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ADMINISTRATIVE RULES REVIEW - BACKGROUND MEMORANDUM

NORTH DAKOTA

ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The North Dakota Administrative Code, published
by the Legislative Council pursuant to North Dakota
Century Code (NDCC) Section 28-32-19, contains all
rules adopted by administrative agencies subject to
NDCC Chapter 28-32 (the Administrative Agencies
Practice Act). The North Dakota Administrative Code
consists of 124 titles. Ninety-four titles contain rules
of administrative agencies. The North Dakota Dairy
Promotion Commission and the Parks and Recreation
Department voluntarily publish their rules in the
Administrative Code, although these agencies are
excluded from the definition of administrative agency.

North Dakota was the first state in the Union to
adopt an Administrative Procedure Act, enacting the
first version of present NDCC Chapter 28-32 in 1941
based partly on an earlier tentative draft of what
became the 1946 Model State Administrative
Procedure Act approved by the Commissioners on
Uniform State Laws.

Under NDCC Section 28-32-20, the North Dakota
Administrative Code is distributed free to each county
auditor, Supreme Court justice, district court judge,
and to certain state agencies. There are 56 of these
free subscriptions. The Legislative Council is required
by Section 28-32-20 to establish prices for paid
subscriptions to the Administrative Code. These
prices were $460 for a new "starter" code set and
$260 per year for supplements. From 1994 to 2011
the number of paid subscribers to the North Dakota
Administrative Code declined from 104 to 14.
Beginning with the July 2010 publication, the
Administrative Code has been published in a
CD-ROM format, eliminating the ring binders and
replacement pages previously used. This allowed
subscriber costs to be reduced to $60 per year, with
no need to buy a full "starter" set of the code.

The numbering for the North Dakota Administrative
Code is similar to the numbering used for the North
Dakota Century Code. However, while Century Code
sections are designated by numbers having three
parts separated by hyphens, Administrative Code
section numbers consist of four parts separated by
hyphens--the first part designates the agency (title),
the second part designates the major activity or
division within the agency (article), the third part
designates the subject within the major activity
(chapter), and the fourth part designates the rule
(section).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

FOR RULES REVIEW
Before 1977 agencies were authorized to adopt
administrative rules, but there was no compilation or
central source for administrative rules. In 1977 the
Legislative Assembly enacted NDCC

Section 28-32-19 (originally Section 28-32-03.1),
which requires the Legislative Council to compile and
publish the North Dakota Administrative Code. From
July 1978 to September 2005, Administrative Code
supplements were published the month after rules
were filed with the Legislative Council for publication.
Since September 2005, Administrative Code
supplements have been published on a calendar
guarterly basis. The current deadlines and effective
dates are as follows:

Filing Committee Effective
Date Meeting Deadline Date
August 2-November 1 December 15 January 1
November 2-February 1 | March 15 April 1
February 2-May 1 June 15 July 1
May 2-August 1 September 15 October 1

Although rules differ in length and complexity,
comparison of the number of administrative rules
sections affected during biennial periods is one
method of comparing the volume of administrative
rules reviewed by the Administrative Rules Committee
since its creation in 1979. The following table shows
the number of sections of the North Dakota
Administrative Code amended, repealed, created,
superseded, reserved, or redesignated during each
identified time period:

Time Period Number of Sections
July 1979-October 1980 1,440
November 1980-August 1982 916
September 1982-November 1984 1,856
December 1984-October 1986 1,280
November 1986-October 1988 2,681
November 1988-October 1990 2,325
November 1990-October 1992 3,079
November 1992-October 1994 3,235
November 1994-October 1996 2,762
November 1996-October 1998 2,789
November 1998-November 2000 2,074
December 2000-November 2002 1,417
December 2002-November 2004 2,306
December 2004-October 2006 1,353
January 2007-October 2008 1,194
January 2009-October 2010 1,451

