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North Dakota Driver’s License Information 
Points and Fees 

 
 
North Dakota Licensed Drivers (NDDOT) 

• 561,246 licensed ND drivers  
• Approximately 1,450 drivers have 3 violations in 5 years.  
• Approximately 4,245 drivers have 2 violations in 3 years. 
• Approximately 7,453 drivers have 2 violations in 5 years.  

 
Driver’s License Record Retention 

• Non-criminal violations on a non-commercial driver’s license record stay for 3 years. 
• Speeding, reckless driving, texting, using a handheld device, and railroad crossing 

violations stay on a commercial driver’s license record stay for 4 years.  
 

 
 
North Dakota Point System 

• Driving privileges are suspended upon an accumulation of 12 points. 
• For each point over 11 it is suspended for a period of 7 days. 
• Drivers under the age of 18 will have their licensed canceled upon an accumulation of 6 

points. 
• One points is removed every 90 days of violation free driving. 
• Three points can be reduced if a driver takes an approved defensive driving course, 

which can only be done once every 12 months. 
• Drivers issued a citation with a penalty of five points or less may elect to attend an 

approved driving course in lieu of entry of points on their driving record. The driver 
must notify the court at the time they post their bond and provide proof of course 
complete to DOT within 30 days. 

• Insurance companies only see violations assigned 3 points or more unless the driver 
signs a waiver for the insurance company to view their entire driving record.   

• Below is a list of points for various violations. If the violation isn’t listed, then there is 
no point assigned to that violation. 

• An example of this is for driving distracted or texting and driving. There are no points 
assigned to these dangerous driving behaviors. These fall under NDCC 39-08-23, 39-
08-24, and 39-08-25. 

https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t39c08.pdf#nameddest=39-08-23
https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t39c08.pdf#nameddest=39-08-23
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Speed/Aggressive Driving Crashes (NDDOT) 
• Speeding or traveling too fast for conditions is a factor in about 30-40 percent of all 

fatal crashes in North Dakota each year. 
• There were 160 fatal crashes on North Dakota roadways from 201-2021. Of these, 33.8 

percent (160 or 473) were related to speed/too fast for conditions. 
• 178 people have died in speed/aggressive driving-involved crashes in North Dakota 

over the past five years (2017-2021). 
• Speeding and/or aggressive driving has been a factor in 34% of fatal crashes in North 

Dakota. 
 
Lane Departure Crashes (NDDOT) 
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Intersection Crashes (UGPTI) 
 

  

  
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

CRSSEV
1 =
2 =
3 =
4 =
5 =

Intersection crashes from 
2017 - 2021

Possible Injury

PDO
Incapacitating Injury

Crash Severity
Fatal
Non-Incapacitating Injury

1 107 107
2 3130 3237
3 18394 21631
4 550 22181
5 3146 25327

CRSSEV Frequency

Inside and Outside city limits
Cumulative 
Frequency

1 68 68
2 509 577
3 1630 2207
4 211 2418
5 229 2647

Cumulative 
Frequency

Outside city limits

FrequencyCRSSEV

1 107 107
2 3130 3237
3 18394 21631
4 550 22181
5 3146 25327

CRSSEV Frequency

Inside and Outside city limits
Cumulative 
Frequency
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NDCC Violation Fine Points 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 Total
39-08-03.1 Drag Racing/Exhibition Driving  $       100 10 215 204 150 207 151 927

39-08-23
Used Wireless Device - compose, read, or send 
electronic message

 $       100 0 680 553 484 459 412 2588

39-08-24
Used an electronic device while operating mv - at 
least 16 and under 18

 $         20 0 32 54 34 30 34 184

39-08-25
Failure to maintain control of mv while distracted

 $       100 0 117 425 363 345 382 1632

39-09
Speed related violations - careless driving, care 
required, exceeded speed limit.

