,200/year

$117/day (C)

$10,400/year

$141/day
($148/day
effective
7/1/10) during
legislative
sessions C

~60~~i.~X..~~__-.-J No per diem is.. pa~?_. .---.J
$38,400/yea~ $150/day (U) tied to federal rate. I
$21,612/yr I $116/day (U) tied to federal rate. I
$78,314.66/year I $154 GSA Method $163 IRS High/Low I

I Method .

Vermont

North

New York

Hampshire I term I -Jl
__~~~~erseL J_~~...9-.2Q/yei3._r_ _._J No per diem is pai?-=-- .J

New Mexico I None I $159/day (V) tied to federal rate &
. . the constitution.

$79 500/year I Varies (V) tied to federal rate. I--'----',--'-_-=--. ~ __J

North $13, 951/year I $104/day (U) set by statute. I
Carolina $559.00/month expense allowance.--'--_ __J ---'----'-----"-----'--'---_

Lodging reimbursement up to
$1,040/month (V).Dakota

_~h~____J
Oklahoma I
Oregon I
Pennsylvani

Ia

Rhode

IIsland

South j
Carolina

-----------
South

IDakota

Tennessee J
Texas I
Utah

I
Virginia I $18,000/;jear House - $135/day (U) tied to federal

Senate, rate. Senate $169 (U) tied to federal

I ~ .. ~~~.; 4 ~:. year ... rat~__. ...

Washington I $42,106/year I $90/da~y~ _

West I $20,000/year I $131/day during session (U) set by
Virginia I . compensation commission.

Wisconsin $49,943/year I $88/day maximum (U) set by compensation

I
commission (90% of federal rate). Per
diem authorized under 13.123 (ll, Wis.

J Statutes, and Leg. Joint Rule 85.
_________________ 20.916(8) State Statutes and Joint

I-J
I

$636.62/week
during session
$118 per day
for special
sessions or
interim
committee

I meetings



Committee on Employment Relations
(JCOER) establishes the max. amount
according to the recommendations of the
Director of the Office of State
Employment Relations. The leadership of
each house then determines, within that
maximum, what amount to authorize for
the session.

Wyoming

I
$l50/day (L)

I
$109/day (V) set by the legislature,~
includes travel days for those
outside of Cheyenne.

Source: National Conference of State Legislators 2010



Table 2A - State Legislator Compensation- Additional Compensation for
House/Assembly Leaders (2010)

State Presiding IMajority Minority Other
Officer Leaders Leaders House/Assembly
$2/day plus

Alabama
$1,500/month

None None None
expense
allowance

Alaska $500/year None None None
Arizona None None None None
Arkansas None None None None

The speaker of
Second Rankingthe Assembly and

Pro Tern of the
They get They get Minority

California Senate each get $102,437.00 per $109,584 .00 Leaders receive

paid $109,584
year. per year. $102,437.00 per

.00 per year. year

iAll leaders All leaders iAll leaders All leaders
receive $99/day receive $99/day receive $99/day receive $99/day
salary during salary during salary during salary during

Colorado
interim when in interim when in interim when in interim when in
attendance at attendance at attendance at attendance at
committee or committee or committee or committee or
leadership leadership leadership leadership
matters. matters. ~atters. matters.

Dep. Spkr. ,
Dep. Maj. and
Min. Ldrs. ,

Connecticut $10,689 $8,835 $8,835
$6,446/yr.i
iAsst. Maj. and
lMin. Ldrs.i Maj
and Min. Whips
$4,241/yr.

Delaware $19,893 $12,376 $12,376
Maj. and Min.
Whips, $7,794

Florida $11,484 None None None

Governors Flr.
Ldr. ,
$200/monthi

Georgia $6, 812/month $200/month $200/month iAsst FIr. Ldr. ,
$100/monthi
Spkr. Pro Tern,
$400/month

Salary
differential

Hawaii for presiding None None None
officer is
$7,500/year.

Idaho
$4,000 (see #1

None lNone None
above)

Dpty. maj. and
Illinois $27,477 $23,300 $27,477 min. , $19,791i

Asst. maj. and



asst. min. ,
Imaj. & min.
conference
chair, $18,066

Speaker pro
tern, $5,000;
Maj. caucus
chair, $5,000;
min. caucus
chair, $4,500;

Indiana $6,500 $5,000 $5,500 Asst. min. flr.
Idr. , $3,500;
Asst. maj. flr.
Ldr, $1,000;
maj. whip,
$3,500; min.
whip, $1,500

Iowa $11,593 $11,593 $11,593
Speaker Pro
Tern, $1,243

Asst Maj. and

Kansas $14,039.22/year $12,665.64/year $12, 665. 64/year
Min. Ldrs. ,
Spkr. Pro Tern,
$7,165.34/yr

Maj. and Min.

Kentucky $46.51/day $36.73/day $36.73/day
Caucus Chairs &

~hips,

$28.15/day

Louisiana $32,000* None None
Spkr. Pro Tern,
$24,500*

~aine
150% of base 125% of base 112.5% of base None
salary salary salary

Maryland $13,OOO/year None None None

Asst. Maj. and
Min. Ldr. (and
2nd and 3rd

Massachusetts $35,000 $22,500 $22,500 asst. ) , and
Speaker Pro
Tern. , each
$15,000

Spkr. Pro tern,
$5,513; min.