For committee review of rules, the Legislative
Council prepares an Administrative Rules Committee
supplement containing all rules changes submitted for
publication since the previous committee meeting.
The supplement is prepared in a style similar to bill
drafts--changes are indicated by overstrike and
underscore. Comparison of the number of pages of
rules amended, created, or repealed is another
method of comparing the volume of administrative
rules reviewed by the committee. The following table
shows the number of pages in Administrative Rules
Committee supplements during each designated time
period:
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Time Period Supplement Pages

November 1992-October 1994 3,809
November 1994-October 1996 3,140
November 1996-October 1998 4,123

November 1998-November 2000 1,947

December 2000-November 2002 2,016
December 2002-November 2004 4,085
December 2004-October 2006 1,920

January 2007-October 2008 1,663
January 2009-October 2010 2,011

In 1979 the Legislative Assembly enacted the
statutes  providing for legislative review of
administrative rules. In 1995 the Legislative Assembly
enacted statutory authority for the Administrative
Rules Committee to void administrative rules on
specific grounds. In 2005 the Legislative Assembly
enacted a bill providing that, except for emergency
rules, administrative rules do not become effective
until after they have been reviewed by the
Administrative Rules Committee.

North Dakota Century Code Section 54-35-02.5
directs the Legislative Management to appoint
biennially an Administrative Rules Committee and to
designate the chairman of the committee. The
committee is to operate according to the statutes and
procedures governing the operation of the Legislative
Management interim committees. However, because
the committee is established by statute, the committee
is not discharged upon making its report to the
Legislative Management at the end of the interim and
the committee could be called to meet at any time,
including during a legislative session.

North Dakota Century Code Section 54-35-02.5
provides that it is the standing duty of the committee
to review administrative rules adopted under
Chapter 28-32.  Section 54-35-02.5 requires the
committee membership to include at least one
member from each standing committee of the House
of Representatives or Senate in the most recently
completed regular legislative session.

Objection to Rules
In 1981 the Legislative Assembly enacted NDCC
Section 28-32-17 (originally Section 28-32-03.3)
authorizing the Administrative Rules Committee to
make formal objections to agency rules. If the
committee objects to a rule because the committee
determines the rule to be unreasonable, arbitrary,
capricious, or beyond the authority delegated to the
adopting agency, the committee may file that
objection in certified form with the Legislative Council.
The effect of the filing of a committee objection is that
the burden of persuasion is upon the agency in any
action for judicial review or for enforcement of the rule
to establish that the rule is within the procedural and
substantive authority delegated to the agency. If the
agency fails to meet its burden of persuasion, the
court is to declare the rule invalid, and judgment is to
be rendered against the agency for court costs,

including a reasonable attorney's fee.
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Voiding of Rules

In 1995 legislation was enacted to expand the
authority of the Administrative Rules Committee in
reviewing rules. North Dakota Century Code Section
28-32-18 allows the committee to find that all or any
portion of a rule is void if the committee makes the
specific finding that there is:

1. An absence of statutory authority.

2. An emergency relating to public health, safety,
or welfare.

3. A failure to comply with express legislative
intent or to substantially meet the procedural
requirements of Chapter 28-32 regarding
adoption of the rule.

4. A conflict with state law.

5. Arbitrariness and capriciousness.

6. A failure to make a written record of its
consideration or written and oral submissions
respecting the rule during the hearing process
and comment period.

North Dakota Century Code Section 28-32-18
allows the committee to find a rule void if the rule is
initially considered by the committee not later than the
15" day of the month before the date of the North
Dakota Administrative Code supplement in which the
rule change is scheduled to appear. If the rule is
initially considered within the required timeframe, the
committee may carry consideration of a rule to one
subsequent committee meeting for purposes of the
decision on whether to void the rule. A 2011 change--
House Bill No. 1162--provides that if no agency
representative appears at the scheduled meeting, the
rules are automatically held over for consideration and
if no representative appears at the subsequent
meeting the rules are void if they are emergency rules
and otherwise the committee may void, approve, or
carry over consideration of the rules. A rule carried
over for consideration is delayed in taking effect until
the first day of the calendar quarter following the
meeting at which the rule is reconsidered.

