

Testimony Joint Technical Corrections Committee (JTCC) HB 1512

November 9, 2021

Members of the Joint Technical Corrections Committee (JTCC). The Valley Prosperity Partnership (VPP) is an initiative led by business executives, joined by economic development and higher education leaders, to advance and advocate for shared strategic economic development opportunities for the Red River Valley region and for North Dakota.

The business executives that comprise the VPP desire to strengthen and diversify our economy. They feel that one of the best means of doing so is by investing state dollars into the research, development, and commercialization enterprise of the state and into entrepreneurial companies in emerging, technology-driven industries.

The LIFT program has already impacted North Dakota's economy by investing meaningful resources into many innovative companies with exciting ideas and high potential. Adding additional resources to the legacy innovation fund to support technology advancement makes a lot of sense and we wholeheartedly support this investment in research, development, and commercialization.

Thank you for your consideration, and please know that business leaders throughout the state support funding for research and development to strengthen and diversify our economy.

VALLEY PROSPERITY PARTNERSHIP STEERING COMMITTEE

Marshal Albright,

President & CEO,
Cass County Electric
Cooperative
VPP Committee Co-Chair

Steve Burian

President & CEO
Burian & Associates
VPP Committee Co-Chair

Judd Graham, CEO, Fargo Region, Bremer Bank VPP Committee Vice-Chair

Brian Johnson, CEO Choice Financial Group VPP Committee Vice Chair

Andrew Armacost

President, University of North Dakota

Tom Astrup,

President & CEO, American Crystal Sugar

Dean Bresciani, President North Dakota State University

Dan Conrad, President & CEO, Blue Cross Blue Shield ND

Tim Curoe, CEO RDO Equipment

Mylo Einarson, President & CEO, Nodak Electric Cooperative

Chad Flanagan, Partner Eide Bailly

Shawn Gaddie

Director of Infrastructure Management Services, AE2S

Jim Galloway, Principal JLG Architects

Tony Grindberg, North Dakota Principal Manager, Xcel Energy

Keith Lund, President & CEO, Grand Forks Region EDC

William C. Marcil, Chairman, Forum Communications Co.

Pat McAdaragh, President & CEO, Midco

Jeff Melgaard, Vice President, Construction Engineers

Bryan Nermoe, President, Sanford Medical Center Fargo Joe Raso, President & CEO Greater Fargo Moorhead EDC

John Richman, President North Dakota State College of Science

Jim Roers, President & CEO, Roers Construction & Development

Thomas Shorma, President & CEO, WCCO Belting, Inc.

Richard Solberg, Board Chairman & CEO Bell State Bank & Trust

Steve Swiontek, Executive Chair, Gate City Bank

Steven Weiser, MD, President Altru Health System

David White, President Border States Electric

Chris Wolf, Northern Valley Market President, Alerus

Delore Zimmerman Executive Director