
NORTH DAKOTA’S STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS IS FAR OUTSIDE THE 

MAINSTREAM AND NEEDS TO BE REFORMEDTO STOP  

GAMESMANSHIP AND PREVENT STALE CLAIMS 

North Dakota law provides plaintiffs with perhaps the most lengthy general tort statute of 

limitations in the country.  North Dakota is far outside the mainstream.  N.D. Cent. Code § 28-01-16(5), 

the state’s general tort statute of limitations, gives a plaintiff 6 years to file a claim—double or triple the 

amount of time provided by most other states.  The vast majority of states —42 out of 50 plus the District 

of Columbia—provide 3 years or less to file a general tort claim.  Most states (23) provide plaintiffs with 

2 years to file a claim; slightly fewer states (17) provide plaintiffs with 3 years to file a claim; and a few 

states (3) give plaintiffs only 1 year to file a claim.  Four states provide a plaintiff with as long as four 

years.  Only one, Missouri, provides five years.  Maine and Minnesota are the only other states with a 

comparable six-year statute of limitations for general tort claims. 

STATE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS 

Alabama  2 years. 

Ala. Code §§ 6-2-30, 6-2-38. 

Alaska  2 years. 

Alaska Stat. § 09.10.070. 

Arizona  2 years. 

Ariz. Stat. § 12-542. 

Arkansas  3 years. 

Ark. Code Ann. § 16-56-105. 

California 2 years. 

Cal. Code Civ. Proc. § 335.1 

Colorado  2 years. 

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 13-80-102. 

Connecticut  2 years. 

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 52-584. 

Delaware  2 years. 

Del. Code tit. 10, § 8119. 

District of 

Columbia  

3 years. 

D.C. Code § 12-301. 

Florida  4 years. 

Fla. Stat. § 95.11(3)(a). 

Georgia  2 years. 

Ga. Code Ann. § 9-3-33. 
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STATE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS 

Hawaii  2 years. 

Haw. Rev. Stat. § 657-7. 

Idaho  2 years. 

Idaho Code § 5-219(4). 

Illinois 2 years. 

735 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/13-202. 

Indiana  2 years. 

Ind. Code § 34-11-2-4. 

Iowa  2 years. 

Iowa Code § 614.1(2). 

Kansas  2 years. 

Kan. Stat. § 60-513. 

Kentucky  1 year. 

Ky. Code § 413.140. 

Louisiana  1 year. 

La. Civ. Code art. 3492. 

Maine  6 years. 

Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 14, ch. 205, § 752. 

Maryland  3 years. 

Md. Cts. & Jud. Code Ann. § 5-101. 

Massachusetts 3 years. 

Mass. Gen. Laws, Art. 260, §§ 2A, 4. 

Michigan  3 years. 

Mich. Comp Laws § 600.5805(10). 

Minnesota  6 years. 

Minn. Stat. § 541.07 subd. 1(5). 

Mississippi  3 years. 

Miss. Code Ann. § 15-1-49. 

Missouri  5 years. 

Mo. Stat. § 516.120(4). 
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STATE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS 

Montana  3 years. 

Mont. Code Ann. § 27-2-204. 

Nebraska  4 years. 

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-207. 

Nevada  2 years. 

Nev. Rev. Stat. § 11.190(4)(e). 

New 

Hampshire  

3 years. 

N.H. Rev. Stat. § 508:4. 

New Jersey  2 years. 

N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2A:14-2. 

New Mexico  3 years. 

N.M. Stat. Ann. § 37-1-8. 

New York  3 years. 

N.Y. Civ. Prac. R. § 214(5). 

North 

Carolina  

3 years. 

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1-52(16). 

North Dakota  6 years. 

N.D. Cent. Code § 28-01-16(5). 

Ohio  2 years. 

Ohio Rev. Code § 2305.10. 

Oklahoma  2 years. 

Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 12, § 95(3). 

Oregon  2 years. 

Or. Rev. Stat. § 12.110. 

Pennsylvania 2 years. 

42 Pa. Con. Stat. § 5524. 

Rhode Island 3 years. 

R.I. Gen. Laws § 9-1-14(b). 

South 

Carolina  

3 years. 

S.C. Code Ann. § 15-3-530(5). 
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STATE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS 

South Dakota  3 years. 

S.D. Comp. Laws Ann. § 15-2-14(3) 

Tennessee  1 year. 

Tenn. Code § 28-3-104. 

Texas  2 years. 

Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code §§ 16.003, 16.0031. 

Utah  4 years. 

Utah Code § 78-12-25.1. 

Vermont  3 years. 

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 12, § 512(4). 

Virginia  2 years. 

Va. Code Ann. § 8.01-243. 

Washington  3 years. 

Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 4.16.080(2). 

West Virginia 2 years. 

W. Va. Code § 55-2-12. 

Wisconsin  3 years. 

Wis. Stat. § 893.54. 

Wyoming  4 years. 

Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 1-3-105(iv)(c). 

 




