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1 ABILL for an Act to create and enact two new sections to chapter 14-09 of the North Dakota
2 Century Code, relating to the duty to report a missing child or the death of a child; and to

3 provide a penalty.

4 BEIT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

SECTION 1. A new section to chapter 14-09 of the North Dakota Century Code is created

and enacted as follows:

Missing child - Duty to report - Penalty.

A caregiver who is responsible for the care of a child and who is unable to make contact

9 with or otherwise verify the whereabouts and safety of that child for a period of twenty-four

10 hours is quilty of a class C felony if the caregiver willfully or negligently fails to report the child

11  as missing to law enforcement immediately after this twenty-four-hour period expires. For

12  purposes of this section and section 2 of this Act, "caregiver" means a parent, guardian, adult

13  household member, or other individual responsible for a child's welfare.

14 SECTION 2. A new section to chapter 14-09 of the North Dakota Century Code is created
15 and enacted as follows:

16 Death of a child - Duty to report - Penalty.

17 1. Acaregiver of a child in the caregiver's care is guilty of a class C felony if the caregiver
18 fails to:

19 a. Report the child's death to a law enforcement agency within two hours after

20 learning about the child's death; or

21 b. Report the location of the child's corpse to a law enforcement agency within two
22 hours after learning the location of the corpse.

23 2. This section does not apply to the death of a child which occurs while the child is

24 under the care of a health care professional or emergency medical personnel.
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