If the Administrative Rules Committee finds a rule
to be void, the Legislative Council is to provide written
notice of the finding to the adopting agency and to the
chairman of the Legislative Management. Within
14 days after receipt of the notice, the adopting
agency may file a petition with the chairman of the
Legislative Management for review by the Legislative
Management of the decision of the committee. If the
adopting agency does not file a petition for review, the
rule becomes void on the 15" day after the adopting
agency received the notice from the Legislative
Council. [If within 60 days after receipt of the petition
from the adopting agency the Legislative Management
has not disapproved the finding of the Administrative
Rules Committee, the rule is void.

North Dakota Century Code Section 28-32-18
allows a rule change to be made after consideration of
rules by the Administrative Rules Committee if the
agency and committee agree that the rule change is
necessary to address any of the considerations for
which the committee may find a rule to be void. This
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allows an agency to change an administrative rule
when the committee expresses concerns and in those
circumstances the agency is not required to
commence a new rulemaking proceeding. If a rule
change is agreed to by the Administrative Rules
Committee and the agency, the rule must be
reconsidered, if requested by the agency or any
interested party, at a subsequent Administrative Rules
Committee meeting and public comment on the
agreed rule change must be allowed.

Because the Legislative Assembly recognized
there are constitutional questions about the
Administrative Rules Committee voiding rules, an
alternative amendment to NDCC Section 28-32-18 will
take effect if the North Dakota Supreme Court rules
that the authority to void rules is unconstitutional. The
alternative amendment is the same in all respects as
the amendment allowing the committee to find rules
void except that under the alternative amendment the
committee may not find a rule to be void but may
suspend a rule or portion of a rule. The effect of a
suspension is that the rule becomes ineffective
temporarily and will become permanently ineffective
unless it is ratified by both houses of the Legislative
Assembly during the next legislative session. The
amendment requires the agency seeking ratification of
a suspended rule to introduce a bill for that purpose.
The authority of the Legislative Management to
reverse the decision of the committee also applies in
the case of a suspension of a rule.

The Legislative Management has assigned the
Administrative Rules Committee the responsibility
under NDCC Sections 28-32-07, 28-32-10, and
28-32-42 to approve extensions of time for
administrative agencies to adopt rules, establish
standard procedures for administrative agency
compliance with notice requirements for proposed
rulemaking, establish a procedure to distribute copies
of administrative agency filings of notice of proposed
rulemaking, and receive notice of appeal of an
administrative agency's rulemaking action.

RULEMAKING PROCEDURES
Agency and Rule Defined
North Dakota Century Code Section 28-32-01(2)
defines administrative agency as:
[E]ach board, bureau, commission,
department, or other administrative unit of the
executive branch of state government,
including one or more officers, employees, or
other persons directly or indirectly purporting
to act on behalf or under authority of the
agency. An administrative unit located within
or subordinate to an administrative agency
must be treated as part of that agency to the
extent it purports to exercise authority subject
to this chapter. The term administrative
agency does not include:
a. The office of management and budget
except with respect to rules made under
section 32-12.2-14, rules relating to
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conduct on the capitol grounds and in
buildings located on the capitol grounds
under section 54-21-18, rules relating to
the classified service as authorized under
section 54-44.3-07, and rules relating to
state purchasing practices as required
under section 54-44.4-04.

The adjutant general with respect to the
department of emergency services.

The council on the arts.

The state auditor.

The department of commerce with respect
to the division of economic development
and finance.

The dairy promotion commission.

The education factfinding commission.

The educational technology council.

The board of equalization.

The board of higher education.

The Indian affairs commission.

The industrial commission with respect to
the activities of the Bank of North Dakota,
North Dakota housing finance agency,
public finance authority, North Dakota mill
and elevator association, North Dakota
farm finance agency, the North Dakota
transmission authority, and the North
Dakota pipeline authority.

The department of corrections and
rehabilitation except with respect to the
activities of the division of adult services
under chapter 54-23.4.

The pardon advisory board.

The parks and recreation department.

The parole board.

The state fair association.

The attorney general with respect to
activities of the state toxicologist and the
state crime laboratory.

