Emergency Commission

The commission has authority to authorize state officers to expend amounts in excess of appropriated sums, to authorize a transfer of spending authority from the state contingency appropriation, to authorize a transfer of money or spending authority between funds or line items, and to authorize the expenditure of federal funds or other money. Under Section 54-16-01, the majority leaders of the Senate and the House of Representatives and the chairmen of the Senate and House Appropriations Committees are members of the six-member commission.

Additional information with respect to the Emergency Commission is available from the Secretary of State.


Membership Information