Michigan $27,000
Position does

$22,000
FIr. Ldr. ,

not exist $10,000; Maj.
FIr. Ldr. ,
$12,000,

Minnesota 40% of base 40% of base 40% of base None
salary salary salary

Speaker of the
Speaker ProMississippi House: $60,000 None None

total salary;
Tern: $15,000

Missouri $208.34.rnonth $125/rnonth $125/rnonth None

Montana
$5/day during

None None None
session

Nebraska None None None None



Nevada $900 $900 $900
Spkr. Pro Tern,
$900

New Hampshire
$50/two-year

None None None
term

New Jersey
1/3 above

None None None
annual salary

New Mexico None None None None

31 leaders with
compensation

New York $41,500 $34,500 $34,500 ranging from
$9,000 to
$25,000

Speaker Pro

North
$38,151 and $17,048 and $17,048 and Tern, $21,739

Carolina $16,956 expense $7,992 expense $7,992 expense and $10,032
allowance allowance allowance expense

allowance
$lO/day during $10/day during
legislative legislative

~sst. Ldrs. ,
$10/day during sessions, $284 sessions, $284

$5/day during
North Dakota legislative ($298 effective ($298 effective

sessions 7/1/10) per 7/1/10) per
legislative

month during month during
sessions.

term of office. term of office.
Spkr Pro Tern
$86,165; Maj Minority Leader
Flr Leader $86,165;Asst
$81,163; Asst ~in Ldr Compensation

Ohio Speaker $94,437 Maj Flr Leader 78,668;Min for committee
$76,169; Maj ~hip, leadership
~hip $71,173; 71,173;Asst Min
~sst Maj Whip Whip, 63,381
$66,175

Oklahoma $17,932 $12,364 $12,364
Speaker Pro
Tern, $12,364

Speaker
receives

Oregon additional None None None
$21, 612/year in
salary

Maj. and Min.
yvhips, $25,945
Maj. and Min.
Caucus Chairs,
$16,177; Maj.
and Min. Caucus

Pennsylvania $43, 939/year $35,153/year $35, 153year Secretaries
$10,683; Maj.
and Min. Policy
Chairs,
$10,683; Maj.
and Min. Caucus
~drnin. , $10,683

Rhode Island Speaker of the None None None



House receives
double annual
rate for Reps.

South
Speaker Pro

Carolina
$l1,OOO/year None None Tem,

$3,600/year

South Dakota None None None None

Tennessee $57,027 None None None

Texas None None None None

Utah $3,000 $2,000 $2,000 ~hips and Asst.
Whips, $2,000

$704.00/week
during session

Vermont
plus an

None None None
additional
$10,894.00 in
salary

$8,000 addition $4,000 addition
$4,000

Virginia
to base salary to base salary

addition to None
[base salary

$49,280($8,000 $45,280($4,000
Washington additional to None additional to None

base salary) base salary)
The Chairman of
Finance &

Judiciary may
receive
$150.00/day up
to 30 days when

The Speaker may the Legislature
receive is not in
$150.00/day session or
when not in Imeeting for
session or

$50/day during $50/day during interims. Up to
West Virginia interim

committees not
session session six add'l people

meeting for named by

attending to presiding

legislative officer receive

business. $150 for a
maximum of 30
days when the
Legislature is
not in session
or meeting for
interims

Wisconsin $25/month None None None
4 salary days 4 salary days

Wyoming $3/day per month per month None
during interim during interim

Source: Nat~onal Conference of State Leg~slatures 2010



Table 2B - State Legislator Compensation- Additional Compensation for
Senate Leaders (2010)

State Presiding ~jority
~nority Leaders Other Senate LeadersOfficers Leaders

AL $2/day plus
$1,500/month

None None Noneexpense
allowance

AK $500/year None None None
AZ None None None None
AR None None None None
CA The Assembly The Senate and

Speaker and Assembly

Senate Pro Tern
~ajority They get $109,584

get the same.
leaders get

.00 per year. None
the same -

$109,584.00 per $102,437.00
year. per year.

CO All leaders All leaders
iAll leaders

receive receive
$99/day salary $99/day

receive $99/day All leaders receive

during interim salary during
salary during $99/day salary

when in interim when
interim when in during interim when

attendance at in attendance
attendance at in attendance at

committee at committee
committee or committee or

or
leadership leadership meetings

leadership or leadership
~eetings and meetings and

meetings and and committee

committee committee
committee ~eetings..

~eetings.. meetings ..
meetings.

CT Deputy min. and maj.
ldrs., $6,446/year;

$10,689 $8,835 $8,835
asst. maj. and min.
ldrs. and maj and
~in. whips
$4,241/year.

DE
$19,983 $12,376 $12,376

Maj. and min. whips
$7,794

FL $11,484 None None None

GA President pro tern,
$400/month; admin.

$200/month $200/month
flr. ldr. ,

none
$200/month; asst.
admin. flr. ldr. ,
$100/month

HI Salary
differential
for presiding None None None
officer is
$7,500/year.

ID $4,000 None None None

IL Dpty min. leader
$27,477 $20,649 $27,477 $20,649; Asst. maj.

and min. ldr. ,



$20,649; maj and
~in. caucus chair,
$20,649

IN ~sst. Pres. Pro Tern.
$3,000; Maj. Cauc.
Chairman $5,500; Asst.
~aj. Cauc. Chair
$1,500; Appropriations
Cornm. Ranking Maj. Mem.
$2,000; Tax & Fiscal

Maj. Floor
Min. Floor Ldr. Policy Ranking Maj.

Ldr. $5,500;
$6,000; Min. Asst. ~em. $2,000; Maj. Whip

President Pro
Asst. Maj.

Floor Ldr. $4,000; Asst. Maj. Whip
Tempore $7,000 $5,000;Min. Ldr. $2,000; Min. Cauc.

Floor Ldr.
Pro Tern. Emeritus Chair $5,000; Asst.

$3,500;
$1,500; Min. Cauc. Chair

$1,000; Approprations
Cornm. Ranking Min. Mem.
$2,000; Tax & Fiscal
Policy Ranking Min.
~em.$2,000; Min. Whip
$3,000; Asst. Min. Whip
$1,000

IA $11,593 $11,593 $11,593 Pres Pro Tern $1,243

KS Asst. maj. , min.
$14,039.22/yr $12,665.64/yr $12,665.64/yr ldrs. , vice pres.,

$7,165.34/yr.

KY Maj. , min. caucus
$46.51/day $ 3 6 . 73/day . $36.73/day chairs and whips,

$28.15/day.

LA
$32,000 None None

President Pro Tern,
$24,500

ME 150% of base 125% of base 112.5% of base
None

salary salary salary

MD $13,000/year None None None

MA f.sst. Maj. and Min.
Ldr. (and 2nd and

$35,000 $22,500 $22,500 3rd asst.), and
Pres. Pro Tern., each
$15,000

MI Maj. flr. ldr. ,
$5,513 $26,000 $22,000 $12,000; min. flr.

ldr. , $10,000

MN ~ssistant Majority

Additional
Leader -

f.dditional $4,152/year. Tax
None

compensation
compensation is Committee chair -

is 40% of
40% of base salary $4,152/year. Finance

base salary
Committee chair -
$4,152/year.

