

# North Dakota Small Organized Schools

Mr. Michael Heilman Executive Director 3144 Hampton Street Bismarck, ND 58504 mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701-527-4621 Mr. Brandt Dick President PO Box 100 – 123 Summit Street Underwood, ND 5857 Brandt.Dick@underwoodschool.org 701-442-3274 Mr. Steven Heim Vice-President PO Box 256 Drake, ND 58736 Steve.heim@k12.nd.us 701-465-3732

HB 1337 – transferring of real property and funds
Testimony in support
Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized School
January 27, 2021

Chairman Schaible and members of the Senate Education Committee, my name is Michael Heilman. I am the Executive Director of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools (NDSOS). I represent 154-member school districts of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools. NDSOS stands in support of HB 1337.

As you have heard or will hear, we have several small communities across the state whose schools are dealing with declining enrollments. Unfortunately, this is not new to the landscape of North Dakota and rural schools. Many of these schools are known in the funding formula as transition minimum schools. Transition minimum schools were held harmless to a funding amount within the current funding formula enacted during the 2013 session. Along with declining enrollment many of the schools will see a decrease in funding as the transition minimum dollars are reduced over time. Some will continue to operate if they have adequate student numbers, other will have to make the difficult decision about closing and dissolution.

This bill provides communities with an option to maintain a structure that served generations of students for a useful purpose. Allowing the school district to work with another political subdivisions to preserve the school as a community center, senior center, or other community use seems like a win for our rural communities. Rather than allowing these structures to fall into ruin, this bill gives communities a viable option to maintain and continue to use a structure that served them well and can continue to do so in a different manner. NDSOS supports HB 1337.

Thank you Chairman Schaible and member of the Senate Education Committee. I would stand for any questions.

Mr. Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized Schools mheilmanndsos@gmail.com

701.527.4621

### Region 1

Mr. Tim Holte, Supt. Stanley
Mr. John Gruenberg, Supt. Powers Lake

## Region 4

Mr. Kelly Koppinger, Supt. New England Mr. Justin Fryer, Supt. Solen

# Board of Directors Region 2

Mr. Jeff Hagler, Supt. North Star Mr. Steven Heim, Anamoose & Drake

## Region 5

Mr. Joel Lemer, Bd. Member Carrington Mr. Brandt Dick, Supt. Underwood

### Region 3

Dr. Frank Schill, Supt. Edmore Mr. Dean Ralston, Supt. Drayton

## Region 6

Mr. Mitch Carlson, Supt. LaMoure Dr. Steven Johnson, Supt. Lisbon