Health Services Committee
September 26, 2012
Testimony by North Dakota Long Term Care Association
Regarding Availability of Basic Care Beds

Good morning Chairman Lee and members of the Health Services Committee.
My name is Shelly Peterson, President of the North Dakota Long Term Care
Association (NDLTCA). We wish to comment on the availability of basic care
beds. We have one suggestion to increase the availability of basic care beds. |
will share with you our suggestion for increasing basic care beds at the
conclusion of my testimony. Today we represent 63 of 65 basic care facilities.

First | would like to review:
1. A Fact Sheet on Basic Care
2. A Statewide Map of the Location of Basic Care Facilities
3. A List of 9 Nursing Facilities currently setting 107 Nursing Facility Beds
Aside. -
4. A Legislative Change to Increase the Availability of Basic Care Beds.

We are currently surveying assisted living, basic care and nursing facility
members and will have updated, comprehensive information on each type of
service/living arrangement in preparation for the 2013 legislative session.

As we shared with you in our testimony on April 12, 2012, we believe the basic
care moratorium should continue. Our basic care members also went on record
in June 2012 to continue to support the moratorium, as well as, maintain the
statute that allows an exception to the basic care moratorium. It was felt this
exception should continue to be available. Under the exception process, basic
care beds could be available to an area that can demonstrate that a need exists,
as well as demonstrate that basic care beds within a 50 mile radius of an area
have been at least 90% occupied for the past twelve month period.

Please see the basic care fact sheet. Map of basic care facilities.

APPENDIX |



Nursing Facility Bed Layaway Program

it is important to look at the nine nursing facility currently setting 107 nursing
facility beds aside because at the end of their maximum set-aside period, those
beds can be sold as basic care beds. Today, there is little demand or need for
nursing facility beds, so | anticipate these beds and more anticipated to be set-
aside, will be sold as basic care beds.

That will open up the availability of nursing facility, as well as basic care beds in
the near future. Today | am aware of three entities interested in basic care beds.
As well as one nursing facility recently announced they will be selling one nursing
facility bed and ten basic care beds within the next year.

Please take a look at the spreadsheet on the bed l[ayaway program. Nine
nursing facilities are setting aside 107 beds. The first column shows the city of
the nursing facility laying away beds, the next column is the name of the facility,
and the next 3 columns represent the change in their bed count, followed by the
date of the bed change and the next column the date the beds “expire” in the
layaway program.

A nursing facility can lay beds away for a maximum of 24 months. At the end of
the 24 month lay away period, the nursing facility has four options:

1. Relicense as nursing facility beds in the existing nursing facility.
2. License as basic care beds in the existing nursing facility

3. Sell as nursing facility beds

4. Sell as basic care beds.

If the nursing facility does not take any action at the end of the 24 month lay
away period the beds cease to exist. After the 24 month period, if you sell the
beds as basic or skilled, the new owner has an additional 24 months to relicense
the beds in the new location. |

The legislation we are suggesting relates to nursing facility beds and basic care
beds that are transferred. The same legislation (HB 1325) that allowed the new
nursing facility bed lay-away program, that | just described also unintentionally

we believe put a new restriction in the law. In 2009, legislation was passed that



allowed a nursing facility to sell their beds as either nursing facility or basic care
beds, to open up the market for basic care beds. In 2011, when we proposed the
new nursing facility bed lay-away program, some new language eliminated the
flexibility you granted in 2009. It is our desire to maintain maximum flexibility so
that when a nursing facility sells or transfers beds, the new entity receiving them
has the option to use the nursing facility beds they purchased as either a nursing
facility or basic care bed. See the attached language we are proposing to
eliminate in the 2013 legislative session.

This concludes my testimony and I'd be happy to answer any questions at this
time.

Attachments:
¢ Fact Sheet on Basic Care
e A Statewide Map of the Location of Basic Care Facilities and list
¢ Listing of Nursing Facility Lay-Away Beds (107)
¢ Statute 23-16-01.1 (3) and (4) with the Language we want to
Eliminate

Shelly Peterson, President

North Dakota Long Term Care Association

1900 North 11" Street ¢ Bismarck, ND 58501 « (701) 222-0660
Cell (701) 220-1992 « www.ndltca.org » E-mail: shelly@ndlitca.org




Basic Care Facilities

Basic Cars at-a Glence: Payment Source for Basic Care Bills

65 licensed basic care facilities

1,777 licensed beds ® Basic Care Assistance 44%

H Private Pay 32%
2010 average daily rate is $97
= Long Term Care Insurance 2!

2010 average occupancy is 83% m Other 4%

(n=669)

Basic Care Facts:

A congregate residential setting with private and semi-private rooms where you receive 24-
hour supervision with a comprehensive service plan to meet your needs.