MS Lt.Gov. :
$60,000 total
salary; Pres. None None None
Pro Tern:
$15,000

MO None None None None



~T $5/day during
None None None

session
NE None None None None
NV $900 $900 $900 Pres. pro tem, $900
NH $50/two-year

None None None
term

NJ 1/3 above
None None Noneannual salary

NM None None None None
NY 22 other leaders

$41,500 None $34,500 with compensation
ranging from $13,000
to $34,000

NC $38,151 and $17,048 and
Deputy pro tem,

$16,956 $7,992 $17,048 and $7,992
expense expense expense allowance

$21,739 and $10,032

allowance allowance
expense allowance

NO $10/day
during

$10/day during
legislative

legislative
sessions,

sessions, $284 iAsst. ldrs. , $5/day
$284 ($298

None
effective

($298 effective during legislative

7/1/10)
7/1/10) per month sessions.

per
during term of

month during
office

term of
office.

OH President Pro
Tem $86,165;
Maj Fir
Leader Minority Leader Compensation for

President
$81,163; Asst $86,165;Asst. Min. committee

$94,437
Maj Fir Ldr 78,668; Min leadership. (See
Leader Whip 71,173; Asst Committee Chair
$76,169; Maj Min Whip 63,381 Table) .
Whip $71,173;
Asst Maj Whip
$66,175

OK $17,932 $12,364 $12,364 None

OR President
receives
additional None None None
$21, 612/year
in salary.

PA ~aj. and min. whips,
$26,678 maj. and
Imin. caucus chairs,
$16,634; maj. and

$43, 939/year $35, 153/year $35, 153/year Imin. caucus
secretaries $10,986;
maj. and min. policy
chairs, $10,986;
maj. and min. caucus
admin. , $10,986;



maj. and min. caucus
appropriations
committee chairs,
$26,678

RI Senate
President
receives

None None None
double the
annual rate
for Senators

SC Lt. Gov. holds
None None

President pro tem,
this position $11,000

SD None None None None

TN $57,027 None None None

TX None None None None

UT Maj. whip, Asst. Maj

$3,000 $2,000 $2,000
~hip, Min. whip and
iAsst. Min. Whip,
$2,000

VT Presiding
officer is Lt.
Governor who

None None None
is paid an
annual salary
$60,500.

VA $200/day for
$200/day for

Pres. Pro-temp.
None interim

interim business
$200/day for interim

~usiness business
WA

Lt. holds
$8,000

$4.000 additionalgov.
addition to None

this position
~ase salary

to base salary

WV The Chairman of
Finance & Judiciary
may receive
$150.00/day up to 30
days when the
Legislature is not
in session or

$150/day
$50/day

$50/day
meeting for

during
during interims. Up to six

during session
session

session
add'l people named by
presiding officer
receive $150 for a
rtaximum of 30 days
when the Legislature
is not in session or
rteeting for
interims.

WI None None None None

~Y 4 salary days
4 salary days

per month
per

$3/day ~onth during None
during

interim
interim

Source: Nat10nal Conference of State Legislatures 2010



Table 3 - Legislator Compensation- Additional Compensation for
Committee Chairs (2010)

State Additional Compensation For Committee Chairs

Alabama
$150/mo. each for House Ways and Means and Senate Finance.
and Taxation Chairs.

Alaska None
Arizona None

Arkansas
3600/year for committee chairs; $1800yr sub committee
chairs.

California None
Colorado None
Connecticut $4,241 for all committee chairs

$11,459 for Joint Finance Committee Chair; $4,578 Capital
Delaware Improvement Chair and Vice Chair; $4,578 Sunset Committee

Chair
Florida None
Georgia None
Hawaii None
Idaho None

Illinois
$10,327 for all committee chairs and minority
spokespersons

Indiana Committee Chairs - $1,000
Iowa None

Kansas
$11,289.98/year for Senate Ways and Means and House
iAppropriations Committee

Kentucky $18.71/day for standing committees only

Louisiana
$28,000/year for chairman and vice chairman of Joint
Budget Committee

Maine None
Maryland None
Massachusetts $7,500-$15,000/year for committee chairs
Michigan $7,000 for Appropriation Committee chairs

Minnesota
$35,292 for the Senate Tax Committee and Committee on
Finance

Mississippi None
Missouri None

~ontana None
Nebraska None
Nevada $900/flat amount for all standing committee chairs

New Hampshire None
New Jersey None
New Mexico None

New York
$9,000 to $34,000 for each committee chair set by statute
(see NY Legislative Law §5-a)

North
None

Carolina
North Dakota $5/day for all substantive standing committees

Ohio $6,500 for all committee chairs except Finance Chair, who



receives $10,000. Vice chairman receive $5,000 with the
Vice Chairman of Finance receiving $5,500.

Oklahoma $12,364 for Appropriations and Budget Committee Chairs

Oregon None
Pennsylvania None

Rhode Island None

South $600/interim expense allowance for committee chairs of the
Carolina House and Senate
South Dakota None

Tennessee None

Texas None
Utah $2,000 for Executive Appropriations Chair (Co-chair)
Vermont None
Virginia None
Washington None
West Virginia $150/day (max. 30 days) for Finance and Judiciary chairmen
Wisconsin None
Wyoming 4 salary days per month during interim
Source: Nat~onal Conference of State Leg~slatures 2010



Table 4 - Legislator Compensation- How Legislative Salaries Are
Determined (2010)

State How Leqislative Salaries Are Determined (Constitution,
Statutes, Compensation Commission, Etc) .

Alabama Constitutional Amendment 57

Alaska iAlaska Stat. §24.10.100 , §24.10.101;

Arizona Compensation Commission Send to a Public vote Arizona
Revised Statutes 41-1103 and 41-1904

Arkansas Amendment 70, Ark. Stat. Ann. §10-2-212 et seq.

