Initiated and Referred Measures Study Commission

The Initiated and Referred Measures Study Commission is to undertake a comprehensive study of the initiated and referred measure laws of North Dakota and report its findings and recommendations to the Legislative Management by September 1, 2018. Created by 2017 Senate Bill No. 2135, the membership consists of one person appointed by the Chief Justice, who shall serve as Chairman, three members of the House and three members of the Senate, one nonvoting member appointed by the Secretary of State, seven citizen members appointed by the Governor, and one member appointed by each of the following organizations--Greater North Dakota Chamber, North Dakota Newspaper Association, North Dakota Farm Bureau, and the North Dakota Farmers Union.

Membership Information