Basic care provides an all inclusive rate providing room, meals, personal care services,
supervision, activities, transportation, medication administration, nursing assessment and
care planning.

Seventy percent of residents are female and the majority were living in their own home
prior to admission.

Cognitive decline is the top issue precipitating the need for placement.

Current residents range in age from 23 to 104 years old, with the average age being 78.

Care Needs of Basic Care Residents:

72% of residents have impaired mental status, ranging from early state dementia to
significant mental health issues.

85% of residents need full assistance with medication administration.
Over one-third of residents (35%) are receiving psychoactive drugs.

Most residents are independent in dressing (60%), with less than 10% requiring extensive
assistance (8.6%).

81% of residents need assistance in bathing.

Most residents are fully independent in eating (88%), toileting (80%) and transferring (92%).

60% are ambulatory and do not need any staff assistance, 48% use a walker and very few
use a wheelchair (7%).




Basic Care Facilities (continued)

When Individuals Move Into a Basic Care Facility, Where Did They Come From? (

Living Arrangements Prior to Admission

“ Home 52%

m Hospital/Swing Bed 15.5%
® Nursing Facility 15%

= Assisted Living Facility 9.5%
® Other Basic Care Facility 5%
m Other 3%

(n=744)

Top three reasons for basic care admission:

1. Cognitive decline B A s S T :
2. Progressive physical decline .
3. Social isolation (

When Residents Move-Out, Where Do They Go?

Discharge Destination

® Nursing Facility 55%

B Home 15%

W Hospital/Swing Bed 14%

® Death 10%

‘ m Assisted Living Facility 3%
/ = Other Basic Care Facility 2%

4 M Other 1%
—’////?n=357)

Over half of residents discharged from a basic care facility are admitted to a skilled nursing facility.
Generally medical needs, physical limitations and growing cognition issues necessitate the &
admission.
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Sixty—seven licensed basic care facilities as of September 24, 2012
el Box — Number of basic care beds expected to increase based upon need application.
Purple Box — Number of licensed basic care beds as of September 24, 2012 (total licensed beds = 1,822).
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Licensed Basic Care Facility Beds and Locations

Arthur Cass Prairie Villa 25
Bismarck Burleigh Baptist Home, Inc. 10
Bismarck Burleigh Edgewood Bismarck Senior Living 40
Bismarck Burleigh Edgewood Vista at Edgewood Village 49
Bismarck Burleigh Good Samaritan Society—Bismarck 18
Bismarck Burleigh Maple View East 20
Bismarck Burleigh Maple View North 28
Bismarck Burleigh The Terrace 40
Bismarck Burleigh Touchmark on West Century 20
Bottineau Bottineau Good Samaritan Society — Bottineau 7
Cando Towner St. Francis Residence 10
Carrington Foster Holy Family Villa 24
Crosby Divide Good Samaritan Society — Crosby 16
Devils Lake Ramsey Good Samaritan Society — Devils Lake 13
Devils Lake Ramsey Good Samaritan Society—Lake Country Manor 7
Devils Lake Ramsey Odd Fellows Home 43
Dickinson Stark Dickinson Country House LLC 30
Dickinson Stark Evergreen 51
Edgeley LaMoure Manor St. Joseph 40
Edmore Ramsey Edmore Memorial Rest Home 20
Elgin Grant Dakota Hill Housing 35
Ellendale Dickey Evergreen Place 20
Fargo Cass Bethany Towers 36
Fargo Cass Edgewood Vista at Edgewood Village 33
Fargo Cass Evergreens of Fargo 54
Fargo Cass Good Samaritan Society — Fargo 40
Fargo Cass Touchmark at Harwood Groves 25
Forman Sargent Four Seasons Healthcare Ctr Inc. 5
Gackle Logan Gackle Care Center 41
Grand Forks Grand Forks Maple View Memory Care Community 36
Grand Forks Grand Forks Parkwood Place 40
Grand Forks Grand Forks St. Anne's Guest Home 54
Grand Forks Grand Forks Tufte Manor 53
Hazen Mercer Senior Suites at Sakakawea 34
Hettinger Adams Western Horizons Care Center 10
Jamestown Stutsman Bethel 4 Acres Ltd 16
Jamestown Stutsman Rock of Ages, Inc. 33 B
Jamestown Stutsman Roseadele 20
Kenmare Ward Maple View of Kenmare 50
Lakota Nelson Good Samaritan Society - Lakota 6
{Lisbon Ransom North Dakota Veterans Home 98 ]
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Licensed Basic Care Facility Beds and Locations