California Art. IV, §4 ; Proposition 112; Cal. Gov. Code §8901 et seq.
Colorado Colorado Stat. 2-2-301 (1)

Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §2-9a ; The General Assembly takes
Connecticut independent action pursuant to recommendations of a

Compensation Commission.

Delaware Del. Code Ann. Title 29, §710 et seq. ; §§3301-3304; Are
implemented automatically if not rejected by resolution.

Florida §11.13(1), Florida Statutes; Statute provides members same
percentage increase as state employees

Georgia Ga. Code Ann. §45-7-4 and §28-1-8

iArt. III, §9 ; Commission recommendations take effect unless

Hawaii rejected by concurrent resolution or the governor. Any
change in salary that becomes effective does not apply to
the legislature to which the recommendation was submitted.

Idaho Citizens Commission; Idaho Code 67-406a and 406b

25 ILCS 120, Salaries set by Compensation Review Board. 25
Illinois ILCS 115; Tied to employment cost index, wages and salaries

for state and local government workers.

Indiana
IC 2-3-1-1: An amount equal to 18% of the annual salary of a
judge under IC 33-38-5-6, as adjusted under IC 33-38-5-8.1.

Iowa Iowa Code Ann. §2.10 ; Iowa Code Ann. §2A.1 thru 2A.5

Kansas Kan. Stat. Ann. §46-137a et seq. ; §75-3212

Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §6.226-229 ; The Kentucky committee has
Kentucky not met since 1995. The most recent pay raise was initiated

and passed by the General Assembly.
Louisiana La. Rev. Stat. 24:31 & 31.1

Maine Constitution Article IV, Part Third, §7 and 3 MRSA, §2
and 2-A; Increase in compensation is presented to the

~aine legislature as legislation, the legislature must enact and
the Governor must sign into law. Takes effect only for
subsequent legislatures.

iArt. III, §15 ; Commission meets before each four-year term

Maryland of office and presents recommendations to the General
~ssembly for action. Recommendations may be reduced or
rejected.

Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 3, §§9,10 ; In 1998, the voters
passed a legislative referendum that starting with the 2001

Massachusetts session, members will receive an automatic increase or
decrease according to the median household income for the
commonwealth for the proceeding 2-year period.



Art. IV §12; Compensation Commission recommends, legislature

Michigan by majority vote must approve or reduce for change to be
effective the session immediately following the next general
election.

Compensation council makes a recommendation. Must be

Minnesota
approved by legislature and Governor. Does not go into
effect until after next election of the House. MN Statutes,
Section 15A.082.

Mississippi Miss. Code Ann. 5-1-41

~issouri
iArt. III, §§16, 34 ; Mo. Ann. Stat. §21.140 ; Recommendations
are adjusted by legislature or governor if necessary.

Montana Mont. Laws 5-2-301; Tied to executive broadband pay plan.

Nebraska Neb. Const. Art. III, §7 ; Neb. Rev. Stat. 50-123.01

Nevada §218.210-§218.225
New Hampshire iArt. XV, part second
New Jersey Statute. NJSA 52:10A-1

New Mexico Art. IV. §10 ; 2-1-8 NMSA

New York Art. 3, §6 ; Consolidated Laws of NY Ann. 32-2-5a

North
N.C.G.S. 120-3

Carolina

North Dakota
Statutes 54-03-10 and 54-03-20; legislative compensation
commission 54-03-19.1

Ohio Art. II, §31; Ohio Rev. Code Ann. title 1 ch. 101.27 thru
101.272

Oklahoma
Okla. Stat. Ann. title 74, §291 et seq. ; Art V, §21; Title
74, §291. 2 et seq. ; Legislative Compensation Board.

Oregon Or. Rev. Stat. §171. 072

Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. 46 PS §5; 65 PS §366.1 et seq. ;
Pennsylvania Legislators receive annual cost of living increase that is

tied to the Consumer Price Index.

Rhode Island Art. VI, §3
South S.C. Code Ann. 2-3-20 and the annual General Appropriations
Carolina iAct.

South Dakota
Art. III, §6 and Art. XXI, §2 ; S.D. Codified Laws Ann.
§20402 et seq.

Tennessee Art. I I, §23 ;Tenn. Code Ann. §3-1-106 et seq.

Art. III, §24 ; In 1991 a constitutional amendment was
approved by voters to allow Ethics Commission to recommend

Texas the salaries of members. Any recommendations must be
approved by voters to be effective. The provision has yet to
be used.

Utah Art. VI, §9; Utah Code Ann. §36-2-2, et seq.

Vermont Vt. Stat. Ann. tit 32,§1051 and §1052

[virginia iArt. IV, §5; Va. Code Ann. §30-19.1l thru §30-19.14 ;

iArt. II, §23; §43.03.060 ; Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §43.03.028;

twashington Salary commission sets salaries of legislature and other
state officials based on market study and input from
citizens.



Art. 6, §33i W. Va. Code §4-2A-l et seq. i Submits by
resolution and must be concurred by at least four members of

West Virginia the commission. The Legislature must enact the resolution
into law and may reduce, but shall not increase, any item
established in such resolution.

Sections 20.923 and 230.12, Wis. Statutes, created by
Chapter 90, Laws of 1973, and amended by 1983 Wis. Act 27
and Wis. Act 33, provide the current procedure for setting

Wisconsin salaries of elected state officials. Generally, compensation
is determined as part of the state compensation plan for
non-represented employees and is approved by vote of the
joint committee on employment relations.

!Wyoming Iwyo. Stat. §28-5-l0l thru §28-5-l05
Source: Nat10nal Conference of State Leg1s1atures 2010



Table 5 - State Legislator Compensation- Mileage, Phone, and Credit
Card Allowances (2010)

State Mileage Allowance
Phone Allowance Credit Card

iAllowance
lO¢/mile for a
single roundtrip per

Yes - official stateAlabama session; 50.5¢/mile
business only

No
for interim
committee attendance

!Alaska
50¢/mile for travel Yes - legislative
approved business only

No

!Arizona
44.5¢/mile on actual

No No
miles

Arkansas 50.5.¢/mile No No

Members are provided Yes - official
California a vehicle. Mileage

Yes - official state
state business

is not reimbursed.
business only.

only.
46¢ or 48¢ if 4wd

Yes official state-Colorado vehicle. Actual
business only

No
~iles paid.

