Sixty-seventh Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3028

Introduced by

Representatives Porter, Heinert

Senators Bekkedahl, Holmberg

1 A concurrent resolution urging Congress to include state and local 911 dispatchers as qualified

2 public safety employees and therefore not subject to the early distribution tax under the Internal

3 Revenue Code retirement provisions.

WHEREAS, Internal Revenue Code Section 72(t) allows a "qualified public safety employee
exception" to the 10 percent premature distribution tax on certain retirement distributions; and

6 **WHEREAS**, a qualified public safety employee includes an employee of a state or political

7 subdivision of a state who provides police protection, firefighting services, or emergency

8 medical services for any area within the jurisdiction of such state or political subdivision; and

9 WHEREAS, according to a Wall Street Journal article, 911 "dispatchers are a linchpin of the

10 nation's emergency-response infrastructure. Their responses to 911 calls directly impact how

11 quickly police, firefighters and other first responders are sent to help and whether they go to the

12 right place"; and

13 **WHEREAS**, recruiting and hiring 911 dispatchers, effectively staffing 911 call centers, and

14 retaining 911 dispatchers has been a national problem for at least several decades, and it has

15 worsened in recent years' tight labor markets; and

16 **WHEREAS**, the mental toll the job takes on 911 dispatchers can be extreme;

17 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF

18 NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN:

19 That the Sixty-seventh Legislative Assembly urges Congress to include state and local 911

- 20 dispatchers as qualified public safety employees and therefore not subject to the early
- 21 distribution tax under the Internal Revenue Code retirement provisions; and

22 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution

to each member of the North Dakota Congressional Delegation.