23.5098.02000



Thursday, January 20, 2022 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the <u>minutes of the October 25, 2021, meeting</u>

ACUTE PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITALIZATION AND RESIDENTIAL CARE

- 9:05 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum regarding legislative bills and studies relating to behavioral health workforce
- 9:10 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by representatives of Renee Schulte Consulting, LLC regarding <u>activities</u> conducted related to the committee's study of acute psychiatric hospitalization and residential care needs of the state, including future activities planned and any initial findings identified
- 9:55 a.m. Committee discussion
- 10:10 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Dr. Rosalie Etherington, Superintendent, State Hospital, Department of Human Services, regarding:
 - Percentage and total utilization of State Hospital beds and facilities;
 - Data relating to the number of individuals referred by the courts for assessment at human service centers and the number of individuals sentenced or released to receive treatment at the State Hospital or human service centers; and
 - The number of individuals from Jamestown and Devils Lake and the surrounding areas who receive acute care services at the State Hospital, including the cost of providing the services
- 10:40 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by representatives of the Department of Human Services regarding the status of an institutions for mental disease waiver for North Dakota tribal entities
- 10:55 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by representatives of the West Central Human Service Center regarding acute psychiatric hospital and residential care services and programs available and any recommendations of additional services and needs
- 11:10 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 11:15 a.m. Committee discussion

MENTAL AND BEHAVIORAL HEALTH SERVICES OF OCCUPATIONAL BOARDS

- 11:20 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by representatives of Job Service North Dakota regarding recent behavioral health workforce data and trends
- 11:35 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Dr. Joshua Wynne, Dean and Vice President for Health Affairs, University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, regarding behavioral health workforce needs in the state and data regarding student enrollment in behavioral health-related courses at the University of North Dakota
- 12:00 noon Recess

- 1:00 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by representatives of the Attorney General's office regarding the Attorney General office's involvement with occupational boards providing mental and behavioral health services and similarities and differences of licensing and reciprocity requirements
- 1:15 p.m. Presentations by representatives of state boards regarding mental and behavioral health services provided by licensees, the frequency of rule review, licensing requirements, history and trends of the licensing of foreign practitioners and any additional licensure requirements for foreign practitioners, reciprocity agreements with surrounding states, fees charged by the board, training requirements for board members and executive directors, executive director turnover trends, and the average length of service of board members:
 - <u>State Board</u> of <u>Psychologist Examiners</u>
 - Board of Addiction Counseling Examiners
 - Board of Counselor Examiners
 - <u>North Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners</u>
 - North Dakota Marriage and Family Therapy Licensure Board
- 4:00 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by representatives of the Education Standards and Practices Board regarding mental and behavioral health services provided in schools, the frequency of rule review, reciprocity agreements with surrounding states, training requirements for board members and executive directors, executive director turnover trends, and the average length of service of board members
- 4:30 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 4:35 p.m. Committee discussion
- 4:45 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <u>https://video.legis.nd.gov</u>.

Committee Members

Representatives: Jon O. Nelson (Chairman), Emily O'Brien, Randy A. Schobinger, Michelle Strinden Senators: Kyle Davison, Dick Dever, Kathy Hogan, Tim Mathern

Staff Contact: Levi Kinnischtzke, Senior Fiscal Analyst