The board of university and school lands
except with respect to activities under
chapter 47-30.1.

The administrative committee on veterans'
affairs except with respect to rules relating
to the supervision and government of the
veterans' home and the implementation of
programs or services provided by the
veterans' home.

. The industrial commission with respect to

the lignite research fund except as
required under section 57-61-01.5.

The attorney general with respect to
guidelines  adopted under  section
12.1-32-15 for the risk assessment of
sexual offenders, the risk level review
process, and public disclosure of
information under section 12.1-32-15.

. The commission on legal counsel for

indigents.
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X. The attorney general with respect to
twenty-four seven sobriety program
guidelines and program fees.

North Dakota Century Code Section 28-32-01(11)
defines a rule as:

[T]he whole or a part of an agency statement
of general applicability which implements or
prescribes law or policy or the organization,
procedure, or practice requirements of the
agency. The term includes the adoption of
new rules and the amendment, repeal, or
suspension of an existing rule. The term
does not include:

a. A rule concerning only the internal
management of an agency which does not
directly or substantially affect the
substantive or procedural rights or duties
of any segment of the public.

b. A rule that sets forth criteria or guidelines
to be used by the staff of an agency in the

performance of audits, investigations,
inspections, and setting commercial
disputes or negotiating commercial

arrangements, or in the defense,

prosecution, or settlement of cases, if the

disclosure of the statement would:

(1) Enable law Vviolators to
detection;

(2) Facilitate disregard of requirements
imposed by law; or

(3) Give a clearly improper advantage to
persons who are in an adverse
position to the state.

c. A rule establishing specific prices to be
charged for particular goods or services
sold by an agency.

d. A rule concerning only the physical
servicing, maintenance, or care of agency-
owned or agency-operated facilities or
property.

e. A rule relating only to the use of a
particular facility or property owned,
operated, or maintained by the state or any
of its subdivisions, if the substance of the
rule is adequately indicated by means of
signs or signals to persons who use the
facility or property.

f. A rule concerning only inmates of a
correctional or detention facility, students
enrolled in an educational institution, or
patients admitted to a hospital, if adopted
by that facility, institution, or hospital.

g. A form whose contents or substantive
requirements are prescribed by rule or
statute or are instructions for the execution
or use of the form.

h. An agency budget.

i. An opinion of the attorney general.

j- A rule adopted by an agency selection
committee under section 54-44.7-03.

avoid
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k. Any material, including a guideline,
interpretive  statement, statement of
general policy, manual, brochure, or
pamphlet, which is explanatory and not
intended to have the force and effect of
law.

Organizational Rule
Enactment of 2011 House Bill No. 1026 makes it
optional for an agency to adopt an organizational rule
describing its organization and functions and how the
public may obtain information or make submissions or
requests. The provisions of NDCC Section 28-32-02
previously made this a mandatory requirement.

Rulemaking Deadline

North Dakota Century Code Section 28-32-07
provides that any rule change, including a creation,
amendment, or repeal, made to implement a statutory
change must be adopted and filed with the Legislative
Council within nine months of the effective date of the
statutory change. If an agency needs additional time
for the rule change, a request for additional time must
be made to the Administrative Rules Committee. The
Administrative Rules Committee may extend the time
within which the agency must adopt the rule change if
the request by the agency is supported by evidence
that the agency needs more time through no
deliberate fault of its own.

Rulemaking Notice

An agency is required by NDCC Section 28-32-10
to prepare a full notice and an abbreviated notice of
rulemaking. The full notice must include a specific
explanation of the proposed rule, include a
determination of whether the proposed rule is
expected to have an impact on the regulated
community in excess of $50,000, identify at least one
location where interested parties may review the text
of the proposed rule, provide the address to which
written comments concerning the proposed rule may
be sent, provide the deadline for submission of written
comments, provide a copy of a telephone number at
which a copy of the rules and regulatory analysis may
be requested, and provide the time and place set for
oral hearing. The full notice must be filed with the
Legislative Council.

The abbreviated notice must be published at least
once in each official county newspaper published in
the state at least 20 days before the hearing on the
rules.

