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HB 1384 

 Chairman Klemin and members of the House Judiciary committee, my name is 

Shane Goettle and I am appearing today as a lobbyist for the State Association of 

Nonpublic Schools.  There are over 6770 students in nonpublic schools across this 

state.   

Our business is teaching and protecting students. There is nothing more 

important.  We all agree that sexually abusing a child is unconscionable—something we 

should never tolerate.  At the same time, a child in a public school has a three-year 

statute of limitations in which to make a claim of sexual abuse while a child in a 

nonpublic school has 10 years.  I am sure that statement will surprise many. 

 I will get right to the point.  HB 1384 would resurrect claims long barred by the 

passage of time for churches and nonpublic schools, but not for public schools, juvenile 

detention centers, and other government entities. 

 The bottom line for my client:  To open up previously barred claims against 

private, nonpublic schools, while leaving public schools protected is patently and 

severely unjust. 

 Now, it is not obvious from the face of the bill that it ends up producing the result 

I have just pointed out to you.  That takes some legal analysis.  Please indulge me while 

I walk through that with you. 

 This bill focusses on amending section 28-01-25.1 of the North Dakota Century 

Code. Reading that section we see that a: 

“claim for relief resulting from childhood sexual abuse must be commenced 

within ten years after the plaintiff knew or should have known that a potential 

claim exists resulting from alleged childhood sexual abuse.” 

Here is the main point:  the “ten years” referenced in this section only applies to private 

parties and institutions.   
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 HB 1384 proposes to start that 10 year-clock from the time a person first learns 

from an attorney that he or she may have a claim.  Now, if a child was victimized at age 

8 years, and then at age 22 learns from attorney that there is a potential claim, that person 

would then have until age 32 to bring the claim.  But what if that same person waits until 

he or she is 52 years old before every talking to attorney?  Then, that person would have 

until 62 years.  This effectively ends any statute of limitations for sexual abuse claims.  

 At the same time, while private persons and private entities would, in effect, never 

enjoy a statute of limitations on sexual abuse claims, the change you are considering 

would not apply to state entities and political subdivisions, including public schools, which 

have statute of limitations separate from section 28-01-25.1. 

◼ Actions against the state must be commenced within three years (NDCC § 28-01-

22.1) 

◼ Actions against political subdivisions1 must be commenced within three years 

(NDCC § 32-12.1-10) 

The North Dakota Supreme Court has repeatedly held that these statutes of limitation 

apply even if another statute provides a longer period of time.  Dimond v. State Board of 

Higher Education, 2001 ND 208, 637 N.W.2d 692. See also, Olson v University, 488 

N.W.2d 386 (N.D. 1992), O’Fallon v. Pollard, 427 N.W.2d 809 (N.D. 1988), Burr v. Kulas, 

532 N.W.2d 388 (N.D. 1995), Burr v. Kulas, 1997 ND 98, 564 N.W.2d 631. 

 In 2016, the Fargo Forum found that from 1979 to 2015, the teaching licenses of 

74 teachers were revoked.  Fifty-seven percent of them involved sexual misconduct.  HB 

1382 does nothing to address those instances of possible abuse if they occurred in a 

public school. 

 Mr. Chairman, and members of the committee, as written , HB 1384 effectively 

ends any statute of limitations for private, nonpublic schools while leaving public schools 

protected from such claims.  I doubt this result was intended by the sponsors, but it 

nevertheless exists and it unfairly and unjustly discriminates between private and public 

institutions.  For that reason, the State Association of Nonpublic Schools opposes this 

bill.   

   

 

 
1 The term “political subdivision” includes school districts. NDCC § 32-12.1-02(6)(a). 