T | Licensed

Gty |  County |  Capacit

FoL i3 RN e 9/24/2012
Lisbon Ransom Parkside Lutheran Home 10
Maddock Benson Maddock Memorial Home 25
Mandan Morton Dakota Pointe 10
McClusky Sheridan Sheridan Memorial Home 16
Minot Ward Edgewood Vista Memory Care 24
Minot Ward Edgewood Vista Minot Senior Living 31
Minot Ward Emerald Court 28
Minot Ward Maple View of Minot 30
Mott Hettinger Good Samaritan Society — Mott 12
Mountain Pembina Borg Pioneer Memorial Home 43
New Rockford |Eddy Lutheran Home of the Good Shepherd 6
New Town Mountrail Lakeside Community Living Center 16
Northwood Grand Forks Northwood Deaconess Health Center 5
Park River Walsh Good Samaritan Society—Park River 12
Rolette Rolette Rolette Community Care Center 6
Rugby Pierce Haaland Estates — Basic Care 68
Steele Kidder Golden Manor Inc. 20
Valley City Barnes H! Soaring Eagle Ranch = 33
Wahpeton Richland St. Catherine's Living Center 16
Wahpeton Richland The Leach Home 39
Walhalla Pembina Pembilier Nursing Center 8
Watford City McKenzie McKenzie Cty HC Systems 9
West Fargo Cass Eventide at Sheyenne Crossings 24
Williston Williams Bethel Lutheran Nrsng & Rehab Ctr 19
Williston Williams Kensington Williston LLC 48
Wilton Mclean Redwood Village 16

TOTAL 1822
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LONG TERM CARE FACILITY { LAYAWAY PROGRAM
8-1-2011 through r-31-2013
Adjusted Bed Date of

1C

tal Beds 25% 50%

Good Samaritan Society - Bottineau 75 18
71 10/1/2011  10/1/2013 3 35

Bowman Southwest Healthcare Services 66 16

59 112012  1/1/2014 7 29

Harvey St. Aloisius Medical Center Nursing Home 106 26

95 10/1/2011  10/1/2013 11 47

Rolette Rolette Community Care Center 40 10
-4 36 10/1/2011  10/1/2013 4 18

Wathalla Pembilier Nursing Center 32 8
30 10/1/2011  10/1/2013 2 15

Wishek Wishek Home for the Aged 70 17
-10 60 10/1/2011  10/1/2013 10 30

37 10/1/2012  10/1/2014

18

Total
-107

Bed Capacity = The number of licensed beds in the nursing facility prior to this action

Net Change = The number of beds placed into the bed layaway program on this date (see Date of Change)

Adjusted Bed Capacity = The number of licensed beds in the nursing facility after this date (see Date of Change)

Date of Change = Date the beds were placed in the bed layaway program

24 Months = The expiration date of the beds in the layaway program

Total Beds = The total number of beds in the bed layaway program for this facility

25% = A nursing facility may delicense a maximum of twenty-five percent of its licensed nursing facility bed capacity and place the beds into the layaway program

50% = The total delicensed nursing facility bed capacity that may be held for a nursing facility at no time may be greater than fifty percent of the number of currently
licensed beds in the nursing facility



CHAPTER 23-16
LICENSING MEDICAL HOSPITALS

23-16-01. Licensure of medical hospitals and state hospitals.

After July 1, 1947, no person, partnership, association, corporation, limited liability company,
county or municipal corporation, or agency thereof, which maintains and operates organized
facilities for the diagnosis, treatment, or care of two or more nonrelated persons suffering from
illness, injury, or deformity or where obstetrical or other care is rendered over a period
exceeding twenty-four hours, may be established, conducted, or maintained in the state of North
Dakota without obtaining annually a license therefor in the manner hereinafter provided in
sections 23-16-02 and 23-16-03. Chiropractic hospitals, sanatoriums, and hospitals such as
those for unmarried mothers maintained and operated by the department of human services are
not required to obtain a license under this chapter.

In the case of emergency or transfer beds attached to and forming a part of a licensed
medical doctor's office, the state department of health has the right of inspection, but no license
may be required under the provisions of this chapter when the number of such beds does not
exceed four.

23-16-01.1. Moratorium on expansion of long-term care bed capacity.

1. Notwithstanding sections 23-16-06 and 23-16-10, except when a facility reverts basic
care beds to nursing facility beds or relicenses nursing facility beds delicensed after
July 31, 2011, nursing facility beds may not be added to the state's licensed bed
capacity during the period between August 1, 2011, and July 31, 2013. A nursing
facility may not delicense nursing facility bed capacity, relicense nursing facility bed
capacity, convert licensed nursing bed capacity to basic care bed capacity, revert
licensed basic care bed capacity back to nursing facility bed capacity, or otherwise
reconfigure licensed nursing facility bed capacity more than one time in a
twelve-month period.