 See 
Below 

52600 53125 48170 57509 60456 271860

39-10-04 Disregarded traffic control device  $         20 2 466 467 338 262 178 1711
39-10-05 Drove through red light violations  $         20 2 568 535 700 597 561 2961

39-10-07
Failure to exercise caution at flashing yellow/red 
light/intersections

 $         20 2 7 12 10 8 5 42

39-10-08 Drove on left half of roadway not in overtaking  $         20 2 59 70 55 44 39 267

39-10-11
Drove to the right before safely clear while 
passing and failure to give way when overtaking

 $         20 2 4 8 11 7 11 41

39-10-12
Overtaking vehicle on the right when prohibited 
or unsafe

 $         20 2 24 26 22 21 25 118

39-10-13 Overkook when unsafe  $         20 2 69 68 69 42 45 293

39-10-14
Drove on left half of roadway on hill or curve or 
at intersection or RR crossing

 $         20 2 15 19 25 22 32 113

39-10-15 Overtook where prohibited  $         20 2 181 163 145 100 124 713
39-10-16 Drove wrong way on one-way road  $         20 2 122 131 118 121 179 671
39-10-17 Changing lanes without regard to other traffic  $         20 0 214 244 223 231 278 1190

39-10-18
Following to close - failure to leave sufficient 
distance between trucks 

 $         20 0 409 393 400 296 335 1833

39-10-21.1 Entered road closed due to hazardous conditions  $       250 0 77 17 264 94 51 503

39-10-22 Failure to yield at intersection  $         20 2 147 121 130 114 109 621

39-10-22.1
Failure to yeild right of way when entering a 
freeway

 $         20 2 14 19 26 21 18 98

39-10-23 Turned left in front of approaching traffic  $         20 2 106 87 108 95 74 470
39-10-24 Failure to yield right of way stop/yield sign  $         40 2 156 184 182 134 133 789

39-10-25
Failure to yield entering roadway from any place 
other than another roadway

 $         20 2 22 23 23 18 20 106

39-10-26
Failure to yield to emergency vehicle, change 
lanes, or causes crash

 $         50 2 352 419 382 411 373 1924

39-10-28
Failure to yield right of way to pedestrian in 
crosswalk

 $         50 2 5 11 8 4 10 38

39-10-30
Driver failed to exercise due care upon 
approaching pedestrian

 $         20 0 1 3 1 0 0 5

39-10-33.1
Driver failed to yield rigth of way to pedestrian 
on sidewalk

 $         20 0 0 0 0 1 0 1

39-10-35 Turned right or left from wrong lane  $         20 0 77 92 82 91 92 434

39-10-36
Improper turn around - interfered with traffic or 
on a hill or curve

 $         20 0 29 22 22 23 14 110

39-10-37 Failure to yield from stopped or parked position  $         20 0 10 13 12 7 6 48
39-10-38 Neglected signal when required  $         20 0 137 141 115 92 75 560

39-10-41
Failure to stop for automatic RR crossing signal, 
flagman, or train, drove around crossing gate or 
barrier

 $         50 3 8 8 9 8 6 39

39-10-42
Failure to stop for RR crossing marked with stop 
sign

 $         50 3 5 17 8 3 33

39-10-43
Passenger bus, school bus, or HM vehicle failure 
to stop at RR crossing

 $         20 0 12 6 6 3 27

39-10-44 Disregarded stop sign  $         40 2 2984 3012 2780 2963 2741 14480

39-10-45
Emerging from alley, driveway, private road, or 
building failed to stop prior to entering crosswalk 
or roadway

 $         20 0 7 8 2 3 2 22

39-10-46 Overtook school bus  $       100 6 31 25 39 15 20 130
39-10-52.1 Driving upon sidewalk  $         20 0 4 6 4 7 1 22
39-10-64 Drove through safety zone when prohibited  $         20 0 0 0 0 1 0 1

39-10-68
Entered intersection or RR grade crossing when 
roadway was obstructed

 $         20 0 4 1 6 2 1 14

Violations Affecting Enhanced Penalty District Court Citations - Past 5 years
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MPH Over Fine Points Fine Points Fine Points
1 mph 5$         0 2$         0 5$           0
2 mph 5$         0 4$         0 10$         0
3 mph 5$         0 6$         0 15$         0
4 mph 5$         0 8$         0 20$         0
5 mph 5$         0 10$       0 25$         0
6 mph 6$         0 12$       0 30$         1
7 mph 7$         0 14$       0 35$         1
8 mph 8$         0 16$       0 40$         1
9 mph 9$         0 18$       0 45$         1

