NORTH

DOkOTO | Health & Human Services
i B Chlld Abuse Informatlon Index

CHILDREN & FAMILY SERVICES

The Child Abuse Information Index is a list of persons determined to have abused or neglected a child by a child
protection services (CPS) assessment determination and was established in accordance with NDCC 50-25.1-
05.5. This statute indicates: “The division of children and family services or other division as determined
appropriate by the department shall maintain a child abuse information index of all reports confirmed or
confirmed with unknown subjects for child abuse, neglect, or death resulting from abuse or neglect which are
filed pursuant to section 50-25.1-05.2.”

CPS Policy defines the time period a subject’s' name is maintained on the index. These names will remain on the
Index for ten years from the date of the decision.”

Purpose of the Child Abuse and Information Index:

States developed “central registries” to assist child welfare agencies in the investigation, treatment, and
prevention of child abuse cases; in 1991, the Index became a tool for screening employees and volunteers; the
use of the Index for background check purposes expanded in 2006, with the passage of the Adam Walsh Act.
Currently, the Index is used as statutorily directed by the background check unit regarding prospective foster
and adoptive parents, guardianship, staff members or volunteers of early childhood programs, those licensed or
employed by DHHS, and many other public or private partner agencies that have frequent contact with children.

Confidential: The Child Abuse Information Index is confidential, in accordance with NDCC 50-25.1-11, it is not
public record and cannot be accessed through a public website. ND state form 433 Child Abuse and Neglect
Inquiry is utilized for authorizing consent for background checks of the Child Abuse Information Index.

12,510 names appear on the Index’, these are not unique, rather each entry is determined by each
confirmed assessment. A subject’s name is listed on the Index for each confirmed assessment determination.

ﬂ 62% Female ﬁ 38% Male 0 Average Age: 27-32 years old

85% Parent of the victim child(ren)

4 Nationally the retention of CPS Index entries varies. Arizona maintains substantiated reports for a maximum of 25 years after the date of the report;
California and Pennsylvania perpetrators remain on the registry for life. Other states maintain names for a shorter amount of time, like Kentucky
which requires a name to remain on the registry for at least 7 years. There are also a few states that determine the length of time a person will be
placed on the index by the severity of the child maltreatment committed. Virginia has implemented a tiered system; they are classified in three levels
pertaining to the severity of abuse or neglect. Each of these levels has a different retention period Level 1 is retained for 18 years (except sexual
abuse which is 25 years); Level 2 for 7 years; Level 3 for 3 years. Review and Expunction of Central Registries and Reporting Records (childwelfare.gov)




1200

1000

800

600

400

200

1400

1200

1000

800

600

400

200

Unique Subject Index Entries by Maltreatment Type FFY2019-
2021
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Neglect Index Entries: Closer Look
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i"Subject" means a person responsible for the child's welfare as defined by North Dakota Century Code section 50-25.1-02
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