Yes. Official
fbusiness only;

Connecticut 50¢/mile charges for personal No
calls are reimbursed
by legislator

Yes - official
Delaware 40¢/mile

business only
No.

Florida
44.5¢/mile for

No No
business travel

50¢/mile Ga. Code
Ann. §50-19-7 sets
rate of

Georgia
reimbursement at the

No No
same mileage rate
established by the
US General Services
Administration

House members who
reside on an
island other than
Oahu [Capitol)
are issued credit
cards with a
limit of

Yes - official
BOO/month for

Hawaii None business only
travel to their
home island [1
r/t per week
during the
session and
during interim
periods) . Account
statements must
be reconciled and



official travel
Imust be
substantiated
~ith appropriate
documentation.

One roundtrip per Yes - during session
Idaho

week at state rate only
No

Illinois
50¢ /milei tied to

No No
federal rate

Indiana 55/mile No lNo
Iowa 39¢/mile No No

Yes - if monthly bill
50¢/milei set by

exceeds $200,
May request Visa

Kansas Department of
leadership is

cardi state pays
Administration

notified
annual fee only

Kentucky
50.5¢/mile based on

No Nofederal mileage rate

Yes - district office
Louisiana

50¢/mile tied to
line with one No

federal rate
extension

Pre-paid phone cards

Maine 44¢/mile.
are issued to Members

No
of the Senate and the
House.

Maryland 50¢/mile for
No No

authorized events
Between $10-$100,

Massachusetts determined by
No No

distance from State
House

Michigan ¢50 per mile as of Official business
No01-01-2010 only

Reimbursed at
federal mileage rate House Members - $75
for one trip per per month
week during session communication

Minnesota (for non-local allowance. Senators - No
Members) and for $125 per month
needed business communication
travel during allowance.
interim
48.5¢/mile;

Mississippi determined by
Yes NoFederal Register and

Legislature

Yes, phone cards
issued but

Missouri 47¢/mile expenditures deducted No
from monthly expense
allowance

50¢/milei Rate is
~ased on IRS rate. Yes - leadershipMontana
Reimbursement for positions only

No

actual mileage



traveled in
connection with
legislative business

50.5¢/mile; tied to Yes - official
Nebraska

federal rate business only
No

Nevada
Federal rate,

$2,800 allowance No
currently 50.5¢/mile

Round trip home to
State House @

38¢/mile for first
45 miles and
19¢/mile thereafter;

New Hampshire or members will be No No
reimbursed for
actual expenses and
mileage will be paid
at the maximum IRS
!mileage rate

Gas cards if

Top leadership with
they are using
state-leased or

New Jersey state cars get gas None for Assembly
state-owned

credit cards.
vehicles. None
for Senate.

New Mexico
50.5¢/mile; tied to No No
federal rate

~T&T calling cards

New York 50¢/mile
offered to every

NoSenator and limited to
official business

29¢/mile, 1 round
trip/week during Allowance of $2,275

North session; 1 round for postage,
No

Carolina trip for attendance stationery and
at interim cmte. telephone
!mtgs.

50¢/milei one round
Only Legislative

North Dakota trip/week during
Council members or

No
chairmen of interim

session cmtes.

40¢/milei one round
trip/week from home

State-related phone
Ohio to Statehouse for

calls only
No

legislators outside
Franklin County only

Senate Members

50¢/mile; tied to
receive phone credit

Oklahoma card for state- No
federal rate related business use

away from Capitol.
State-provided office

50¢/mile
and district office

NoOregon phone for legislative
business only



Pennsylvania
Rate is tied to

No No
federal rate

Rhode Island
40.5¢/mile to and

No No
from session

South
34.5¢/mile

Official business
No

Carolina only
37¢/mile for one
round trip from
Pierre to home each Telephone allowance:
weekend. One trip is $600/6 month for

South Dakota also paid at legislators and No
5¢/mile. During the $900/6 months for
interim, 37¢/mile leadership
for scheduled
committee meetings.

Phone Cards for in-
Tennessee 54¢/mile state long distance No.

(only) .

50¢/mile set by
Comptroller's Office
same for all state Members are
employees; an eligible for

Texas allowance for No Master Card
single, twin and cards for
turbo engines at official use.
$1.24/mile is also
given

50¢/mile, round trip
No; All members are

Utah issued Blackberry Nofrom home to capitol
phones

Federal mileage
rate, now about

Leaders forVermont 50¢/mile, state
legislative business

No
employee
reimbursement rate

Virginia 50¢/mile Yes No

Washington 50¢/mile
For legislative calls

No
only

40.5¢/mile based on
lWest Virginia Dept of Adm. travel Yes No

Regs.

Members office
expenses, including
phone expense, are

48.5¢/mile for in- limited to the amount
district business of each

Wisconsin mileage plus one Senator's/Representat No
round trip/week to ive's office budget,
Capitol as established by the

committees on Senate
and Assembly
organization

Wyoming 50¢/mile Telephone credit card
No

for official business



lonlY with a $2,000
llffilt durlng 2 yrs.

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures 2010



Table 6 - State Legislator Compensation- Forms of Transportation Offered To
State Legislators (2010)

State Transportation Offered To State Legislators
.Alabama None

iAlaska No

iArizona iAccess to motor pool for legislative trips only
iArkansas None

California
Members are provided a vehicle, which they pay a portion of the
payment.

Colorado No
Connecticut None

Delaware No
Florida rental cars for official business
Georgia No

Neighbor Island members are allowed 1 round trip from their home
Hawaii island every week--during session and during the interim.

Additional trips are allowed when authorized by the Speaker.
Idaho No
Illinois No
Indiana No
Iowa No
Kansas No
Kentucky State cars are available but not assigned to members.
Louisiana None

Maine None
Maryland None
Massachusetts No
Michigan None
Minnesota Reimbursement for approved travel.

Mississippi None

Missouri No

Montana Limited access to state owned cars.

