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LEGISLATIVE COMPENSATION INCREASES COMPARED TO INFLATION 
AND STATE EMPLOYEE SALARY INCREASES - 1981 THROUGH 2012 

 
This memorandum compares actual legislative compensation rates and legislative compensation rates 

adjusted for inflation and state employee salary increases for the period 1981 through 2012. 
 

LEGISLATIVE COMPENSATION RATES 
North Dakota Century Code Section 54-03-20 provides that each member of the Legislative Assembly is 

entitled to receive compensation per calendar day during each regular, special, or organizational session.  In 
addition, each legislator is entitled to receive monthly compensation during each legislator's term of office.  The 
following is a schedule of daily legislative session compensation and monthly compensation rates: 

 Rate Effective July 1, 2011 Rate Effective July 1, 2012 
Daily legislative session compensation $152 $157 
Monthly compensation $427 $440 

Section 54-35-10 provides that legislators are also entitled to receive compensation for attending interim 
meetings of the Legislative Management and its committees.  The following is a schedule of interim meeting daily 
compensation rates: 

 Rate Effective July 1, 2011 Rate Effective July 1, 2012 
Interim meeting daily compensation $152 $157 

 
CHANGES IN LEGISLATIVE COMPENSATION SINCE 1981 

  Expense Reimbursement During Session   

Year of 
Change 

Compensation 
for Each 

Calendar Day 
During Session 

For Each Day 
During Session 

For Each Month 
During Session 

Expense 
Reimbursement or 
Compensation for 

Each Month During 
Term of Office 

Compensation 
for Each Day 

Attending 
Interim Meetings 

1981 $51 $851  $180 $62.50 
1983 $402 $502  $180 $62.50 
1985 $903  $6003 $1803 $62.50 
1997 $111  $650 $2504 $62.50 
1999 $111  $650 $250 $75.00 
2001 $125  $650 $250 $100.00 
2005 $125  $9005 $3505 $100.00 
2007 $1306  $900 $3646 $104.006 
2008 $1356  $900 $3786 $108.006 
2009 $1417  $1,0408 $396 $141.006,7 
2010 $1487  $1,0408 $415 $148.007 
2011 $1529  $1,35110 $427 $152.009 
2012 $1579  $1,35110 $440 $157.009 

1Legislative session compensation was constitutionally limited to $5 per calendar day, and the level of expense reimbursement 
during legislative sessions was set by statute at $85 per calendar day for a total of $90 per day. 

2The constitutional provision limiting legislative compensation was repealed on June 8, 1982, by voter approval of measure 
No. 4, which created Article XI, Section 26, of the Constitution of North Dakota, and provides that: 

The legislative, executive, and judicial branches are coequal branches of government.  Elected members and officials 
of each branch shall receive as compensation for their services only such amounts as may be specifically set by law.  
Payment for necessary expenses shall not exceed those allowed for other state employees. 

After the adoption of the 1982 constitutional amendment, the subsequent Legislative Assembly (1983) amended Section 
54-03-20 to set the levels of legislative session compensation and expense reimbursement at $40 per day and $50 per day, 
respectively.  As an exception to the compensation and expense reimbursement rates provided to other legislators, legislators 
from Bismarck received $90 per day as compensation and no expense reimbursement.  Consequently, the total of legislative 
session expense reimbursement and compensation for all legislators remained unchanged at $90 per day. 
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3The Legislative Assembly in 1995 amended Section 54-03-20 to provide that legislators receive compensation of 
$90 per calendar day during the legislative session plus reimbursement for lodging up to $600 per month.  Section 54-03-20 
was also amended to provide that the $180 per month payment to legislators during their terms of office was compensation 
rather than reimbursement for expenses. 

4The Legislative Assembly in 1997 amended Section 54-03-20 to provide that compensation may be paid monthly, rather than 
every six months, at the option of each legislator. 

5The Legislative Assembly in 2005 increased legislators' monthly compensation from $250 to $350 per month, effective July 1, 
2005, and increased the maximum lodging expense reimbursement allowed during legislative sessions from $650 to 
$900 per month, effective January 1, 2005. 

6The Legislative Assembly in 2007 increased legislators' daily pay during legislative sessions, monthly compensation, and 
interim meeting compensation by 4 percent for the first year of the 2007-09 biennium and by 3.85 percent for the second year 
of the biennium.  In addition, Section 11 of 2007 House Bill No. 1001 increased legislators' interim meeting pay to $135 per 
day beginning July 1, 2009. 

 Rate Effective  
August 1, 2007 

Rate Effective 
July 1, 2008 

Rate Effective 
July 1, 2009 

Daily legislative session compensation $130 $135  
Monthly compensation $364 $378  
Interim meeting daily compensation $104 $108 $135 

7The Legislative Assembly in 2009 increased legislators' daily pay during legislative sessions, monthly compensation, and 
interim meeting compensation by 5 percent for each year of the 2009-11 biennium. 

 Rate Effective Prior to 
August 1, 2009 

Rate Effective 
August 1, 2009 

Rate Effective 
July 1, 2010 

Daily legislative session compensation $135 $141 $148 
Monthly compensation $378 $396 $415 
Interim meeting daily compensation $135 $141 $148 

8The Legislative Assembly in 2009 increased the maximum monthly lodging expenses reimbursement allowed during 
legislative sessions from $900 per month to 30 times 55 percent of the state daily lodging expense reimbursement rate.  This 
increase was effective August 1, 2009.  Based on the state daily lodging reimbursement rate of $63 per night, the maximum 
monthly lodging expense reimbursement was $1,040 per month for the 2011 legislative session. 

9The Legislative Assembly in 2011 increased legislators' daily pay during legislative sessions, monthly compensation, and 
interim meeting compensation by 3 percent for each year of the 2011-13 biennium. 

 Rate Effective Prior to 
July 1, 2011 

Rate Effective 
July 1, 2011 

Rate Effective 
July 1, 2012 

Daily legislative session compensation $148 $152 $157 
Monthly compensation $415 $427 $440 
Interim meeting daily compensation $148 $152 $157 

10The Legislative Assembly in 2011 Senate Bill No. 2015 increased the maximum lodging expenses reimbursement allowed 
during legislative sessions from $1,040 per month to 30 times 65 percent of the state daily lodging expense reimbursement 
rate.  This increase was effective August 1, 2011.  Based on the current estimated state daily lodging reimbursement rate of 
$69.30 per night, the maximum monthly lodging expense reimbursement is estimated to be $1,351 per month for the 
2013 legislative session. 

The schedule attached as an appendix provides a comparison of actual legislative compensation rates and 
legislative compensation rates adjusted for inflation and state employee salary increases for the period 
1981 through 2012. 
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