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VEHICLE REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS FOR NONRESIDENTS 
TEMPORARILY EMPLOYED IN THE STATE 

 

 

This memorandum provides information regarding 
motor vehicle registration requirements in selected 
states for nonresidents temporarily employed in the 
state. 

 
NORTH DAKOTA 

North Dakota Century Code Section 39-04-18 
provides that nonresidents generally do not need to 
license motor vehicles in the state except if the owner 
or operator is gainfully employed or stationed in the 
state.  Section 39-04-21 provides that temporary 
motor vehicle registrations are to be issued in such 
manner as prescribed by the director of the 
Department of Transportation.  Current fees charged 
for a North Dakota temporary license permit are 
$10 per month plus a $3 permit fee for passenger 
vehicles and trucks under 22,000 pounds.  Permits 
may be issued for one month up to one year and can 
be renewed as often as is necessary.  If a nonresident 
establishes residency in the state, the permit is no 
longer valid. 

 
WYOMING 

Wyoming statute provides that any nonresident 
owner, lessee, or operator of a vehicle that is not a 
commercial vehicle and is employed in the state on a 
temporary basis may purchase a temporary worker 
motor vehicle registration permit in lieu of regular 
registration requirements.  To be eligible for the 
temporary worker registration permit, the vehicle must 
be registered in another state and be properly insured.  
The fee for a temporary worker permit is $50 per 
month, and the temporary registration may not exceed 
120 days per vehicle. 

 
MONTANA 

Montana law provides that a person may not 
operate a motor vehicle that is registered in another 
jurisdiction on Montana highways if the vehicle is used 
for hire, compensation, or profit or is used by a person 
engaged in gainful occupation or business enterprise 
in the state unless the motor vehicle is registered in 
Montana.  The nonresident owner of the motor vehicle 
used for employment purposes must pay the 

appropriate registration fees at a prorated rate.  
Nonresident vehicle owners are able to register by 
calendar quarter, and the vehicle must display the 
license plates of both the home state and Montana. 

 
SOUTH DAKOTA 

South Dakota statutes generally provide that 
persons residing in the state for more than 90 days 
are considered residents of the state for motor vehicle 
registration purposes.  However, nonresidents 
required to apply for registration may apply for an 
interstate title certificate that allows their vehicle to be 
registered on a temporary basis in South Dakota.  The 
nonresident applying for the interstate title certificate 
must submit a permit application and a copy of a valid 
title or registration from another jurisdiction, plus all 
applicable fees due.  The registration rates under this 
provision are generally the same as the resident rates.  

 
REGISTRATION FEES 

The following table provided by the Department of 
Transportation compares information regarding 
2008 motor vehicle registration fees in selected states 
for certain vehicles: 

2008 Motor Vehicle Registration Fee Comparison

State 
Fee 

Type1 

2007 
Ford 

Taurus - 
3,415 

Pounds 

2007
¾ Ton 

Pickup - 
12,000 

Pounds 
Gross 
Weight 

North Dakota State fee $93 $142
Montana State fee2 $328 $217
South Dakota State fee $42 $55
Wyoming County fee3 $299 $506
1Other fees and taxes may apply to vehicles based on state 
or local tax and fee regulations. 

2A flat fee is charged by the state plus additional fees may 
be charged by the county the vehicle is registered in.  
Montana registration rates are based on vehicles registered 
in Deer Lodge. 

3Wyoming registration rates are based on vehicles 
registered in Laramie County. 

 