Nebraska No

Nevada
Motor pool or private; legislative police shuttle to/from Reno
airport

New Hampshire No

New Jersey
Top leadership get state cars. (Assembly Speaker, Assembly
Majority and Minority Leaders)

New Mexico No

New York Top leadership has access to vehicles

North
No

Carolina
North Dakota None

Ohio No

Oklahoma None

Oregon No

Pennsylvania
Business mileage reimbursement or use fleet lease vehicle from
Department of General Services.



Rhode Island No

South
None

Carolina

South Dakota None

In lieu of mileage, members residing greater than 100 miles from

Tennessee
the seat of government may be reimbursed for coach class airline
fare for attendance at session or committee meetings. Limited to
one round trip per week during session.

Texas No
Utah None

Vermont None
Virginia No
Washington None
West Virginia No
Wisconsin None
Wyoming None
Source: Natlonal Conference of State Leglslatures 2010



Table 7 - Legislator Compensation- Legislator Compensation for Office
Supplies, District Offices and Staffing (2010)

State Office Supplies, District Offices and Staffing.

iAlabama
None, although annual appropriation to certain positions
~ay be so allocated.

Senators receive $10,000/year and Representatives receive

iAlaska
$8,000/year for postage, stationery and other legislative
expenses. Staffing allowance determined by rules and
~residing officers, depending on time of year.

iArizona None.

Legislators may receive reimbursement of up to $14,400
annually for legislative expenses incurred. Standing
subcommittee chairs and committee chairs may receive an

Arkansas additional annual expense reimbursements of up to $1,800
and $3,600, respectively. Legislators who formally decline
to receive per diem and mileage reimbursements may receive
additional annual expensive reimbursements of up to
$10,200.

California Based on the size of their districts.
Colorado None.

Connecticut
Senators receive $5,500 and Representatives receive $4,500
in unvouchered expense allowance.

Delaware Reimbursement provided for office expenses.
Senate $3,244/month for district office expenses with 4

Florida staff. House $2, 482/month for district office expenses.
Speaker $3,408 and Seriate President $3,567
$7,000/year reimbursable expense account. If the member

Georgia
requests and provides receipts, the member is reimbursed
for personal services, office equipment, rent, supplies,
transportation, telecommunications, etc.
There is no set dollar amount for office supplies. All
supplies are provided by the House Supply room. Any item not
carried in the Supply Room may be purchased with statutory
legislative allowance funds which is currently $10,200/year.
House members do not have district offices. With the

Hawaii
exception of the Speaker's Office and Majority and Minority
Leadership offices, the House Finance, Judiciary and Consumer
Protection offices, each House Majority and Minority member
is allowed 1 permanent full-time Office Manager. During the
session each committee chair receives $5,100/month for
temporary staff salaries, and all other members receive
$4,800 month.

Idaho
$1,700/year for unvouchered constituent expense. No
staffing allowance.

Senators receive $83,063/year and Representatives
Illinois $69,409/year for office expenses, including district

offices and staffing.

Indiana
All of these come out of one main Senate budget. We do not
have district offices.

Iowa
$300/month to cover district constituency postage, travel,
telephone and other expenses. No staffing allowance.

Kansas
$7,083/year which is taxable income to the legislators.
Staffing allowances vary for leadership who have their own



budget. Legislators provided with secretaries during session
only.

Kentucky $1,788.51 for district expenses during interim.

$500/month. Senators and Representatives receive an
additional $,1500 supplemental allowance for vouchered

Louisiana office expenses, rent, travel mileage in district.
Senators and Representatives staff allowance $2,000/month
starting salary up to $3,000 with annual increases.

Maine
None. However, supplies for staff offices are provided and
paid for out of general legislative account.
Each member receives an annual district office allowance. For
Fy 2010 the district office allowances are: House members -
$39,894 Senate members - $33,395 In addition each Senator is
provided with 1 full time administrative aide funded by the

Maryland Senate. Finally, selected House leadership position holders
receive from $845 to $3,471 in additional district office
allowance funds annually, and selected Senate leadership
position holders receive an additional $1,471 in additional
district office allowance funds annually.

Massachusetts $7,200/yearly for office expenses ..

Michigan
$51,800 per majority Senator for office budget $51,800 for
minority Senator for office budget
No district offices. Supples provided in State Capitol. In

Minnesota the House, Staffing provided centrally. For Senators, one
legislative assistant plus $75/week for interns.

Mississippi rA total of $1,500 month out of session.

Missouri $800/month to cover all reasonable and necessary busines·s
expenses.

Montana None.

Nebraska
No allowance; however, each member is provided with two
full-time capitol staff year-round.

Nevada None.
New Hampshire None.

New Jersey $1,250 for office supplies; district office varies by
location within state; $110,000 for staffing

New Mexico None.

Staff allowance set by majority leader for majority
Imembers and by minority leader for minority members. Staff

New York allowance covers both district and capitol; geographic
location; seniority and leadership responsibilities will
cause variations.

North Non-leaders receive $6,708/year for any legislative

Carolina expenses not otherwise provided. Full-time secretarial
assistance is provided during session.

North Dakota None.
Ohio None.

Oklahoma
$350/year for unvouchered office supplies plus five rolls
of stamps.

Session office supplies= $15.50 per day Interim office
allowance= none Interim district office expense allowance

Oregon $450-750 per month depending on geographic size of district.
Session staffing allowance= $4,858 per month Interim staffing
allowance= $3,327 per month



Pennsylvania Staffing is determined by leadership.

Rhode Island None.

Senate $3,400/year. for postage, stationary and telephone.
South House $1,800/year. for telephone and $600/year. for
Carolina postage. Legislators also receive $I , OOO/month for in

district expenses that is treated as income.
South Dakota None.

Tennessee $I,OOO/month for expenses in district (U) .
Approved allowance for staff salaries and staff travel. Other

Texas expenses such as supplies, stationery, postage, district
office rental, telephone expense, etc, provided as needed

Utah None.
Vermont None.

Legislators receive $1,250/monthi leadership receives

Virginia
$1,750/month office expense allowance. Legislators receive
a staffing allowance of $37, 871/yeari leadership receives
$56,804/year.
Maximum of $7,BOO/yr for legislative expense reimbursement.

