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Jurisdiction  /  Arkansas

Key Provisions Penalties & Enforcement

Entities (manufacturers, wholesalers, retailers) 
cannot deal with, deliver, or cause to be 
delivered any tobacco, vapor (e-cigarette), 
alternative nicotine, or e-liquid product to a 
retailer or consumer in Arkansas without first 
registering with the Director of Tobacco Control 
and obtaining a permit. If conducting business 
from more than one location, each location 
must register and obtain a separate permit. 
A permitted wholesaler may function as a 
retailer only if a retailer permit is also obtained. 
Amendment to Arkansas Tobacco Products Tax 
Act of 1977, sec. 11, 2019 Ark. Acts 1071 (to be 
codified at Ark. Code Ann. § 26-57-214 (a-d)).

A privilege fee for doing business in Arkansas 
must also be paid before commencing business. 
Amendment to Arkansas Tobacco Products Tax 
Act of 1977, sec. 11, 2019 Ark. Acts 1071 (to be 
codified at Ark. Code Ann. § 26-57-215 (a-d)).

Retailer is defined in Arkansas Code § 26-
57-203(27) to include entities that purchase 
tobacco, vapor, and related products for the 
purpose of selling those products to consumers 
in person and over the counter. Online retailers 
do not meet this definition and thus are ineligible 
to obtain a permit to sell to Arkansas consumers. 
Amendment to Arkansas Tobacco Products Tax 
Act of 1977, sec. 6, 2019 Ark. Acts 1071 (to be 
codified at Ark. Code Ann. § 26-57-203(11).

Selling, delivering, or causing to be delivered 
(immediately or in the future), without a valid 
permit, tobacco, vapor, alternative nicotine, or 
e-liquid products to retailers or consumers is a 
Class A misdemeanor.

A person engaged in buying, selling, or otherwise 
doing business in tobacco, vapor, alternative 
nicotine, or e-liquid products in Arkansas without 
a permit is subject to a Class A misdemeanor. 
Amendment to Arkansas Tobacco Products Tax 
Act of 1977, sec. 15, 2019 Ark. Acts 1071 (to be 
codified at Ark. Code Ann. § 26-57-226.

A person who violates any section of this 
subchapter for which a specific penalty is not 
provided is subject to a criminal violation and 
administrative civil penalties. Amendment to 
Arkansas Tobacco Products Tax Act of 1977, sec. 
7, 2019 Ark. Acts 1071 (to be codified at Ark. 
Code Ann. § 26-57-204. 
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Jurisdiction  /  Maine

Key Provisions Penalties & Enforcement

Tobacco products may not be shipped to anyone 
other than a licensed retailer or distributor in the 
state. Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 22, §1555-F (2018).

A person may not knowingly transport or cause 
to be delivered to a person a tobacco product 
purchased from any person not licensed as a 
tobacco retailer; this provision does not apply to 
transportation or delivery of tobacco products to 
licensed distributors or retailers. Me. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. tit. 22, § 1555-D (2018).

“Tobacco Product” includes products made or 
derived from tobacco or that contain nicotine, 
as well as e-cigarettes and e-liquids (nicotine or 
non-nicotine). Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 22, §1551 
(3) (2018).

Attorney General may bring an enforcement 
action seeking injunctive relief and fines, 
penalties, and equitable relief. Me. Rev. stat. ann. 
tit. 22, §1555-F (3D) (2018).

Violators of this law commit civil violation and 
are subject to a fine of between $1,000 and 
$5,000 per offense. Me. Rev. stat. ann. tit. 22, 
§1555-F (3A) (2018).

Jurisdiction  /  South Dakota

Key Provisions Penalties & Enforcement

The shipping of tobacco products to any 
consumer in the state is prohibited, whether the 
seller is located within or outside the state. S.D. 
Codified Laws §10-50-99 (2019).

Vapor products are included in the definition of 
“tobacco product.” S. D. Codified Laws § 34-46-
20 (2019).

Injunction to restrain a threatened or actual 
violation. S.D. Codified Laws § 10-50-100 
(2019).

 Civil penalty: 1st violation, the greater of up to 
$1,000 or 5 times the value of the products. S.D. 
Codified Laws §10-50-101 (2019).
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Jurisdiction  /  Utah

Key Provisions Penalties & Enforcement

Only “licensed persons” can place orders or 
make purchases via the internet, mail, phone, or 
other electronic means. Utah Code Ann. § 59-
14-509 (2019). 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Retailers may only sell tobacco products and 
e-cigarettes to consumers in face-to-face 
exchanges. Tobacco specialty stores and adult 
facilities may have vending machines or self-service 
displays. Utah Code Ann. § 76-10-105.1 (2019).

A person may not sell, offer to sell, or distribute 
e-cigarettes without a license (unless the person 
has a license to sell tobacco products). Licensure 
to sell e-cigarettes is valid only at one fixed 
address, and only at a physical location within 
Utah. Utah Code Ann. § 59-14-803 (2019).

A violation is an unfair and deceptive trade 
practice, the penalty for which is a misdemeanor 
for each violation (fine no greater than $5,000, 
or imprisonment of up to 12 months, or both). 
The court may order any profits, gain, gross 
receipts, or other benefit from the violation to be 
disgorged and paid to the state for deposit in the 
General Fund. Each order is a separate violation. 

In addition, each violation subjects a violator 
to the following: a civil penalty of no more than 
$5000; an injunction to restrain a threatened or 
actual violation; and recovery of the state’s costs 
(investigation; expert witnesses; costs of action; 
and attorney’s fees). Utah Code Ann. § 59-14-
509 (2019).

A violation of Utah Code Ann. §76-10-105.1 
(2019) is a class C misdemeanor (1st offense); a 
class B misdemeanor (2nd offense); and a class 
A misdemeanor (3rd and subsequent offenses).

A violation of the requirement to be properly 
licensed to sell, offer to sell, or distribute 
e-cigarettes is a class B misdemeanor.) Utah 
Code Ann. § 59-14-803 (2019).
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Jurisdiction  /  Vermont

Key Provisions Penalties & Enforcement

No person shall cause tobacco, tobacco 
substitutes, substances containing nicotine 
or otherwise intended for use with a tobacco 
substitute, or tobacco paraphernalia, ordered 
or purchased by mail or through a computer 
network, telephonic network, or other electronic 
network, to be shipped to anyone other than a 
licensed wholesale dealer or retail dealer in this 
State. 2019 Vt. Acts & Resolves 22 (to be codified 
at Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 7, § 1010(b) (2019)).

A violation is punishable by up to 5 years 
imprisonment, $5,000 fine, or both.

Enforcement: Attorney General
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