In addition to other notice requirements, the
Superintendent of Public Instruction is required to
provide notice of any proposed rulemaking to each
statewide association with a focus on education
issues which has requested to receive notice and to
the superintendent of each public school district or the
president of the school board, if the district has no
superintendent.  Notice by the Superintendent of
Public Instruction must be by first-class mail or by
electronic malil, if requested by the recipient.
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A 2011 change--House Bill No. 1162--provides that
for emergency rules the agency shall attempt to
provide notice to persons who the agency can
reasonably be expected to believe may have a
substantial interest in them, meaning an interest that
surpasses the common interest of all citizens. The bill
also requires the notice to identify the emergency
status and effective date, that notice be given to the
chairman of the Administrative Rules Committee, and
that the Legislative Council publish the notice and
pending rules on its website.

The Legislative Management is required by NDCC
Section 28-32-10 to establish guidelines for agencies
to comply with notice requirements under
Chapter 28-32. Attached as an appendix is a copy of
the guidelines updated by the committee in July 2001.

Hearings

An agency is required by NDCC Section 28-32-11
to adopt a procedure to afford all interested persons
reasonable opportunity to submit data, views, or
arguments, orally or in writing, concerning a proposed
rule, including data respecting the impact of the
proposed rule. The agency is required to consider
fully and make a written record of its consideration of
all written and oral submissions respecting a proposed
rule before the adoption, amendment, or repeal of any
rule not of an emergency nature. An agency is
required by Section 28-32-11 to adopt a procedure to
allow interested parties to request and receive notice
directly from the agency of the date and place
proposed rules will be reviewed by the Administrative
Rules Committee.

Comments

Agencies are required by NDCC Section 28-32-12
to allow a comment period of at least 10 days after the
conclusion of a rulemaking hearing during which the
agency will receive written data, views, or arguments
concerning the proposed rule. Written comments
received by the agency must be made a part of the
rulemaking record to be considered by the agency
before final action on the rule.

Emergency Rules

North Dakota Century Code Section 28-32-03
allows an agency, with approval of the Governor, to
adopt rules on an emergency basis because of
imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare;
because a delay is likely to cause a loss of revenues
appropriated to support a duty imposed by law upon
the agency; when reasonably necessary to avoid a
delay in implementing an appropriations measure; or
when necessary to meet a mandate of federal law.
An emergency rule may be declared effective no
earlier than the date of filing notice of rulemaking with
the Legislative Council. An emergency rule becomes
ineffective if it is not adopted as a final rule within
180 days after its declared effective date.

Enactment of 2011 House Bill No. 1162 requires
an agency making emergency rules to attempt to
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provide notice of the emergency rules to persons the
agency can reasonably be expected to believe may
have a substantial interest in the rules, meaning an
interest in the effect of the rules which surpasses the
common interest of all citizens. The bill also requires
the agency to notify the chairman of the Administrative
Rules Committee of emergency rules and their
effective date and grounds for emergency status. The
Legislative Council is required to place the notice of
emergency rules on its website.

Attorney General Review
North Dakota Century Code Section 28-32-14
requires review by the Attorney General of all
administrative rules and provides that the Attorney
General may not approve a rule as to legality when
the rule exceeds the statutory authority of the agency,
the rule is written in a manner that is not concise or
easily understandable, or procedural requirements for

adopting the rule are not substantially met.

Rule Notice Service

Under NDCC Section 28-32-10, the Legislative
Council is to establish a procedure to allow any
interested person to receive copies of every
rulemaking notice filed with the Legislative Council,
and the Administrative Rules Committee may
establish a fee to receive these notices. The notice
must be sent to subscribers within 15 business days
after receipt. The Administrative Rules Committee
has set a $50 annual charge for providing notice of
proposed rulemaking. As of June 1, 1997, there were
31 paid subscribers to this service. As of July 1,
2009, there were 14 paid subscribers to this service.
Some of the reduction in paid subscriptions may be
attributable to the fact that notices have been made
available on the legislative branch webpage since
1998.

