25 States Have Low-Spirit Tax Rates

These Lower Rates Create a Fairer Competitive Landscape for Spirits RTDs

LICENSE STATE EXCISE TAXES (Dollars Per Gallon)

. . "Full” o
Beer Wine Low Spirit Spirit Legal Citation
Alaska $1.07 $2.50 $2.50 (ABV<=21%) $12.80 Alaska Stat.43.60.010
$1.00 (5%<ABW<21%)
Arkansas $0.23 | $0.75 $0.50 (ABW<=5%) $2.50 Ark. Code § 3-7-104
Connecticut $0.23 | $0.79 $2.71 (ABV<=7%) $5.94 Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-435
Delaware $0.26 $1.63 $3.00 (ABV<=25%) $4.50 Del. Code tit. 4, § 581
Florida $0.48 $2.25 | $2.25 (ABV<17.259%) | $6.50 Fla. Stat. §§ 565.12 & 564.06(1)
- 235 ILCS 5/8-1; Department of Revenue Excise
0, )
lllinois $0.23 $1.39 $1.39 (ABV<20%) $8.55 Tax Rates
Indiana $0.12 $0.47 $0.47 (ABV<=15%) $2.68 IC §§ 7.1-4-4-1 & 7.1-4-4-2
Kentucky $0.08 | $0.50 $0.25 (ABV<=6%) $1.92 Ky. Rev. Stat. § 243.720(a) & (b)
- La. Rev. Stat. §§ 26-341, 26-342, 25-345, 26-
=R9
Louisiana $0.40 $0.76 $0.40 (ABV<=6%) $3.03 354(D), & 26-241(1)
Massachusetts $0.11 $0.55 $1.10 (ABV<=15%) $4.05 Mass. Gen. L. Ch. 138, § 21
Nebraska $0.31 $0.95 $0.95 (ABV<=12.5%) $3.75 Neb. Rev. Stat. 53-160 & L.B. 274 (2021)
$1.30 (14%<ABV<=22%)
Nevada $0.16 $0.70 $0.70 (ABV<=14%) $3.60 NRS 369.330
New York $0.14 $0.30 $2.54 (ABV<=24%) $6.44 N.Y. [Tax] Law § 424
Rhode Island $0.11 $1.40 $1.10 (ABV<=15%) $5.40 R.l. Gen. Laws § 3-10-1
South Dakota $0.27 $0.93 $0.93 (ABW<12%) $3.93 S.D. code § 35-5-3
Tennessee $1.29 | $1.21 $1.10 (ABV<=7%) $4.40 Tenn. Code §§ 57-3-302(b) & 57-3-303(l)
CONTROL STATE EXCISE TAXES (Dollars Per Gallon)
. .. "Full" o
Beer Wine Low Spirit Spirit* Legal Citation
_ Idaho Code §§ 23-1303(1)(i) & 23-1319); & Idaho
=140,
Idaho $0.15 $0.45 $0.45 (ABV<=14%) $10.90 Admin. Code 35.01.09.11
_ . lowa Code §§ 123.3(7) & (11) & 123.136; & ABD
—1R0,
lowa $0.19 $1.75 $0.19 (ABV<=15%) $13.02 website at Canned Cocktails
Maine $0.35 $0.60 $1.24 (ABV<=8%) $11.96 28-AM.R.S.A. §§ 2(16-A) & (31), 13 & 1652
Michigan $0.20 $0.51 | $1.14 (ABV<=13.5%)*** | $11.94 Mich. Code §§ 436.1109(7) & 436.1301(4)
Mississippi $0.43 n.a. $0.43 (ABW<=6%) $8.10 H.B.1091 (2021) (T[_'S\A;Z'f;%? §§ 27-71-307, 67
New Hampshire | $0.30 n.a. $0.30 (ABV<=6%)**** n.a. N.H. Rev. Stat. §§ 175:1 & 178:26
. _ Ohio Rev. Code §§ 4301.01(B)(4) & (5) &
=210,
Ohio $0.18 $0.32 $1.20 (ABV<=21%) $9.83 4301.43(C)
Vermont $0.27 $0.55 | $1.10 (ABV<=12%)***** | $7.68 Act No. 177 (H.730)
Virginia $0.26 $1.51 $1.51 (ABV<=7.5%) $19.89 Va. Code §§ 4.1-100 & 4.1-234(A)

*For control states, which do not have traditional spirits excise taxes, the Distilled Spirits Council of the United States approximates "implied excise tax" by comparing a

state's revenue from spirits sales to typical revenue for wholesalers and/or retailers in license states.

**In lowa, to benefit from the low-spirit rate, products over 6.25% ABV must be sold in metal cans.
***In Michigan, to benefit from the low-spirit rate, products over 10% ABV must be sold in non-reclosable metal cans no larger than 24 ounces.

****In New Hampshire, products with ABV between 6% and 8% in containers no larger than 16 ounces may be eligible for a reduced tax rate of 5% of the wholesale price.
***** In Vermont, to benefit from the low-spirit rate, products must be sold in containers no larger than 24 ounces.




