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Section 39-04-18 subsection 2 (c )(e) provides temporary registrations are required if a non resident of
the state is gainfully employed or stationed in the state. The operator must state the duration of gainful
employment. Multiple months up to twelve can be acquired at one given time. If the non-resident is
still gainfully employed the temporary registration privileges may be extended.

Section 39-04-21 provides that temporary motor vehicle registratiohs are to be issued in such manner as
prescribed by the director of the Department of Transportation.

Currently license fees are based on type of vehicle being registered.
a. Trailers (does not include travel trailers): $5.00 per month plus the $3.00 permit fee plus a branch
fee if handled by the branch office
b. Passenger Motor Vehicles and Trucks with Registered Gross Vehicle Weight less than 22,000 Ibs:
$10.00 per month plus $3.00 Permit fee plus a branch fee if handled by the branch office.
c. Trucks- Registered gross weight of 22,000 or greater are required to use the current motor vehicle
fee schedules in 39-04-19 plus a $3 permit fee plus a branch fee if handled by the branch office.

A branch office service fee of $3-$7 will be due in addition to the registration fee if the operator acquires
their temporary registration at any one of our twenty locations. Temporary permits may also be
purchased from the MV Central Office, the North Dakota Highway Patrol and some Sheriff Departments
at no additional cost. (would you confirm with the Col regarding additional cost)

Section 39-04-18 lists all the exemptions to registrations requirements:
a. Examples of these would be implements of husbandry, construction equipment, cranes,
concrete pump trucks, work over rigs, government owned, non-resident military personnel,
etc.

Non-resident motor carriers may be licensed under the International Registration Plan (IRP) which
prorates fees based on miles traveled in the jurisdictions (Section 39-19-04). The license plate and cab
card indicates whether the truck is registered under the IRP. The International Fuel Tax Agreement
(IFTA) allocates funds based on where the fuel is burned. The truck will have an IFTA decal on its doors
and an IFTA paper credential (Section 57-43.2-37). The Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) program is a
federal motor carrier safety program the carrier must alse be enrolled in through their base state
(Section 39-19-06). Non-resident motor carriers have the option of purchasing trip (Section 39-04-19)
and fuel (57-43.2-39) permits from the North Dakota Highway Patrol

Temporary Registrations must be displayed in a vehicle window visible to law enforcement.

Violations: NDCC 39-04-18.1 provides the owner pay the annual registration fee when in violation of 39-
04-18 subsection 2 (c)(e). Law enforcement would site under 39-04-37 subsection 1 however; there is no
fine or points assessed to this violation. There is a catch all penalty provision in NDCC 39-04-41 in which
they may be guilty of a class B misdemeanor.



