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June 10, 2010

Administrative Rules Committee
North Dakota Legislative Council
State Capitol Building

600 East Boulevard Ave
Bismarck, ND 58505-0360

Dear Committee Members:

Our agency is solely responsible for the administration of the North Dakota Real
Estate License Law and Administrative Code governing the conduct of real estate
licensees. The commission does not receive any federal or state funding to
maintain our agency.

Five of the rule changes adopted by the North Dakota Real Estate Commission
are the result of statutory changes made by the 2009 Legislative Assembly.

43-23-08.2 of the North Dakota Century Code was amended to authorize the Real
Estate Commission to establish the conditions for continuing education for real
estate licenses by determining the required number of hours, the frequency and
conditions of reporting requirements, and all other terms and conditions of
continuing education compliance. Section 70-02-01-05(4) on page 234 and
Sections 70-02-04-02, 70-02-04-13, 70-02-04-15 and 70-02-04-16 on pages 240
and 241 were adopted in accordance with this statute.

The North Dakota Real Estate Commission in exercising its rule making authority
used the following procedure:

Advance notice of the rules hearing was published in the Winter 2009 issue of
the North Dakota Real Estate News and Views, the official publication of
the North Dakota Real Estate Commission which is mailed to each licensee in
the state of North Dakota and to those licensees who hold a reciprocal license
in our state.

Notice was served upon the public through publication of the hearing notice in
each of the state’s daily and weekly newspapers through the North Dakota
Newspaper Association. All notices were published and mailed in advance of
the date of hearing as required by statute.

Member of the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials
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A public hearing was held on January 26, 2010 at 8:30 AM, central time, in the Peace Garden
Room here at the Capitol. Moni Krantz representing the North Dakota Association of
REALTORS® and Nancy Deichert of the Bismarck-Mandan Board of REALTORS® were
in attendance at the hearing. Ms. Krantz spoke to the written correspondence the Commission
had received regarding carry-over of continuing education hours and the mandatory course
topic (neither of which are affected by the proposed rule changes) stating that the North
Dakota Association of REALTORS® intended to market and promote education and earning
designations as important tools in giving better service to clients and customers.

The Commission received written comments from Barbara A. Grande, Clair Watne, F. Bruce
Walker, and Dorothy Martwick. Commissioners noted that licensees have never been
allowed to carry continuing education hours from one continuing education cycle to another.
They addressed the concern over the 3 hour mandatory education course topic at their
Commission meeting.

The approximate cost for legal fees involving research, preparation, and appearance at the
public hearing was $3120.00. The cost for printing and mailing the notice to all licensees
was $1356.00. The publication in the local newspapers was $1573.00, for an approximate
total of $6049.00. The rules hearing was held on the same day as a scheduled meeting of the
real estate commission, consequently the costs for meals, lodging, travel and per diem for the
Commissioners were not charged to the rules hearing.

No regulatory analysis was required or issued as per NDCC Section 28-32-08.
No economic impact statement was required per NDCC Section 28-32-08.1.

No constitutional takings assessment was prepared as required by NDCC Section 28-32-09.

EXPLANATION OF RULES

Section 70-02-01-05 is located on page 234 and pertains to the number of continuing education
hours a licensee would need to reactivate an inactive license and the timeframe in which they
must have been completed.

Section 70-02-01-15(2)(c) is located on page 236 and clarifies that provisions concerning earnest
money must be in writing.

Section 70-02-01-21 is located on page 237. This rule was previously located under Chapter 70-
02-03-17. Moving the “Responsibilities of Designated Broker” to a new section clarifies that the
responsibilities refer to all brokers, not just those who practice appointed agency.
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Section 70-02-03-17 located on page 238 was moved to Section 70-02-01-21 as previously
referenced.

Section 70-02-04-02-10 is located on page 240 and sets the number of continuing education
hours required for licensees to complete prior to renewal of their license as 9 hours a year.

Section 70-02-04-13 located on page 240 reflects the change in the continuing education cycle
for substantively identical course offerings.

Section 70-02-04-15 is located on pages 240 and 241. This rule is amended to reflect the change
in the continuing education cycle.

Section 70-02-04-16 located on page 241 also reflects the change in the continuing education
cycle.

Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance regarding any questions or concerns.

Thank you for your time and consideration,
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Patricia M. Jergenson
Executive Director



