

## 2021 OFFICERS

PRESIDENT Phil Ridbrudt, Minot **1ST VICE PRESIDENT** Mike Jangula, Dickinson 2ND VICE PRESIDENT Jeff Sattler, Bismarck SECRETARY Tom Spaeth, Fargo-Moorhead TREASURER Bob Horab, Williston IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT Nate Applegren, Forx BUILD-PAC TRUSTEE Vance Vetter, Bismarck-Mandan ALTERNATE BUILD-PAC TRUSTEE Don Dabbert, Jr., Fargo-Moorhead STATE REPRESENTATIVE Don Dabbert, Jr., Fargo-Moorhead ASSOCIATE NATIONAL DELEGATE Joe Stenvold, Minot

## BOARD OF DIRECTORS

DICKINSON AREA BUILDERS ASSOCIATION Ben Olin, President Mike Jangula Phil Risbrudt

WESTERN AREA BUILDERS ASSOCIATION Ken Callahan, President Bob Horab

BISMARCK-MANDAN HOME BUILDERS ASSOCIATION Greg Meidinger, President Jeff Sattler Joe Hillerson Vance Vetter Jamie Schmidt

MINOT ASSOCIATION OF BUILDERS Shane Lider, President Phil Risbrudt Bruce Walker, senior Life Delegate Joe Stenvold, Life Delegate

HOME BUILDERS ASSOCIATION OF FARGO-MOORHEAD Kim Hochhalter, President Tom Spaeth David Reid Robert Leslie Darrick Guthmiller John Gunkelman, Life Delegate Dan Lindquist, Life Delegate Dan Eid, Life Delegate Tyrone Leslie, Life Delegate

FORX BUILDERS ASSOCIATION Jeff Vonasek, President Nate Applegren Mike Salwey Jim Sandbeck Ralph Applegren, Senior Life Delegate Tim Rosencrans, Life Delegate

STAFF

Kim Schneider, Chief Executive Officer Sara Frank, Communications & Government Affairs Director Affiliated With



March 23, 2021

Senate Finance and Taxation North Dakota House of Representatives State Capitol Building 600 East Boulevard Avenue Bismarck, ND 58505

Chair Bell and Finance Taxation Committee Members,

For the record, my name is Kim Schneider, and I am the Chief Executive Officer and registered lobbyist with the North Dakota Association of Builders (NDAB).

The NDAB would like to formally submit on record our opposition of HB 1277. Initially, the NDAB supported HB 1277 believing that the bill helped to assist homebuyers in the American Dream of owning your own home. Unfortunately, during committee work an amendment was added that would jeopardize the tax exemption that is already in place and utilized by many cities across the state by requiring a vote of the majority of qualified electors. We believe this is a decision that should be managed by City Commissioners and/or City Council members, those that the people voted into office to make local strategic policy decisions. The NDAB partners with six local associations in North Dakota located in Fargo, Grand Forks, Minot, Dickinson, Bismarck-Mandan, and Williston. Four of those cities currently utilize the tax exemption program to help aid their citizens with home ownership opportunities. We do not want to see this program put at risk and therefore, we oppose engrossed HB 1277.

The NDAB appreciates the work of Representative Schreiber-Beck and her proposed amendment to remove the problematic piece of the vote of the people. Currently, there are no other tax exemptions offered by a city that are required to be approved by a majority of qualified electors voting. The NDAB does support the proposed amendment and would encourage the committee to amend the language of the bill back to the original intent which ultimately provides a tool for the homebuyer by increasing the optional property tax exemption for new construction limit to \$250,000 for the first two taxable years.

Thank you,

Kim Schneider <u>kim@ndbuild.com</u> 701-222-2401