Regulatory Analysis

An agency is required to prepare a regulatory
analysis under NDCC Section 28-32-08 if within
20 days after the notice date for a rule hearing a
written request for the analysis is filed by the
Governor or a member of the Legislative Assembly or
if the impact of the proposed rule on the regulated
community is expected to exceed $50,000. The
regulatory analysis must describe persons who
probably will be affected by the rule, including classes
that will bear costs and classes that will benefit from
the proposed rule. The analysis must describe
probable economic impact of the proposed rule and
probable cost to the agency to implement and enforce
the rule.

Fiscal Notes
A 2011 change--House Bill No. 1162--requires an
agency, when rules are presented for Administrative
Rules Committee review, to provide either a fiscal
note or a statement that the rules have no fiscal effect.
Fiscal effect means an effect on state revenues and
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expenditures, including any effect on funds controlled
by the agency.

Rules Affecting Small Entities
Before adoption of any rule that may adversely
impact small entities, the adopting agency must
prepare an economic impact statement. A small entity
includes a small business, small nonprofit
organization, and small political subdivision.

Constitutional Takings Assessment

An agency is required to prepare a written
assessment of constitutional takings implications of a
proposed rule that may limit the use of real property
under NDCC Section 28-32-09. The agency is
required to assess likelihood that the rule will result in
a taking or regulatory taking of property and explain
why no alternative action is available that would
reduce impact on private property owners.

Under NDCC Section 28-32-09, any private
landowner affected by a rule that limits the use of the
landowner's private real property may file a written
request for reconsideration of the application or need
for the rule. Within 30 days of receiving the request,
the agency must consider the request and provide a
written response to the landowner of whether the
agency intends to keep the rule in place, modify the
rule, or repeal the rule.

Air Quality Rules

North Dakota Century Code Section 23-25-03.3
prohibits the State Department of Health from
adopting air quality rules or standards affecting coal
conversion and associated facilities, petroleum
refineries, or oil and gas production and processing
facilities which are stricter than federal rules or
standards under the Clean Air Act. The statute also
prohibits the department from adopting air quality
rules or standards affecting such facilities when there
are no corresponding federal rules or standards
unless the rules or standards are based on a risk
assessment that demonstrates a  substantial
probability of significant impacts to public health or
property, a cost-benefit analysis that affirmatively
demonstrates that the benefits of the more stringent or
additional state rules and standards will exceed the
anticipated costs, and the risk assessment and the
cost-benefit analysis is independently peer-reviewed
by qualified experts selected by the Air Pollution
Control Advisory Council.

Federal Guidelines

North Dakota Century Code Section 28-32-04
prohibits agencies from adopting rules from federal
guidelines that are not relevant to state regulatory
programs. The section also provides that an agency
is required to repeal or amend any existing rule
adopted from federal guidelines which is not relevant
to state regulatory programs.
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Force of Law

North Dakota Century Code Section 28-32-06
provides that administrative rules have the force and
effect of law until amended or repealed by the agency,
declared invalid by a final court decision, suspended
or found to be void by the Administrative Rules
Committee, or determined repealed by the office of
the Legislative Council because the authority for
adoption of the rules is repealed or transferred to
another agency. The fact that administrative rules
have the "force and effect of law" is significant. The
North Dakota Supreme Court has held that
administrative practice or policy of an agency subject
to the North Dakota Administrative Agencies Practice
Act is invalid unless it has been adopted as an
administrative rule in compliance with the Act.
Little v. Spaeth, 394 N.W.2d 700 (1986). A more
difficult question arises in considering the force and
effect of rules adopted by an agency excluded from
coverage under the Administrative Agencies Practice
Act. In Jensen v. Little, 459 N.W.2d 237 (1990), a
State Penitentiary inmate challenged the validity of the
Penitentiary drug testing program and penalties as
being adopted in violation of the Administrative
Agencies Practice Act. The Supreme Court observed
that the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation
was at that time a part of the office of the Director of
Institutions and that the Director of Institutions was
excluded from the definition of administrative agency
and not subject to the Administrative Agencies
Practice Act. Although the court did not directly
address the effect of rules adopted by an agency
outside the Administrative Agencies Practice Act, and
in a footnote urged the director and warden to adopt
more formal approval procedures for Penitentiary
rules to diminish future challenges to the rules, the
court tacitly upheld the Penitentiary rules by allowing
the penalty to stand.