2. Transfer of licensed nursing facility bed capacity from a nursing facility to another
entity is permitted. The nursing facility may transfer the bed capacity either as nursing
facility bed capacity or basic care bed capacity. Transferred bed capacity must become
licensed by an entity as-the-type-ef-bed-capasity-originally transferred within forty-eight
months of transfer. Bed capacity transferred as basic care bed capacity may not be
reverted to nursing facility bed capacity at any time. A receiving entity may transfer the
received bed capacity to another entity within the forty-eight-month period originally
established at the time the nursing facility first transferred the licensed nursing facility
bed capacity. The subsequent receiving entity must license the received bed capacity
within the forty-eight-month period originally established at the time of the first transfer.

3. Anursing facility may convert licensed nursing facility bed capacity to basic care. If the
converted beds remain in the same facility and are not transferred, the beds may
revert to nursing facility status after one year of licensure as basic care beds.

4. Nursing facility beds that are converted to basic care may be transferred as basic care
beds. However, upon the transfer, the basic care beds may not be relicensed as
nursing facility beds.

5. If an Indian tribe acquires nursing facility beds, the tribal facility must meet state
licensing requirements for those beds within forty-eight months of acquisition. A tribal
facility may seek to participate in the medical assistance programs. Medical assistance
payments may only be made to a medicaid certified tribal facility that agrees to
participate and adhere to all federal and state requirements of the medical assistance
program, including participation, screening, ratesetting, and licensing requirements.

6. A nursing facility, upon prior written notice to the state department of health, may
delicense a maximum of twenty-five percent of its licensed nursing facility bed capacity
and have the delicensed nursing facility held for a period of twenty-four months. The
total delicensed nursing facility bed capacity that may be held for a nursing facility at
no time may be greater than fifty percent of the number of currently licensed beds in
the nursing facility. Delicensed nursing facility bed capacity in excess of fifty percent of

Page No. 1



the nursing facility's licensed capacity may not be held and is not eligible for the

provisions of subsection 7. Delicensed bed capacity not sold or relicensed at the

conclusion of the twenty-four-month holding period ceases to exist.

7. During the twenty-four-month holding period established at the time of delicensure,
delicensed nursing facility bed capacity that is being held for the nursing facility may
be:

a. Relicensed by the nursing facility. Relicensing of nursing facility bed capacity may
not occur for twelve months from the time of delicensure.

b. Transferred to another entity as nursing facility bed capacity or basic care bed
capacity. The receiving entity must license the transferred bed capacity as the
type of bed capacity transferred within the forty-eight-month period originally
established at the time of delicensure. Bed capacity transferred as basic care bed
capacity may not be reverted to nursing facility bed capacity at any time. A
receiving entity may transfer the received bed capacity to another entity within the
forty-eight-month period originally established at the time of delicensure. The
subsequent receiving entity must license the received bed capacity within the
forty-eight-month period originally established at the time of delicensure.

c. Licensed as basic care beds by the same facility. If the licensed basic care beds
remain in the same facility and are not transferred, the beds may be reverted to
licensed nursing facility bed capacity after twelve months.

23-16-02. Existing medical hospitals.

Institutions subject to this chapter which are already in operation at the time of enactment of
this chapter must be given a reasonable time, not to exceed one year from the date of the
enactment of this chapter, within which to comply with the rules, regulations, and minimum
standards provided for herein.

23-16-03. Application for license - License fee.

Applicants for license shall file applications under oath with the state department of health
upon forms prescribed. Applications must be signed by the owner, or in the case of a
corporation by two of its officers, or in the case of a county or municipal unit by the head of the
governmental department having jurisdiction over it. Applications must set forth the full name
and address of the owner of the institution for which license is sought, the names of the persons
in control thereof, and such additional information as the state department of health may
require, including affirmative evidence of ability to comply with such minimum standards, rules,
and regulations as may be lawfully prescribed pursuant to this section. An application for a
license for facilities not owned by the state or its political subdivisions must be accompanied by
the following fees:

1. For each licensed acute care bed, ten dollars.

2. For each licensed skill care bed, ten dollars.

License fees collected pursuant to this section must be deposited in the state department of
health services operating fund in the state treasury and any expenditure from the fund is subject
to appropriation by the legislative assembly.

23-16-04. Licenses.

Licenses issued hereunder expire one year after date of issuance or upon such uniform
dates annually, as the health council may prescribe by rule. Licenses must be issued only for
the premises and persons named in the application and are not transferable or assignable.
Licenses must be posted in a conspicuous place on the licensed premises.

23-16-05. Inspections, consultations, and approval of plans.

The state department of health shall make or cause to be made such inspections as may be
prescribed by regulation. The health council may prescribe by regulations that any licensee or
prospective applicant desiring to make a substantial alteration or addition to its facilities or to
construct new facilities shall, before commencing such alteration, addition, or new construction,
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