10 mph 10$       0 20$       0 50$         1
11 mph 11$       1 25$       1 55$         3
12 mph 12$       1 30$       1 60$         3
13 mph 13$       1 35$       1 65$         3
14 mph 14$       1 40$       1 70$         3
15 mph 15$       1 45$       1 75$         3
16 mph 17$       3 50$       3 80$         5
17 mph 19$       3 55$       3 85$         5
18 mph 21$       3 60$       3 90$         5
19 mph 23$       3 65$       3 95$         5
20 mph 25$       3 70$       3 100$       5
21 mph 28$       5 75$       5 105$       7
22 mph 31$       5 80$       5 110$       7
23 mph 34$       5 85$       5 115$       7
24 mph 37$       5 90$       5 120$       7
25 mph 40$       5 95$       5 125$       7
26 mph 43$       9 100$     9 130$       10
27 mph 46$       9 105$     9 135$       10
28 mph 49$       9 110$     9 140$       10
29 mph 52$       9 115$     9 145$       10
30 mph 55$       9 120$     9 150$       10
31 mph 58$       9 125$     9 155$       12
32 mph 61$       9 130$     9 160$       12
33 mph 64$       9 135$     9 165$       12
34 mph 67$       9 140$     9 170$       12
35 mph 70$       9 145$     9 175$       12
36 mph 73$       12 150$     12 180$       12

55 mph and less 60-65 mph 70 mph and greater
North Dakota Speeding Penalties 
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MPH Over Fine Workers Present Points MPH Over Fine Workers Present Points
1 mph 5$         80$                      0 1 mph 2$     80$                      0
2 mph 5$         80$                      0 2 mph 4$     80$                      0
3 mph 5$         80$                      0 3 mph 6$     80$                      0
4 mph 5$         80$                      0 4 mph 8$     80$                      0
5 mph 5$         80$                      0 5 mph 10$   80$                      0
6 mph 6$         80$                      0 6 mph 12$   80$                      0
7 mph 7$         80$                      0 7 mph 14$   80$                      0
8 mph 8$         80$                      0 8 mph 16$   80$                      0
9 mph 9$         80$                      0 9 mph 18$   80$                      0

10 mph 10$       80$                      0 10 mph 20$   80$                      0
11 mph 11$       82$                      1 11 mph 25$   82$                      1
12 mph 12$       84$                      1 12 mph 30$   84$                      1
13 mph 13$       86$                      1 13 mph 35$   86$                      1
14 mph 14$       88$                      1 14 mph 40$   88$                      1
15 mph 15$       90$                      1 15 mph 45$   90$                      1
16 mph 17$       92$                      3 16 mph 50$   92$                      3
17 mph 19$       94$                      3 17 mph 55$   94$                      3
18 mph 21$       96$                      3 18 mph 60$   96$                      3
19 mph 23$       98$                      3 19 mph 65$   98$                      3
20 mph 25$       100$                    3 20 mph 70$   100$                    3
21 mph 28$       102$                    5 21 mph 75$   102$                    5
22 mph 31$       104$                    5 22 mph 80$   104$                    5
23 mph 34$       106$                    5 23 mph 85$   106$                    5
24 mph 37$       108$                    5 24 mph 90$   108$                    5
25 mph 40$       110$                    5 25 mph 95$   110$                    5
26 mph 43$       112$                    9 26 mph 100$ 112$                    9
27 mph 46$       114$                    9 27 mph 105$ 114$                    9
28 mph 49$       116$                    9 28 mph 110$ 116$                    9
29 mph 52$       118$                    9 29 mph 115$ 118$                    9
30 mph 55$       120$                    9 30 mph 120$ 120$                    9

Construction Zone Penalties
60-65mph zones 55 mph and less zones

Construction Zone Fines

When workers present a minimum of $80 
unless greater fee applicable

When workers present a minimum of $80 
unless greater fee applicable
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MPH Over Fine Children Present Points
1 mph 5$         40$                     0
2 mph 5$         40$                     0
3 mph 5$         40$                     0
4 mph 5$         40$                     0
5 mph 5$         40$                     0
6 mph 6$         40$                     0
7 mph 7$         40$                     0
8 mph 8$         40$                     0
9 mph 9$         40$                     0

10 mph 10$       40$                     0
11 mph 11$       41$                     1
12 mph 12$       42$                     1
13 mph 13$       43$                     1
14 mph 14$       44$                     1
15 mph 15$       45$                     1
16 mph 17$       46$                     3
17 mph 19$       47$                     3
18 mph 21$       48$                     3
19 mph 23$       49$                     3
20 mph 25$       50$                     3
21 mph 28$       51$                     5
22 mph 31$       52$                     5
23 mph 34$       53$                     5
24 mph 37$       54$                     5
25 mph 40$       55$                     5
26 mph 43$       56$                     9
27 mph 46$       57$                     9
28 mph 49$       58$                     9
29 mph 52$       59$                     9
30 mph 55$       60$                     9

School Zone Penalties
All Zones

When children present a minimum of $40 
unless greater fee applicable


