



Tentative Agenda

23.5027.02000

Revised 7/7/2021

EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE

Tuesday, July 20, 2021 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Review of the <u>Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota</u> <u>Legislative Management</u>
9:10 a.m.	Comments by the Chairman
9:20 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> regarding the committee's study of compulsory school attendance laws, including a comparison of compulsory school attendance laws in other states
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> regarding the committee's study of alternative teacher licensure
9:40 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> regarding the committee's study of innovative education and competency-based learning
9:50 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Joe Kolosky, Director, Office of School Approval and Opportunity, Department of Public Instruction, of a report regarding requests from schools or school districts for various of rules governing the percentitation of schools under North Dekete.

Department of Public Instruction, of a report regarding requests from schools or school districts for waivers of rules governing the accreditation of schools under North Dakota Century Code Section 15.1-06-08

10:05 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Ann Ellefson, Director, Office of Academic Support, Department of Public Instruction, and Mr. Kolosky of annual reports of the innovative education program, including the status of the implementation plan, a summary of any waived statutes or rules, and a review of evaluation date results under Section 15.1-06-08.2, and a report regarding waiver applications under Section 15.1-06-08.1

10:35 a.m. Break

10:50 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Brenda Ehrmantraut, Assistant Director, Office of Academic Support, Department of Public Instruction; and Ms. Lea Kugel, Special Education Regional Coordinator, Office of Special Education, Department of Public Instruction, of a report with a recommendation whether to continue the dyslexia screening pilot program beyond the 2022-23 school year under Section 15.1-32-26

11:20 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Kirsten Baesler, Superintendent of Public Instruction, regarding information related to compulsory school attendance laws and school attendance laws in other states

11:45 a.m. Recess

12:45 p.m. Presentation by Dr. Becky Pitkin, Executive Director, Education Standards and Practices Board, of a report regarding electronic satisfaction survey results

1:00 p.m. Presentation by Dr. Pitkin of a report regarding teacher licenses issued under an alternative teacher certification program, and information regarding the committee's study of criteria for alternative teacher licensure

1:30 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Lori Wagner, alternative teacher permit recipient, regarding her experience with an alternative teacher permit pathway
1:40 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Laura Mastel, graduate of the American Board for Certification of Teacher Excellence alternative teacher certification program, regarding her experience enrolling in and graduating from the American Board alternative teacher certification program to receive licensure in the state
1:50 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Dr. Katherine Terras, Chief Executive Officer, Certification Central, regarding criteria used for alternative teacher certification through Certification Central
2:10 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Morgan Nunberg, graduate of Certification Central, regarding her experience enrolling in and graduating from Certification Central to receive licensure in the state
2:20 p.m.	Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's studies of innovative education and competency-based learning, compulsory school attendance laws, and alternative teacher licensure
2:40 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
3:00 p.m.	Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.legis.nd.gov.

Committee Members

Senators: Erin Oban (Chairman), David A. Clemens, Cole Conley, Jay R. Elkin, Doug Larsen, Diane Larson, Richard Marcellais, Michael A. Wobbema

Representatives: LaurieBeth Hager, Patrick Hatlestad, Pat D. Heinert, Jeff A. Hoverson, Donald Longmuir, Andrew Marschall, David Monson, David Richter, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck

Staff Contact: Dustin Assel, Counsel