APPENDIX G

North Dakota State Board of Registration for Professional

Engineers and Land Surveyors

Testimony for ND Administrative Rules Committee (December 15, 2010)

1. Did the rules result from statutory changes made by the Legislative Assembly? Yes in
part. When the Sixty-First Legislative Assembly passed SB-2268 it required an
extensive rewrite of Chapter 28 of the North Dakota Administrative Code (NDAC).
Part of that rewrite related to the Administrative Code Section dealing with changes
in fees and fee caps. When the ND Attorney General reviewed the rewrite, that
office did not approve the proposed changes to Section 28-02.1-02 dealing with
Examinations and Fees because the exact fees were not set out. Even though the
fees that were currently being charged by the ND State Board of Registration for
PE/LS were within the fee caps as passed by previous Legislative Assemblies, the
Attorney General indicated that a schedule of the fees being actually charged must
be specified by rule and included in Chapter 28 of the NDAC. The amended
administrative rule now before this Committee, and recently adopted by the State
Board of Registration, is in response to the Attorney General’s requirement for a
schedule of fees to be included in Chapter 28 of the NDAC.

2. Do the rules relate to any federal statute or regulation? No, the rules do not relate to
any federal statute or regulation.

3. Describe the rule making procedure followed by the State Board of Registration in
adopting these rules. The original sponsors of SB-2268 (Senators Nodland and
Wanzek and Representatives N. Johnson and Kasper) were notified of the Attorney
General’s opinion and the State Board’s plan to amend Section 28-02.1-10-02 of the
NDAC to comply with the Attorney General’s requirement for a schedule of fees to
be set out. Notice of the hearing was published in all of the daily and weekly
newspapers in accordance with state law. A copy of the proposed rule change, the
notice of the hearing were published at the State Board of Registration web page
along with instructions for the dates and instructions for sending in comments or
appearing at the hearing. In addition, the Board is aware the proposed rule change
was referenced in newsletters of the engineering society and land surveying
professional group; and information about the hearing and the proposed change
were also discussed during staff appearances before the various professional
groups. A hearing was held on September 14, 2010 for testimony and comments
on the proposed rule change. The rule was adopted after the hearing on
September 28, 2010. The rule was then submitted to, and approved by, the North
Dakota Attorney General.

4. Describe the content of any testimony, complaint, objection that was submitted to the
State Board of Registration for consideration by the board members and the response of
the State Board of Registration in this regards. No written or oral testimony was
received from the public in regards to the proposed rule. One individual requested
a copy of the proposed rule and the notice of hearing prior to the time they were
published and he received the requested documents.



5. Summarize the approximate cost of giving public notice and holding the hearing. The

State Board of Registration expended $ 1,619.60 for publishing the notice of
hearing in the state’s newspapers. Legal costs were $ 635.00. Other costs
included $105.08 for the statutory review by the ND Attorney General’s office. The
total cost for the process, excluding staff time, was $ 2,359.68.

. Provide an explanation of the subject matter of the rules and the reasons for adopting

these rules. The rule contains a schedule of fees that meets the Attorney
General’s requirement. All personal registrations expire on December 31% of even
numbered years and company registrations expire on December 31 of every year.
Renewals for the Certificate of Commercial Practice (company registration) will
remain the same, and this fee is equal to the fee cap for this category of
registration. The State Board encourages registrants to renew before the
expiration deadline as failure to renew before the deadline places that registration
in a delinquent position. Performing engineering and/or land surveying without a
current registration is against the law. Renewing an expired registration costs
additional staff time and exposes the delinquent registrant to illegal practice which
can result in disciplinary action causing further staff time outlays. If a personal
registrant renews after December 31, the renewal fee is equal to the fee cap for this
category of registration. The proposed rule allows all personal registrants to
renew at a renewal cost that is $50.00 less than if the renewal is made after
December 31% of a renewal year. ltis hoped that this incentive will encourage
registrants to renew on a timely basis.

7. Was a regulatory analysis required by the North Dakota Century Code, Section 28-32-08

8.

and was a regulatory analysis issued? No regulatory analysis was required nor filed.

Was a regulatory analysis or economic impact statement of impact on small entities was
required by NDCC Section 28-32-08.1 and was that statement filed? No regulatory
analysis or economic impact statement of impact on small entities was required nor
filed.

Was a constitutional takings assessment prepared as required by NCEE Section 28-32-097
A constitutional takings assessment was not required and was not prepared.

10. Were these rules adopted as emergency rules? No.




