

North Dakota Small Organized Schools

Mr. Michael Heilman Executive Director 3144 Hampton Street Bismarck, ND 58504 mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701-527-4621 Mr. Brandt Dick President PO Box 100 – 123 Summit Street Underwood, ND 5857 Brandt.Dick@underwoodschool.org 701-442-3274 Mr. Steven Heim Vice-President PO Box 256 Drake, ND 58736 Steve.heim@k12.nd.us 701-465-3732

HB 1297 – Related to infraction for firearm
Testimony in opposition
Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized School
January 21, 2021

Chairman Porter and members of the Energy and Natural Resources Committee, my name is Michael Heilman. I am the Executive Director of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools (NDSOS). I represent 154-member school districts of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools. NDSOS stands in opposition to of HB 1297.

I will be brief. In schools we try to teach children that behavior has consequences. Positive or negative, most behavior has consequences. Some are natural consequences. For example, if a child touches a hot stove the consequence is likely to cause avoidance of that behavior in the future. Other consequences are imposed by rules or laws; If I speed down the highway or roll through a stop sign, there is a consequence.

We also try to teach personal responsibility. I believe one of the biggest issues we have in this country is far too many individuals no longer take any responsibility for their actions. Consequences are reminders that our actions matter, and we are all responsible for our actions. Additionally, consequences are meant to serve as a deterrent to repeating negative or in this case illegal behavior. NDSOS believe removing the infraction does little to deter an individual, not authorized, from possessing a firearm or dangerous weapon at a school or school event. NDSOS urges a do not pass on HB 1297.

Mr. Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized Schools mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701.527.4621

Region 1

Mr. Tim Holte, Supt. Stanley
Mr. John Gruenberg, Supt. Powers Lake

Region 4

Mr. Kelly Koppinger, Supt. New England Mr. Justin Fryer, Supt. Solen

Board of Directors Region 2

Mr. Jeff Hagler, Supt. North Star Mr. Steven Heim, Anamoose & Drake

Region 5

Mr. Joel Lemer, Bd. Member Carrington Mr. Brandt Dick, Supt. Underwood

Region 3

Dr. Frank Schill, Supt. Edmore Mr. Dean Ralston, Supt. Drayton

Region 6

Mr. Mitch Carlson, Supt. LaMoure Dr. Steven Johnson, Supt. Lisbon