

www.forxbuilders.com

2021 Board of Directors

PRESIDENT

Jeff Vonasek

VICE PRESIDENT

Jim Sandbeck

SECRETARY/TREASURER

Mike Salwey

PAST PRESIDENT

Aaron Rosten

DIRECTORS

Chad Roberton

Stacey Kemp

Casey Bohn

Nick Corbett

Melissa Link

Executive Officer

Stacy Hanson

Affiliated With





March 23, 2021

Finance & Taxation Committee North Dakota Senate State Capitol Building 600 East Boulevard Avenue Bismarck, ND 58505

Dear Chairperson and Committee Members,

Thank you for the opportunity to submit this testimony. Please let it be known that the Forx Builders Association, representing nearly 200 builder and associate members from the Greater Grand Forks area, OPPOSES HB 1277. We respectfully request that you also OPPOSE HB 1277.

HB 1277: relating to residential property tax exemption was originally supported by the North Dakota Association of Builders and the Forx Builders Association but after the amendment that requires a vote of the general population was added, we collectively changed our stance and now strongly OPPOSE this bill. This bill, as it stands, could jeopardize a program already in place in many communities. This program directly addresses housing affordability in an already volatile market. This program, that is currently in place in our community, is a widely utilized tool for the new home buyer who is contributing to our workforce, our schools and our local economy. HB 1277 threatens the lifespan of this valuable program and therefore threatens the livelihood of our builders and new home buyers.

Please vote to OPPOSE HB 1277 and in effect, vote to sustain this program and support the new home buyer looking to build a life in our local communities.

Thank you for your time.

Respectfully,

Stacy Hanson Executive Officer