
HIGHER EDUCATION TUITION RATES

State Board of Higher
Education

Budget Request
Current School Term Proposed Rates /1

Institution 1999-2000 2000-01 2001-02 2002-03

University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University
Undergraduate

Resident $2,480 $2,604 $2,754 $2,904
5.0% 5.0% 5.8% 5.4%

Minnesota resident $2,596 \2 $2,776 \2 $2,936 \2 $3,096 \2

3.4% 6.9% 5.8% 5.4%

Contiguous state/province \3 $3,720 $3,906 $4,131 $4,356
5.0% 5.0% 5.8% 5.4%

Other nonresident $6,622 $6,953 $7,353 $7,754
5.0% 5.0% 5.8% 5.5%

Graduate
Resident $2,690 $2,814 $2,964 $3,114

4.6% 4.6% 5.3% 5.1%

Minnesota resident $3,188 \2 $3,380 \2 $3,560 \2 $3,740 \2

3.8% 6.0% 5.3% 5.1%

Contiguous state/province \3 $4,035 $4,221 $4,446 $4,671
4.6% 4.6% 5.3% 5.1%

Other nonresident $7,182 $7,513 $7,914 $8,314
4.6% 4.6% 5.3% 5.1%

Physical therapy \4
Resident $4,670 $4,794 $4,944 $5,094

2.6% 2.7% 3.1% 3.0%
UND Law School

Resident $2,900 $3,024 $3,174 $3,324
4.2% 4.3% 5.0% 4.7%

Minnesota resident $3,188 \2 $3,380 \2 $3,560 \2 $3,740 \2

3.8% 6.0% 5.3% 5.1%



Other nonresident $7,743 $8,074 $8,475 $8,875
4.2% 4.3% 5.0% 4.7%

UND Medical School
Resident $10,955 $11,940 $11,940 $11,940

9.0% 9.0% 0.0% 0.0%

Minnesota resident $11,502 \2 $12,776 \2 $12,776 \2 $12,776 \2

8.0% 11.1% 0.0% 0.0%

Other nonresident $29,249 $31,880 $31,880 $31,880
9.0% 9.0% 0.0% 0.0%

Minot State University
Undergraduate

Resident $2,050 $2,144 $2,244 $2,344
4.6% 4.6% 4.7% 4.5%

Minnesota resident $2,152 \2 $2,294 \2 $2,401 \2 $2,508 \2

3.6% 6.6% 4.7% 4.5%

Contiguous state/province \3 $2,563 $2,680 $2,805 $2,930
4.6% 4.6% 4.7% 4.5%

Other nonresident $5,474 $5,724 $5,991 $6,258
4.6% 4.6% 4.7% 4.5%

Graduate
Resident $2,690 $2,814 $2,964 $3,114

4.6% 4.6% 5.3% 5.1%

Minnesota resident $3,188 \2 $3,380 \2 $3,560 \2 $3,740 \2

3.8% 6.0% 5.3% 5.1%

Contiguous state/province \3 $4,035 $4,221 $4,446 $4,671
4.6% 4.6% 5.3% 5.1%

Other nonresident $7,182 $7,513 $7,914 $8,314
4.6% 4.6% 5.3% 5.1%

Dickinson State University, Mayville State University, and Valley
City State University

Undergraduate
Resident $1,906 $1,982 $2,067 $2,152

4.0% 4.0% 4.3% 4.1%



Minnesota resident $2,000 \2 $2,120 \2 $2,211 \2 $2,302 \2

3.0% 6.0% 4.3% 4.1%

Contiguous state/province \3 $2,383 $2,478 $2,584 $2,690
4.1% 4.0% 4.3% 4.1%

Other nonresident $5,089 $5,292 $5,519 $5,746
4.0% 4.0% 4.3% 4.1%

State College of Science, MSU-Bottineau,
Lake Region State College, and Williston State College

Undergraduate
Resident $1,592 $1,632 $1,682 $1,732

2.6% 2.5% 3.1% 3.0%

Minnesota resident $2,074 \2 $2,168 \2 $2,234 \2 $2,301 \2

3.7% 4.5% 3.0% 3.0%

Contiguous state/province \3 $1,990 $2,040 $2,103 $2,165
2.6% 2.5% 3.1% 2.9%

Other nonresident $4,251 $4,357 $4,491 $4,624
2.6% 2.5% 3.1% 3.0%

Bismarck State College \5
Undergraduate

Resident $1,592 $1,649 $1,699 $1,750
2.6% 3.6% 3.1% 3.0%

Minnesota resident $2,074 \2 $2,193 \2 $2,260 \2 $2,327 \2

3.7% 5.7% 3.1% 3.0%

Contiguous state/province \3 $1,990 $2,061 $2,124 $2,188
2.6% 3.6% 3.1% 3.0%

Other nonresident $4,251 $4,403 $4,537 $4,673
2.6% 3.6% 3.1% 3.0%

\1 The 2001 Legislative Assembly removed tuition income from the appropriation process by providing a continuing
appropriation for all special funds in institutional accounts and therefore did not make a recommendation regarding tuition
rates.  The amounts shown reflect the amounts included in the State Board of Higher Education budget request and are
subject to final board action.

\2 The Minnesota/North Dakota reciprocity agreement calls for the higher of the two state rates.  The rate will most likely be the
Minnesota rate; however, the Minnesota rate is not known at this time.



\3 The contiguous states and provinces are South Dakota, Montana, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba.  The contiguous
state/province tuition rate is 1.5 times the resident rate for students attending the University of North Dakota, North Dakota
State University, and graduate studens at Minot State University.  The contiguous state/province tuition rate is 1.25 times the
resident rate for undergraduate students at Minot State University and at all remaining four-year and two-year institutions.

\4 Physical therapy students pay undergraduate tuition rates during the first two years.  In the students' junior year, students enter
the physical therapy program and start paying tuition based on the physical therapy program tuition rates. 

\5 Bismarck State College implemented a per credit tuition model pilot program beginning in the 2000-01 academic year.
The instituion charges a per credit (part-time) tuition rate for all credit hours except for the 14th and 15th credits, which are at no
charge.  The tuition rates shown are based on a credit load of 15 credit hours per semester, which is the number of credit hours
taken by an average full-time student.


