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STATE HOLDING PERIODS FOR 
EMERGENCY INVOLUNTARY COMMITMENTS 

 
This memorandum provides information regarding the statutorily authorized holding period for emergency 

involuntary commitments of each state and information regarding detail of laws relating to the holding period for 
emergency involuntary commitments for selected states. In summary, 3 states allow a holding period that is less 
than 24 hours, 14 states allow up to a 24-hour holding period, 7 states allow up to a 48-hour holding period, 
21 states allow up to a 72-hour holding period, and 5 states allow a holding period that is more than 72 hours. The 
following schedule provides information regarding a summary of the holding periods for emergency involuntary 
commitments in each state. 

State State's Statute 
Holding Period for 

Emergency Involuntary Commitments 
Alabama Code of Alabama Section 22-52-91 Up to 7 days from initial date of confinement 
Alaska Alaska Statutes Section 47.30.705 Up to 72 hours 
Arizona Arizona Revised Statutes Section 36-527 Up to 24 hours, excluding weekends and holidays 
Arkansas Arkansas Code Section 20-47-210 Up to 72 hours, excluding weekends and holidays 
California California Welfare and Institutions Code Section 

5150 
Up to 72 hours 

Colorado Colorado Revised Statutes Section 27-65-105 Up to 72 hours 
Connecticut General Statutes of Connecticut Section 17a-

503a 
Up to 72 hours 

Delaware Delaware Code Section 5006 Up to 48 hours 
Florida Florida Statutes Section 394.463 Up to 72 hours 
Georgia Official Code of Georgia Annotated Section 

37-3-43 
Up to 48 hours 

Hawaii Hawaii Revised Statutes Section 334-59 Up to 48 hours 
Idaho Idaho Code Section 66-326 Up to 24 hours 
Illinois 405 Illinois Compiled Statutes Section 5/3-604 Up to 24 hours 
Indiana Indiana Code Section 12-26-5-1 Up to 72 hours, excluding weekends and holidays 
Iowa Iowa Code Section 229.22(3) Up to 48 hours, excluding weekends and holidays 
Kansas Kansas Statutes Section 59-2953 If no physician or psychologist is on duty at the 

time the person is transported to the treatment 
facility, the person shall be examined within a 
reasonable time not to exceed 17 hours. 

Kentucky Kentucky Revised Statutes Section 202A.041 Up to 18 hours 
Louisiana West's Louisiana Statutes Annotated Section 

28:53 
Up to 72 hours 

Maine Maine Revised Statutes Title 34B Section 3863 Up to 24 hours 
Maryland Annotated Code of Maryland Section 10-624 Up to 30 hours 
Massachusetts Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 123 

Section 12 
Up to 72 hours 

Michigan Michigan Compiled Laws Section 330.1438 Up to 24 hours 
Minnesota Minnesota Statutes Section 253B.05 Up to 72 hours 
Mississippi Mississippi Code Section 41-21-67 Up to 72 hours 
Missouri Missouri Revised Statutes Section 632.305 Up to 96 hours 
Montana Montana Code Annotated Section 53-21-129 Until the next regular business day 
Nebraska Nebraska Revised Statutes Section 71-919 Up to 36 hours 
Nevada Nevada Revised Statutes Section 433A.150 Up to 72 hours 
New Hampshire New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated 

Section 135-C:31 
Up to 72 hours, excluding Sunday and holidays 

New Jersey New Jersey Permanent Statutes Section 
30:4-27.5 

Up to 24 hours 

New Mexico  New Mexico Statutes Annotated Section 43-1-10 Up to 72 hours, excluding weekends and holidays 
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State State's Statute 
Holding Period for 

Emergency Involuntary Commitments 
New York New York Mental Hygiene Law Section 9.39 Up to 48 hours 
North Carolina North Carolina General Statutes Section 

122C-262 
Up to 24 hours, excluding weekends and holidays 

North Dakota North Dakota Century Code Section 25-03.1-25 Up to 23 hours 
Ohio Ohio Revised Code Section 5122.10 Up to 72 hours 
Oklahoma Oklahoma Statutes 43A Section 5-206 Up to 120 hours, excluding weekends and holidays 
Oregon Oregon Revised Statutes Section 426.232 Up to 5 judicial days 
Pennsylvania Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes Section 7301 Up to 120 hours 
Rhode Island Rhode Island General Laws Section 

40.1-5-7(a)(1) 
Up to 72 hours 

South Carolina South Carolina Code of Laws Section 44-17-410 Up to 48 hours, excluding weekends and holidays 
South Dakota South Dakota Codified Laws Section 27A-10-1 Within 24 hours of apprehension of the person 
Tennessee Tennessee Code Annotated Section 33-6-414 Up to 24 hours, if judge not available 
Texas Texas Health and Safety Code Section 573.021 Up to 48 hours, excluding weekends and holidays 
Utah Utah Code Annotated Section 62A-15-629 Up to 24 hours, excluding weekends and holidays 
Vermont Vermont Statutes Annotated Title 18 Section 7508 Up to 24 hours 
Virginia Code of Virginia Section 37.2-809 Up to 72 hours 
Washington Revised Code of Washington Section 71.05.153 Up to 72 hours 
West Virginia West Virginia Code Section 27-5-2 Up to 72 hours 
Wisconsin Wisconsin Statutes and Annotations Section 

51.15 
Up to 72 hours 

Wyoming Wyoming Statutes Annotated Section 25-10-109 Up to 72 hours, excluding weekends and holidays 
 
The following schedule provides additional information regarding the holding period for emergency involuntary 

commitments for selected states, including North Dakota, Iowa, Minnesota, Montana, South Dakota, and 
Wyoming. 

State 

Holding Period for 
Emergency 
Involuntary 

Commitments Law 
North Dakota 
North Dakota 
Century Code 
Section 25-03.1-25 

Up to 23 hours 1. When a peace officer, physician either in person or directing an emergency 
medical services professional, psychiatrist, physician assistant, 
psychologist, advanced practice registered nurse, or mental health 
professional has reasonable cause to believe that an individual is a person 
requiring treatment and there exists a serious risk of harm to that individual, 
others, or property of an immediate nature that considerations of safety do 
not allow preliminary intervention by a magistrate, the peace officer, 
physician either in person or directing an emergency medical services 
professional, psychiatrist, physician assistant, psychologist, advanced 
practice registered nurse, or mental health professional, using the 
screening process set forth in section 25-03.1-04, may cause the individual 
to be taken into custody and detained at a treatment facility as provided in 
subsection 3, and subject to section 25-03.1-26, except that if emergency 
conditions exist that prevent the immediate conveyance of the individual to 
a public treatment facility, a private facility that has adequate resources and 
capacity to hold that individual may hold the individual in anticipation of 
conveyance to a public treatment facility for up to twenty-three hours: 

a. Without conducting an immediate examination required under 
section 25-03.1-26; and 

b. Without following notice and hearing requirements for a transfer. 

Iowa 
Iowa Code 
Section 229.22(3) 

Up to 48 hours, 
excluding weekends 
and holidays 

The chief medical officer of the hospital shall examine and may detain and 
care for the person taken into custody under the magistrate's order for a 
period not to exceed forty-eight hours from the time such order is dated, 
excluding Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, unless the order is sooner 
dismissed by a magistrate. 
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State 

Holding Period for 
Emergency 
Involuntary 

Commitments Law 
Minnesota 
Minnesota Statutes 
Section 253B.05 

Up to 72 hours Every person held pursuant to this section must be informed in writing at the 
time of admission of the right to leave after 72 hours, to a medical examination 
within 48 hours, and to request a change to voluntary status. The treatment 
facility shall, upon request, assist the person in exercising the rights granted in 
this subdivision. 

Montana 
Montana Code 
Annotated 
Section 53-21-129 

Until the next regular 
business day 

(1) When an emergency situation as defined in 53-21-102 exists, a peace 
officer may take any person who appears to have a mental disorder and 
to present an imminent danger of death or bodily harm to the person or to 
others or who appears to have a mental disorder and to be substantially 
unable to provide for the person's own basic needs of food, clothing, 
shelter, health, or safety into custody only for sufficient time to contact a 
professional person for emergency evaluation. If possible, a professional 
person should be called prior to taking the person into custody. 

(2) If the professional person agrees that the person detained is a danger to 
the person or to others and that an emergency situation as defined in 
53-21-102 exists, then the person may be detained and treated until the 
next regular business day. At that time, the professional person shall 
release the detained person or file findings with the county attorney who, 
if the county attorney determines probable cause to exist, shall file the 
petition provided for in 53-21-121 through 53-21-126 in the county of the 
respondent's residence. In either case, the professional person shall file a 
report with the court explaining the professional person's actions.  

(3) The county attorney of a county may make arrangements with a federal, 
state, regional, or private mental facility or with a mental health facility in a 
county for the detention of persons held pursuant to this section. If an 
arrangement has been made with a facility that does not, at the time of 
the emergency, have a bed available to detain the person at that facility, 
the person may be transported to the state hospital or to a behavioral 
health inpatient facility, subject to 53-21-193 and subsection (4) of this 
section, for detention and treatment as provided in this part. This 
determination must be made on an individual basis in each case, and the 
professional person at the local facility shall certify to the county attorney 
that the facility does not have adequate room at that time.  

(4) Before a person may be transferred to the state hospital or to a 
behavioral health inpatient facility under this section, the state hospital or 
the behavioral health inpatient facility must be notified prior to transfer 
and shall state whether a bed is available for the person. If the 
professional person determines that a behavioral health inpatient facility 
is the appropriate facility for the emergency detention and a bed is 
available, the county attorney shall direct the person to the appropriate 
facility to which the person must be transported for emergency detention. 

South Dakota 
South Dakota 
Codified Laws 
Section 27A-10-1 

Within 24 hours of 
apprehension of the 
person 

Petition asserting need for immediate intervention of mentally ill person--
Contents. If any person is alleged to be severely mentally ill and in such 
condition that immediate intervention is necessary for the protection from 
physical harm to self or others, any person, eighteen years of age or older, 
may complete a petition stating the factual basis for concluding that such 
person is severely mentally ill and in immediate need of intervention. The 
petition shall be upon a form and be verified by affidavit. The petition shall 
include the following: 

(1) A statement by the petitioner that the petitioner believes, on the basis of 
personal knowledge, that such person is, as a result of severe mental 
illness, a danger to self or others; 

(2) The specific nature of the danger; 

(3) A summary of the information upon which the statement of danger is 
based; 

(4) A statement of facts which caused the person to come to the petitioner's 
attention; 
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State 

Holding Period for 
Emergency 
Involuntary 

Commitments Law 
  (5) The address and signature of the petitioner and a statement of the 

petitioner's interest in the case; and 

(6) The name of the person to be evaluated; the address, age, marital status, 
and occupation of the person and the name and address of the person's 
nearest relative. 
 

The state's attorney or other person designated by the board of county 
commissioners shall assist the petitioner in completing the petition. No 
designee may be a member of the county board of mental illness. Upon 
completion of the petition, the petition shall be forthwith submitted to the chair 
of the county board of mental illness where such severely mentally ill person 
is found. The term, forthwith, means that the petition shall be completed and 
submitted to the chair at the earliest possible time during normal waking 
hours. If a petition is not filed with the chair within twenty-four hours of the 
apprehension of the person, the person shall be released. If the person is 
released, the referring county shall provide the person with transportation to 
the county where the person was taken into custody if the person so chooses. 
If the county where the person was apprehended is served by a board other 
than the board serving the county where the facility to which the person is 
transported is located, a copy of the petition shall also be forthwith filed with 
the chair of such board. 

Wyoming 
Wyoming Statutes 
Annotated 
Section 25-10-109 

Up to 72 hours, 
excluding  weekends 
and holidays 

(a) When a law enforcement officer or examiner has reasonable cause 
to believe a person is mentally ill pursuant to W.S. 25-10-101, the 
person may be detained. 

(b) Immediately after detaining the person, the officer shall contact an 
examiner. A preliminary examination of the person shall be 
conducted by an examiner within twenty-four (24) hours after the 
detention. If a preliminary examination is not conducted within 
twenty-four (24) hours the detained person shall be released. If the 
examiner giving the preliminary examination finds that the person: 

(i) Is not mentally ill, the person shall be released immediately; 

(ii) Was mentally ill, but is no longer dangerous to himself or others, 
the person shall be released immediately; or 

(iii) Is mentally ill, the person may be detained for seventy-two 
(72) hours excluding Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays. 

(c) No person shall be detained for more than seventy-two (72) hours, 
excluding Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays, without a hearing 
under subsections (h) through (k) of this section. 
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