

Allyn Sveen - Stanley City Auditor

221 S. Main St. – PO Box 249, Stanley, ND 58784-0249 Tel. (701) 628-2225 Fax (701) 628-2232 Fax TTY 1-800-366-6888

E-Mail allyn@stanleynd.us

February 1, 2021 House Political Subdivisions **HB #1165** - (2/4/2021 Hearing – 9:00 A.M.)

Dear Chair Dockter and Honorable Members of the House Political Subdivisions Committee:

I am respectfully requesting you to support a **"DO NOT PASS"** on House Bill #1165 relating to qualified electors in city elections.

This bill presents a lot of controversy. Members of the extraterritorial zoning area do not pay city taxes, most township levies are at 18.00 mills and nearly all cities at a mill levy that far exceeds the township levy. Residents of the extraterritorial zoning should not be part of the voting process if they are exempted from paying city taxes and special assessments.

Does the resident of the extraterritorial zoning get to arbitrarily decide whether they vote in the city or the township election each year or do all residents within this zoning jurisdiction vote as city residents? This process seems unmanageable. If an extraterritorial resident is a qualified elector in a city election does that make them eligible to run for city council or other elected position, this certainly does not seem fair?

Residents in extraterritorial zoning could potentially be part of two different legislative or county commissioner districts; does this make them a qualified resident of such commissioner or legislative district and able to run for office? These districts are established off population; this would distort population counts within county commissioner and legislative districts. Further, how does this affect State funding that is based off census counts that is allocated to political subdivisions?

Again, your support for a "**DO NOT PASS**" on HB #1165 is greatly appreciated. The bill is unfair, presents too many unanswered questions and appears to be unmanageable.

Sincerely, Allyn Sveen Stanley City Auditor

E-mail: District #2 & #4 House Representatives bertanderson@nd.gov dlongmuir@nd.gov cfegley@nd.gov tbjones@nd.gov