Sixty-fourth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 6, 2015

SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 8001 (Memorial Resolutions Committee)

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the Senate of North Dakota.

WHEREAS, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:

Ray David, who served in the 48th through the 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 38, died September 30, 2014;

Joe Keller, who served in the 50th through the 53rd Legislative Assemblies, from District 33, died October 23, 2013;

Ed Kringstad, who served in the 54th through the 57th Legislative Assemblies, from District 49, and in the 58th and 59th Legislative Assemblies, from District 35, died May 4, 2013;

Emil T. Nelson, who served in the 34th and 35th Legislative Assemblies and in the 38th and 39th Legislative Assemblies, from District 24, died January 13, 2014;

Michael Polovitz, who served in the 57th and 58th Legislative Assemblies, from District 42, died December 14, 2013;

Claire A. Sandness, who served in the 43rd through the 46th Legislative Assemblies, from District 28, died August 3, 2014;

Jay Schultz, who served in the 43rd and 44th Legislative Assemblies, from District 32, died January 17, 2015;

John O. Syverson, who served in the 58th and 59th Legislative Assemblies, from District 45, died August 20, 2013;

Malcolm S. Tweten, who served in the 47th through the 50th Legislative Assemblies, from District 20, died September 14, 2013;

WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former Senate colleagues and to honor their memories; and

WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by their contributions to public service;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, for the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the Senate and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the surviving families of these deceased Senators.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate