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HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS IN ALABAMA 
 

Alabama law allows four types of homestead 
property tax exemptions.  Any homestead exemption 
must be requested by written application filed with the 
Alabama Revenue Commissioner annually by 
December 31.  A homestead exemption only applies 
to a single-family residence owned and occupied as 
the applicant's primary residence on the first day of 
the tax year (October 1). 

Some of the homestead exemptions have a 
maximum amount of the exemption expressed in 
assessed value.  Assessed value in Alabama for 
residential property is 10 percent of appraised value.  
The state of Alabama imposes a property tax of 
6.5 mills--3 mills for schools, 1 mill for soldiers, and 
2.5 mills for the state general fund.  The homestead 
exemption is allowed only against the state mill rate 
and the county mill rate.  The exemption does not 
apply against school district property taxes or 
countywide school property tax levies. 

The four Alabama homestead exemption programs 
are briefly described as follows: 

1. Regular homestead exemption is available to 
any Alabama resident who owns and occupies 
a single-family residence occupied as a 
primary residence and used for no other 

purposes.  The amount of the exemption is 
$4,000 in assessed value against state taxes, 
and the taxing district may allow an exemption 
of up to $2,000 in assessed value against 
county taxes. 

2. Homestead exemption 2 is for persons over 
age 65 whose adjusted gross income is less 
than $12,000 on the most recent state tax 
return.  The amount of the exemption is 
$5,000 in assessed value against state taxes 
and county taxes.  Individuals who are 
permanently blind are also entitled to this 
exemption. 

3. Homestead exemption 3 is an exemption from 
all property taxes for persons over age 65 who 
have a taxable income of $7,500 or less on 
their most recent federal income tax return.  
This exemption is also available for individuals 
who are permanently and totally disabled, 
regardless of income. 

4. Homestead exemption 4 is for persons over 
age 65, regardless of income.  This exemption 
is for the total assessed value against state 
taxes and up to $2,000 of assessed value 
against county taxes. 

 