GUIDELINES
As pointed out earlier in this memorandum,
attached as an appendix is a copy of guidelines for
agencies to follow in publishing notice of rulemaking.
The committee may wish to consider whether to
recommend legislation to incorporate all or part of the
guidelines in statute.

POSSIBLE RULE REVIEW
During the 2009-10 interim, as rules were
scheduled for review, each adopting agency was
requested to provide the committee with written
information in this format:

1. Whether the rules resulted from statutory
changes made by the Legislative Assembly.

2. Whether the rules are related to any federal
statute or regulation. If so, please indicate
whether the rules are mandated by federal law
or explain any options your agency had in
adopting the rules.

3. A description of the rulemaking procedure
followed in adopting the rules, e.g., the type of
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public notice given and the extent of public
hearings held on the rules.

4. Whether any person has presented a written
or oral concern, objection, or complaint for
agency consideration with regard to these
rules. If so, describe the concern, objection,
or complaint and the response of the agency,
including any change made in the rules to
address the concern, objection, or complaint.
Please summarize the comments of any
person who offered comments at the public
hearings on these rules.

5. The approximate cost of giving public notice
and holding any hearing on the rules and the
approximate cost (not including staff time) of
developing and adopting the rules.

6. An explanation of the subject matter of the
rules and the reasons for adopting those rules.

7. Whether a regulatory analysis was required by
NDCC Section 28-32-08 and whether that
regulatory analysis was issued. Please
provide a copy.

8. Whether a regulatory analysis or economic
impact statement of impact on small entities
was required by NDCC Section 28-32-08.1
and whether that regulatory analysis or impact
statement was issued. Please provide copies.

9. Whether a constitutional takings assessment
was prepared as required by NDCC Section
28-32-09. Please provide a copy if one was
prepared.

10. If these rules were adopted as emergency
(interim final) rules under NDCC Section
28-32-03, provide the statutory grounds from
that section for declaring the rules to be an
emergency and the facts that support that
declaration and provide a copy of the
Governor's approval of the emergency status
of the rules.

ADDITIONAL STUDY ASSIGNMENT -
COMPENSATION FOR MEMBERS OF

BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS
Section 3 of 2011 Senate Bill No. 2100 calls for
study of the statutory provisions setting compensation
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rates for members of executive branch boards and
commissions to determine whether it may be
desirable to standardize some or all of the
compensation rate provisions.

Before 1997, compensation for board and
commission members was routinely set by statute at
the same rate provided for legislators attending
interim committee meetings, which in 1997 was
$62.50 under NDCC Section 54-35-10. The
advantage of this for boards and commissions was
that board member compensation was "indexed" and
would increase when the Legislative Assembly
deemed it appropriate to increase legislative interim
committee attendance rates. The problem for the
Legislative Assembly was that a bill to increase
compensation for interim committee attendance
carried a ballooned fiscal note because it would
increase compensation for members of dozens of
boards and commissions. In addition, it was virtually
impossible to obtain testimony and information on the
desire of boards and commissions for these
increases.

To address the Legislative Assembly's problem,
the Legislative Compensation Commission
recommended in 1997 Senate Bill No. 2052, which
was enacted to remove all statutory references tying
board and commission member compensation to
legislative interim committee compensation rates.
Many statutory provisions still provide board and
commission members' compensation of $62.50 per
day. However, the Legislative Assembly has
approved legislation since 1997 which again ties
compensation of members of certain boards and
commissions to the interim committee compensation
rate for legislators under NDCC Section 54-35-10,
which currently provides compensation of $148 per
day.

At the next committee meeting, detailed
information will be provided on how compensation is
set for the various boards and commissions. This will
provide the committee a starting point for study and
discussion of this issue.
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