Education Commission of the States

Under Section 15.1-04-01, this state entered the Compact for Education to encourage and promote local and state initiatives in the development, maintenance, improvement, and administration of education systems and institutions in a manner that will accord with the needs and advantages of diversity among localities and states. The Education Commission of the States consists of seven members representing each party state. Under the compact, the membership of the Senate selects one member of the Senate and the membership of the House of Representatives selects one member of the House as two of the seven members representing this state.