
2012 State Legislator Compensation- Mileage, Phone, and Credit Card Allowances 
State Mileage Allowance Phone Allowance Credit Card 

Allowance 
Alabama 10¢/for a single roundtrip 

per session; 48.5¢/mile for 
interim committee 
attendance. 

Yes - official state business 
only 

No 

Alaska 40.5¢/mile for travel 
approved. 

Yes - legislative business 
only 

No 

Arizona 44.5¢/mile on actual miles No No 
Arkansas 51¢/mile No No 
California 51¢ 53¢/mile. No No 
Colorado 50¢ per mile. State 

reimbursement rate is 90% 
of federal rate. 

Yes - official state business 
only 

No 

Connecticut 51¢/mile Yes. Official business only; 
charges for personal calls 
are reimbursed by legislator 

No 

Delaware 40¢/mile Yes - official business only No 
Florida 44.5¢/mile for business 

travel 
No Yes - official 

business only 
Georgia 50¢/mile Ga. Code Ann. 

§50-19-7 sets rate of 
reimbursement at the same 
mileage rate established 
by the US General 
Services Administration 

No No 

Hawaii None Yes - official business only No 
Idaho One roundtrip per week at 

state rate 
Yes - during session only No 

Illinois Mileage rate is 39¢/mile No No 
Indiana 55¢/mile No No 
Iowa 39¢/mile  No No 
Kansas 51¢/mile; set by 

Department of 
Administration 

Yes May request Visa 
card; state pays 
annual fee only 

Kentucky .555¢/mile No No 
Louisiana 55.5¢/mile tied to federal 

rate 
Yes - district office line with 
one extension 

No 

Maine 44¢/mile. No No 
Maryland 55.5¢/mile. $500 annual 

allowance for in-district 
travel as taxable income, 
members may decline the 
allowance 

No No 

Massachusetts Between $10-$100, 
determined by distance 
from State House 

No No 

Michigan .555¢ per mile Official business only No 



 
State Mileage Allowance Phone Allowance Credit Card 

Allowance 
Minnesota House: range of $100-

$1,650 per month for 
mileage reimbursement 
for travel in the legislative 
district during interim. 
During session, House 
members can request up to 
one round trip per week if 
they live more than 50 
miles from the Capitol. 
Senate: a reasonable 
allowance. 

House members are allowed 
$75 per month for a 
communications allowance. 

No 

Mississippi Determined by Federal 
Register and Legislature 

Yes No 

Missouri 37¢/mile Yes, phone cards issued but 
expenditures deducted from 
monthly expense allowance 

No 

Montana 55¢/mile; Rate is based on 
IRS rate. Reimbursement 
for actual mileage traveled 
in connection with 
legislative business 

Yes - leadership positions 
only 

No 

Nebraska 55.5¢/mile; tied to federal 
rate 

Yes - official business only No 

Nevada Federal rate, currently 
40.5¢/mile 

$2,800 allowance No 

New 
Hampshire 

Round trip home to State 
House @ 38¢/mile for 
first 45 miles and 19¢/mile 
thereafter; or members 
will be reimbursed for 
actual expenses and 
mileage will be paid at the 
maximum IRS mileage 
rate  

No No 

New Jersey None No Gas cards if they 
are using state-
leased or state-
owned vehicles. 

New Mexico .555¢/mile; tied to federal 
rate 

No No 

New York Varies (V) tied to Federal 
GSA rate - currently 
55.5¢/mile. 

Limited to official business No 



 
State Mileage Allowance Phone Allowance Credit Card 

Allowance 
North 
Carolina 

29¢/mile, 1 round 
trip/week during session; 
1 round trip for attendance 
at interim cmte. mtgs. 

Allowance of $2,275 for 
postage, stationery and 
telephone 

No 

North Dakota 51¢/mile; one round 
trip/week during session 

Only Legislative 
Management members or 
chairmen of interim 
committees. 

No 

Ohio 45¢/mile; one round 
trip/week from home to 
Statehouse for legislators 
outside Franklin County 
only 

State-related phone calls 
only 

No 

Oklahoma 55.5¢/mile; tied to federal 
rate 

Senate Members receive 
phone credit card for state-
related business use away 
from Capitol. 

No 

Oregon 51¢/per mile State-provided office and 
district office phone for 
legislative business only 

No 

Pennsylvania 55.5¢/mile; rate tied to 
federal rate 

No No 

Rhode Island 51¢/mile to and from 
session 

No No 

South 
Carolina 

44.5¢/mile Official business only No 

South Dakota 37¢/mile for one round 
trip from Pierre to home 
each weekend. One trip is 
also paid at 5¢/mile. 
During the interim, 
37¢/mile for scheduled 
committee meetings. 

Telephone allowance: 
$600/6 month for legislators 
and $900/6 months for 
leadership 

No 

Tennessee 46¢/mile Phone Cards for in-state 
long distance (only).  

No. 

Texas 50¢/mile set by General 
Appropriations bill; an 
allowance for single, twin 
and turbo engines from 
$1.24/mile is also given 

No Members are 
eligible for Master 
Card cards for 
official use. 

Utah 51¢/mile, round trip from 
home to capitol 

No No 

Vermont Federal mileage rate, now 
about 51¢/mile, state 
employee reimbursement 
rate 

Yes No 

Virginia 55.5¢/mile Yes No 



State Mileage Allowance Phone Allowance Credit Card 
Allowance 

Washington 51¢/mile For business calls only No 
West Virginia 48.5¢/mile based on Dept 

of Adm. travel Regs. 
Yes No 

Wisconsin 48.5¢/mile; one round 
trip/week to Capitol 

Members office expenses, 
including phone expense, 
are limited to the amount of 
each of the 
Senator’s/Representative’s 
office budget, as established 
by the committees on Senate 
and Assembly organization 

No 

Wyoming 55¢/mile Telephone credit card for 
official business only with a 
$2,000 limit during 2 yrs. 

No 

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures 2012 