Washington Legislative staff are paid directly so there is no staffing
allowance.

West Virginia None.
$12,000 for 2 year session in the Assembly. N/A staffing, DO.

lWisconsin
$45,000 for two year period for office expenses. In Senate,
$55,955 office budget for 2 year session and $204,577 staff
salary budget to fund 2 staff persons.

lWyoming
Up to $750 quarter through the constituent service
allowance.

Source: Nat~onal Conference of State Leg~slatures 2010



Table SA - State Legislator Compensation- Health, Dental, and Optical
Benefits (2010)

State Health ~ental Optical
AL Same as state

employees, Same as state employees,
optional at optional at legislator's Not available
legislator's expense
expense

AI< State pays Optional at
!portion, State pays portion, legislator's expense;
legislator pays legislator pays portion unless included in
portion Health Ins.

AZ Same as state Same as state employee Same as state employee
employee plan plan plan

rAR Same as available
Optional at legislator's Optionalto other state at

employees.
expense legislator's expense

CA State pays State pays portion, State pays portion,

[portion, legislator pays portion. legislator pays portion.

legislator
Member pays extra for an Member pays extra for

pays enhanced plan if they the enhanced plan if
portion want it. they want it.

CO State pays
portion, State pays portion,
legislator pays legislator pays portion,

Not available
portion; amount amount differs according
differs according to plan selected.
to plan selected

CT State pays
Some health insuranceportion, State pays portion,
plans include discounts

legislator pays legislator pays portion
portion

on eyewear.

DE State pays
portion,
legislator pays
portion. After Optional at legislator's Optional at
three months the expense legislator's expense
state pays entire
amount for basic
plan.

FL State pays full
State pays full amount

Optional at
amount legislator's expense

GA Same as state
employee plan. Legislator pays. This is Legislator pays. This
State pays an optional benefit is an optional benefit
portion, offered once a year offered once a year
legislator pays during open enrollment. during open enrollment.
portion.

HI State pays
State pays portion, State pays portion,portion, legislator pays portion. legislator pays portion.

legislator pays Legislators have the same Legislators have the
portion.

dental care options as same eye care options as
Legislators have legislative employees. legislative employees.
the same



healthcare options
as legislative
employees.

ID State pays
portion, State pays portion,

Not available
legislator pays legislator pays portion
portion

IL State pays
portion, State pays portion, State pays portion,
legislator pays legislator pays portion legislator pays portion
portion

IN State legislators
are offered the State legislators are State legislators are
same health offered the same dental offered the same vision
coverage as the coverage as regular State coverage as regular
regular State employees. State employees.
employees.

IA State pays
portion, State pays portion,

Not available
legislator pays legislator pays portion
portion

KS State pays
State pays for

portion,
legislator, legislator

Optional at
legislator pays legislator's expense
portion

pays dependent coverage

KY State pays single
portion, Optional at legislator's Optional at
legislator pays expense legislator's expense
dependent portion

;LA State pays 50%, State pays 50%,
legislator pays legislator pays 50% Legislator pays 100%
50% Senators pay 100%

~ Legislators are
eligible to
participate in POS
health insurance
program provided
for State Legislators are eligible
employees. State to participate in dental Legislators are eligible
pays 95% of insurance plan provided to participate in vision
legislator for State employees. insurance program but is
coverage with State pays 100% of 100% legislator-paid.
potential for. legislator coverage only.
application of 5%
wellness
incentive, and 50%
of dependent
coverage.

MD Same as state
employee plan;
state subsidizes

Optional; Same state
80% to 85%

as
Covered under medical

depending on the
employee plan; state

plan
plan selected;

subsidizes 50%

legislator/employ
ee pays 20% for



PPO; 17% for POS
or 15% for HMO.

MA State pays
iPortion State pays portion, State pays portion,
(currently 80%) ,

legislator pays portion legislator pays portion
legislator pays
portion

HI Health, vision,
life, cancer,

Included in cafeteria Included in cafeteria
iPrescription, plan plan
offered via
cafeteria plan

~ The same optional

State pays 90% for
coverage as state

Same as State
single coverage and 50%

employees. STD, LTD,
employees

for family coverage.
Optional Life (Member,
Spouse, & Child), AD&D,
& Long term care.

~ State pays full
amount of Optional at legislator's

Not available
legislator only expense
premiums

~ State pays
portion, Optional at legislator's Optional at
legislator pays expense legislator's expense
portion

MT State pays full
amount of State pays full amount of
legislator's
benefits. legislator's dental. They have an option to

Dependents are
Dependents are their purchase.

their responsibility

responsibility.

~ Optional at
Optional at legislator's Optional at

legislator's
expense legislator's expense

expense

NV Optional at
Optional at legislator's Optional at

legislator's
expense legislator's expense

expense

~ Optional at
Optional at legislator's

legislator's Not available
expense

expense

~J Same as regular Same as regular state Same as regular state
state employees employees employees

NM Not available Not available Not available

NY State pays
portion, State pays full cost for State pays full cost for
legislator pays enrollment enrollment
portion

NC State pays full
amount for

Optional at legislator's Optional at
legislator;
optional family

expense legislator's expense

coverage at



legislator's
expense

ND State pays health
insurance premium
for legislators Optional at legislator's Optional at
choosing the expense legislator's expense
state health
plan.

OH State pays 85%;
legislator pays State pays full amount State pays full amount
15%

PK Health insurance
allowance ranging
from $608.57 for Same state employees Same state employees
Legislator only to as as

$1,596.95 per benefit plan. benefit plan.

month for entire
family.

OR Management Service
benefit package, Same as all other State Same as all other state
same as all other employees in all employees in all
state employees in branches. branches
all branches.

PA Medical/hospital, Medical/hospital, dental, Medical/hospital,
dental, vision, dental, vision, Rx.
Rx. Senate members vision, Rx. Senate Senate members and
and employee pays members and employee pays

employee pays 1% of
1% of salary for 1% of salary for health

salary for health
health benefits.

benefits.
benefits.

