Sixty-seventh Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

## **SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 8001**

Introduced by

Memorial Resolutions Committee

- 1 A memorial resolution for deceased members of the Senate of North Dakota.
- WHEREAS, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:
- 3 Bill L. Bowman, who served in the 52<sup>nd</sup> through the 65<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 4 District 39, died August 15, 2020;
- 5 Patricia "Tish" Kelly, who served in the 52<sup>nd</sup> and 53<sup>rd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 6 District 21, died July 12, 2019;
- 7 Lonnie James Laffen, who served in the 62<sup>nd</sup> though the 65<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 8 District 43, died December 23, 2020;
- Duane Ollen Mutch, who served in the 36<sup>th</sup> through the 39<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- District 5, and in the 40<sup>th</sup> through the 44<sup>th</sup> and the 46<sup>th</sup> through the 59<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies,
- 11 from District 19, died July 18, 2019;
- Jack Dale Olin, who served in the 46<sup>th</sup> and 47<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 37, died
- 13 April 23, 2019;
- Harvey Frederick Sand, who served in the 53<sup>rd</sup> through the 56<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 15 District 10, died August 11, 2019;
- 16 Paul John Swedlund, who served in the 42<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 7, died
- 17 June 13, 2020;
- Russell Talcott Thane, who served in the 41<sup>st</sup> through the 59<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 19 District 25, died November 10, 2020;
- 20 Irvin "Irv" Junior Wilhite, who served in the 40<sup>th</sup> through the 42<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies,
- 21 from District 32, died March 15, 2020; and
- WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former SENATE colleagues and to
- 23 honor their memories; and
- WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by
- 25 their contributions to public service;

## 1 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:

- 2 That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people
- 3 of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and
- 4 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of
- 5 respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the SENATE and
- 6 that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the surviving families of
- 7 these deceased Senators.