Sixty-seventh Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 5, 2021

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3027 (Representatives Porter, Damschen, Pollert, Zubke) (Senators Bekkedahl, Patten, Bell, Wardner)

A concurrent resolution urging President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. to continue oil development on federal land and on federal minerals.

WHEREAS, the federal government leases land to mining companies for the hydraulic fracturing of natural gas on public land; and

WHEREAS, energy security is the primary reason for fossil fuel exploration on a nation's own land; and

WHEREAS, when a nation pumps oil in its own vicinity, the costs of shipping, production, and labor are reduced considerably; and

WHEREAS, local energy production adds jobs to the economy, often in rural places that are economically depressed and need the financial assistance; and

WHEREAS, in 2018, cities, counties, and states enjoyed more than a \$4 billion surplus from mining activities, and schools and infrastructure improvements in rural and economically depressed areas benefited greatly from that surplus; and

WHEREAS, nearly all Americans, not just energy companies and their immediate suppliers, are reaping the benefits of increasing energy production; and

WHEREAS, oil and natural gas development has occurred safely on federal land for decades, while bureaucratic red tape has caused production of these resources to fall sharply since 2010;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Sixty-seventh Legislative Assembly urges President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. to continue oil development on federal land and on federal minerals; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution to the President of the United States, the Majority and Minority Leaders of the United States Senate and the United States House of Representatives, and each member of the North Dakota Congressional Delegation.

Speaker of the House	President of the Senate
Chief Clerk of the House	Secretary of the Senate