RI Legislators
receive the same Legislators receive the Legislators receive
health insurance same dental insurance as same optical insurance
as state state employees as state employees
employees.

se State pays
portion, State pays portion,

Not available
legislator pays legislator pays portion
portion

SO Not available Not available Not available
TN State pays 80%,

Optional legislator's
legislator pays at

Not available
20% expense

TX State pays full
amount--same as Optional at legislator's Included in health
for state expense coverage
employees

UT State pays
portion, State pays portion, State pays portion,
legislator pays legislator pays portion legislator pays portion
portion

VT Optional at
legislator's Not available Not available
expense

VA State pays State pays portion, State pays portion,
portion, legislator pays portion legislator pays portion



legislator pays
portion

~ Same as all state
employees. State
lPays portion; State pays full amount Included in medical
legislator pays
portion.

~ Optional at Optional at legislator's Optional at
legislator's

expense legislator's expense
expense

IWI State pays
Iportion,
legislator pays
portion. Benefits

Some HMOs
Optional at

cover
are the same as legislator's expense
those offered to
general state
employees.

IWY Not available Not available Not available
Source: Nat~onal Conference of State Leg~slatures 2010



Table 8B - Legislator Compensation-Disability Insurance Offered To
State Legislators (2010)

State Disability Insurance
IAlabama Not available

IAlaska Optional; if selected is included in health insurance
Arizona Same as state employee plan.

IArkansas Optional at legislator's expense
California State pays full amount

Colorado Not available

Connecticut Optional at legislator's expense
Delaware Not available

Florida State pays full amount.

Georgia
Long Term and Short Term. This is an optional benefit
offered once a year during open enrollment.

Hawaii Legislators and legislative employees have the same options
as all other State employees.

Idaho State pays portion, legislator pays portion
Illinois State pays full amount

Indiana State legislators are not offered disability insurance
Iowa State pays full amount

Kansas State pays full amount

Kentucky Optional at legislator's expense
Louisiana Optional at legislator's expense
Maine Not available
Maryland Not available

Massachusetts Optional at legislator's expense

lMichigan Not available

lMinnesota Optional at legislator's expense

Mississippi None

Missouri State pays full amount

Montana Not available

Nebraska Optional at legislator's expense

Nevada Optional at legislator's expense

New Hampshire Not available

New Jersey It depends on the retirement plan they are enrolled in.

New Mexico Not available

New York State pays full amount

North
Optional at legislator's

Carolina
expense

North Dakota Optional at legislator's expense

Ohio Not available

Oklahoma Same as state employees benefit plan

Oregon Available as an option legislator paid

Pennsylvania None

Rhode Island Optional at legislator's expense

South
State pays portion, legislator pays portion

Carolina



South Dakota
State pays full amt for accidental death/dismemberment ins
only

Tennessee None offered by the state
Texas Optional at legislator's expense
Utah State pays full amount

Vermont Not available

Virginia
State pays full amount. Only permanent disability
retirement through retirement system

Washington State pays portion, legislator pays portion
West Virginia Not available

Wisconsin Optional at legislator's expense
Wyoming Not available
Source: Natlonal Conference of State Legislatures 2010



Table 8C - Legislator Compensation- State Legislator Life Insurance
Benefits (2010)

State ~ife Insurance Benefits
Alabama Not available

Alaska
Small policy available; additional is optional at
legislator's expense.

Arizona
State pays 15K policy; additional amount is paid by
legislator.

f\rkansas
State provides $10,000 coverage with option to purchase
greater amount.

California
State pays portion, legislator pays portion. Member pays
extra for an enhanced plan if they want it.

Colorado
State pays full amount for $12,000 policy; additional is
optional at legislator's expense.

Connecticut Optional at legislator's expense.

Delaware Optional at legislator's expense.

Florida State pays full amount.

Georgia
Legislator pays. This is an optional benefit offered once
a year during open enrollment.

Hawaii
State pays portion/legislator pays portion. Legislators have
the same insurance benefit as legislative employees.

Idaho State pays portion, legislator pays portion.

Illinois State pays portion; legislator pays portion.

Indiana State legislators are offered the same life insurance options
as regular State employees.

Iowa
State pays first $20,000, additional at legislator
expense.

Kansas
150% of annual salary if part of KPERS. Additional
insurance is optional at legislator's expense.

Kentucky
State pays for $20,000; extra available at legislator's
expense.

Louisiana State pays half; legislator pays half.
Legislators are eligible to participate in a group life

Maine insurance program for coverage in amount' equal to
legislator's salary but is 100% legislator-paid.

Maryland Term insurance; optional at legislator's expense.

Massachusetts
$5,000 policy provided; Additional up to 8 times salary at
Legislator's expense.

Michigan Offered at different levels as part of cafeteria plan.

Minnesota State pays premium for benefit of $35,000.

iMississippi State pays half/legislator pays half.

Missouri
State pays full amount. Additional amounts are optional at
legislator's expense.

Montana
State pays $14,000 term policy. Additional at legislator's
expense.

Nebraska Optional at legislator's expense.

Nevada Optional at legislator's expense.

New Hampshire Not available
It depends on the retirement plan they are enrolled in. If

New Jersey they are enrolled in the state pension plan then it is the



same as regular state employees.

New Mexico Not available

New York Optional at member's expense.

North
Optional at legislators

Carolina
expense.

North Dakota State pays for $1,300 term life policy.

~ount equal to salary; premium paid by state. Member may
Ohio ~>urchase a supplemental policy, which is also offered to

state employees.

Oklahoma Same as state employees benefit plan.

Oregon iAvailable as an option, legislator paid.

Pennsylvania Equal to salary to maximum of $150,000.

Rhode Island Optional at legislator's expense.

South
State pays portion, legislator pays portion.

Carolina

South Dakota Not available
Tennessee State pays $15,000; Legislator pays $7,000.

Texas Optional at legislator's expense.

Utah State pays full amount.

Vermont Not available
Virginia State pays portion, legislator pays portion.
~ashington State pays portion, legislator pays portion.

twest Virginia Optional at legislator's expense.

~isconsin Optional at legislator's expense.

~yoming Not available
Source: National Conference of State Legislatures 2010




