

North Dakota Small Organized Schools

Mr. Michael Heilman Executive Director 3144 Hampton Street Bismarck, ND 58504 mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701-527-4621 Mr. Brandt Dick President PO Box 100 – 123 Summit Street Underwood, ND 5857 Brandt.Dick@underwoodschool.org 701-442-3274 Mr. Steven Heim Vice-President PO Box 256 Drake, ND 58736 Steve.heim@k12.nd.us 701-465-3732

HB 1311 – Related to carrying a firearm at a public gathering
Testimony in opposition
Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized School
January 27, 2021

Chairman Klemin and members of the House Judiciary Committee, my name is Michael Heilman. I am the Executive Director of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools (NDSOS). I represent 154-member school districts of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools. NDSOS stands in opposition to of HB 1311 as it is currently written.

NDSOS also testified in opposition to a very similar bill last week, HB 1297. With HB 1297 Representative Ben Koppelman's key amendment addressed NDSOS's concerns dealing with the removal of the infraction section of the bill and addressing Section 1 1-a of the bill to include school sponsored athletic and sporting events.

Although NDSOS greatly appreciated the amendments made to address athletic events on or of school sites. The same concerns exist for non-athletic events held on or off school sites. Events like school dances, banquets, speech and drama events, career and technical education competitions, graduations... it is a very expansive list. We would respectively ask that sponsors of HB 1311 consider the addition of all school sponsored events held on or off school grounds, be included in section 1 - 1 a of HB 1311.

a. A school, a or any school-sponsored athletic or sporting event;

Thank you Chairman Klemin and member of the House Judiciary Committee. I would stand for any questions.

Mr. Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized Schools mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701.527.4621

Region 1

Mr. Tim Holte, Supt. Stanley
Mr. John Gruenberg, Supt. Powers Lake

Region 4

Mr. Kelly Koppinger, Supt. New England Mr. Justin Fryer, Supt. Solen

Board of Directors

Region 2

Mr. Jeff Hagler, Supt. North Star Mr. Steven Heim, Anamoose & Drake

Region 5

Mr. Joel Lemer, Bd. Member Carrington Mr. Brandt Dick, Supt. Underwood

Region 3

Dr. Frank Schill, Supt. Edmore Mr. Dean Ralston, Supt. Drayton

Region 6

Mr. Mitch Carlson, Supt. LaMoure Dr. Steven Johnson, Supt. Lisbon