

Tentative Agenda

23.5159.02000

TAXATION COMMITTEE

Wednesday, June 15, 2022 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the April 6, 2022, meeting

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT TAX INCENTIVES STUDY

10:05 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum summarizing the

committee's progress in receiving information to evaluate economic development tax

incentives

10:10 a.m. Comments by interested persons

10:20 a.m. Committee discussion and directives

REPORTS

10:35 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Tax Department of a statewide property tax

increase report

PROPERTY AND INCOME TAX REFORM AND RELIEF STUDY

10:55 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum regarding significant

dates and deadlines related to the property tax system

11:00 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Tax Department regarding the homestead

income tax credit and commercial property income tax credit contained in <u>Senate Bill No. 2032 (2007)</u>, including <u>discussion</u> relating to challenges and administrative

difficulties associated with the income tax credits

11:20 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Tax Department of data relating to individual

and corporate income taxes paid based on income level

11:40 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Tax Department regarding the status of the

income tax credit authorized in <u>House Bill No. 1515 (2021)</u>, including an overview of the qualification criteria, the estimated fiscal impact, and a comparison of the estimated

credits to the actual credits awarded to date

12:00 noon Recess

1:00 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Tax Department of data relating to individual

and corporate income tax deductions and credits claimed by taxpayers

1:20 p.m. Presentation by Senator Donald Schaible, Mott, regarding potential property tax relief

legislation

1:40 p.m. Comments by interested persons

2:00 p.m. Committee discussion and directives

3:00 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.legis.nd.gov.

Committee Members

Senators: Dale Patten (Chairman), Scott Meyer, Merrill Piepkorn, Mark F. Weber

Representatives: Dick Anderson, Jason Dockter, Robb Eckert, Patrick Hatlestad, Craig Headland,

Tom Kading, Jim Kasper, Ben Koppelman, Vicky Steiner, Wayne A. Trottier

Staff Contacts: Megan J. Gordon, Counsel

Emily Thompson, Legal Division Director