JUDICIAL DISTRICTS.

CHAPTER 81.

BOUNDARIES AND SUBDIVISIONS OF THE FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT.

AN ACT Defining the Boundaries of the First Judicial District, Subdividing the Same and Fixing the Terms of Court to be Held Therein.

Be it Enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the State of North Dakota:

§ 1. BOUNDARIES OF FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT.] The first judicial district of this State shall consist of the counties of Grand Forks, Walsh, Pembina, Cavalier and Nelson.

§ 2. FIRST SUBDIVISION—TERMS OF COURT.] The county of Grand Forks shall be the first judicial subdivision of said district, and two terms of the district court shall be held therein, in the city of Grand Forks, in the said county of Grand Forks, commencing on the first Tuesday in April and the first Tuesday in December in each year.

§ 3. SECOND SUBDIVISION—TERMS OF COURT.] The second judicial subdivision of said district shall consist of the county of Walsh, and two terms of the district court shall be held at the city of Grafton in said county annually on the first Tuesday of May

and the first Tuesday of November in each year.

§ 4. Third subdivision—Terms of court.] The county of Pembina shall constitute the third judicial subdivision of said district, and two terms of the district court shall be held at the city of Pembina, in said county, on the third Tuesday of May and the third Tuesday of November in each year.

§ 5. FOURTH SUBDIVISION—TERMS OF COURT.] The county of Cavalier shall constitute the fourth judicial subdivision of said district and two terms of the district court shall be held at the village of Langdon, in said county, on the first Tuesday in June,

and second Tuesday in December, in each year.

§ 6. FIFTH SUBDIVISION—TERMS OF COURT.] The county of Nelson shall constitute the fifth judicial subdivision of said district, and two terms of the district court shall be held at the village of Lakota, in said county, on the third Tuesday of June, and the third Tuesday in December, in each year.

§ 7. Sixth subdivision—terms of court.] The judge of the

district court shall have authority and he is so authorized, when in his judgment he may deem it necessary, and to the best interests of the people to call additional terms of court in any subdivision or to adjourn the terms provided for in this act.

§ 8. REPEAL.] All acts and parts of acts in conflict herewith

are hereby repealed.

§ 9. EMERGENCY.] An emergency exists in that the Constitution provides that two terms of the district court shall be held annually in each organized county in this State, and there being no legislative enactment to carry said constitutional provision in effect; therefore, this act shall take effect and be in force immediately from and after its passage and approval.

Approved March 20, 1890.

CHAPTER 82.

.

SUBDIVIDING THE SIXTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT.

AN ACT to Subdivide the Sixth Judicial District of the State of North Dakota, and to Fix the Terms of Court Therein.

Be it Enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the State of North Dakota:

§ 1. FIRST SUBDIVISION—TERMS OF COURT.] The first subdivision shall consist of the county of Burleigh. The district court in and for this subdivision shall be held at the city of Bismarck on the third Tuesday of May and the fourth Tuesday of November in each year.

§ 2. Second subdivision—Terms of court.] The second subdivision shall consist of the county of Billings. The district court in and for this subdivision shall be held at the town of Medora in said county at such time in each year as the judge of said court

shall direct.

- § 3. Third subdivision—terms of court.] The third subdivision shall consist of the county of Emmons. The district court in and for this subdivision shall be held at the town of Williamsport in said county at such time in each year as the judge of said court shall direct.
- § 4. FOURTH SUBDIVISION—TERMS OF COURT.] The fourth subdivision shall consist of the county of Kidder. The district court in and for this subdivision shall be held at the city of Steele in said county on the third Tuesday of June and the second Tuesday of January in each year.
- § 5. FIFTH SUBDIVISION—TERMS OF COURT.] The fifth subdivision shall consist of the counties of Mercer and Williams. The

district court in and for this subdivision shall be held at the town of Stanton in said county of Mercer at such time in each year as the judge of said court shall direct; *Provided*, That all cases heretofore instituted and now pending from said county of Williams shall be tried and determined in the district court to be holden in and for the county of Morton.

§ 6. SIXTH SUBDIVISION—TERMS OF COURT.] The sixth subdivision shall consist of the counties of McLean and Sheridan. The district court in and for this subdivision shall be held at the town of Washburn in the county of McLean at such time in each

year as the judge of said court shall direct.

§ 7. SEVENTH SUBDIVISION—TERMS OF COURT.] The seventh subdivision shall consist of the county of Morton and all that portion of the Sioux Indian Reservation north of the seventh standard parallel and south of said county of Morton. The district court in and for this subdivision shall be held at the city of Mandan in the county of Morton on the third Tuesday in April and the first Wednesday after the first Monday in November in each year,

§ 8. Eighth subdivision—terms of court.] The eighth subdivision shall consist of the county of Oliver. The district court in and for this subdivision shall be held at the town of Bentley in said county at such time in each year as the judge of said court

shall direct.

§ 9. NINTH SUBDIVISION—TERMS OF COURT. J The ninth subdivision shall consist of the counties of Stark, Wallace, Dunn, Hettinger, Bowman, McKenzie, Allred and all of that portion of the Sioux Indian reservation south of said Hettinger and north of the seventh standard parallel which is hereby attached to the said county of Hettinger for judicial purposes. The district court in and for this subdivision shall be held at the town of Dickinson, in the county of Stark, on the first Tuesday of April, and the second Tuesday of September in each year.

§ 10. It shall be the duty of the district judge to hold at least two terms of court annually in such judicial subdivision wherein the time of holding the terms is at the option of said judge as

hereinbefore provided.

§ 11. REPEAL.] All acts and parts of acts conflicting with this

act or any of its provisions are hereby repealed.

§ 12. EMERGENCY.] The fact that the Constitution provides that terms of court shall be held in all organized counties wherein terms of court have never heretofore been held, creates an emergency which calls for the immediate taking effect of this act; therefore this act shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage and approval.

Approved February 10, 1890.