Midwestern Higher Education Commission

1999 S.L. ch. 3, § 24 adopted the Midwestern Regional Higher Education Compact to provide greater higher education opportunities and services in the Midwestern region, with the aim of furthering regional access to, research in, and choice of higher education for the citizens residing in the states that are parties to the compact. The Midwestern Higher Education Commission, which provides for the programs of the compact, consists of five resident members from each party state. The Chairman of the Legislative Management appoints one member of the Senate and one member of the House of Representatives as two of the five members representing this state. The 65th Legislative Assembly in Senate Bill No. 2003, § 13, repealed this chapter, ending North Dakota's participation in the compact at the end of the 2017-19 biennium.

Membership Information