Sixty-seventh Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 5, 2021

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3028 (Representatives Porter, Heinert) (Senators Bekkedahl, Holmberg)

A concurrent resolution urging Congress to include state and local 911 dispatchers as qualified public safety employees and therefore not subject to the early distribution tax under the Internal Revenue Code retirement provisions.

WHEREAS, Internal Revenue Code Section 72(t) allows a "qualified public safety employee exception" to the 10 percent premature distribution tax on certain retirement distributions; and

WHEREAS, a qualified public safety employee includes an employee of a state or political subdivision of a state who provides police protection, firefighting services, or emergency medical services for any area within the jurisdiction of such state or political subdivision; and

WHEREAS, according to a Wall Street Journal article, 911 "dispatchers are a linchpin of the nation's emergency-response infrastructure. Their responses to 911 calls directly impact how quickly police, firefighters and other first responders are sent to help and whether they go to the right place"; and

WHEREAS, recruiting and hiring 911 dispatchers, effectively staffing 911 call centers, and retaining 911 dispatchers has been a national problem for at least several decades, and it has worsened in recent years' tight labor markets; and

WHEREAS, the mental toll the job takes on 911 dispatchers can be extreme;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Sixty-seventh Legislative Assembly urges Congress to include state and local 911 dispatchers as qualified public safety employees and therefore not subject to the early distribution tax under the Internal Revenue Code retirement provisions; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution to each member of the North Dakota Congressional Delegation.

Speaker of the House	President of the Senate
Chief Clerk of the House	Secretary of the Senate